We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Renovations and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ricky's Grill

Ricky's Grill
777 Albert St. | Best Western 7 Oaks, Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 432 Restaurants in Regina
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Western Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Renovations and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

nicely upscaled, food was good, quick, and reasonably priced

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    12
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We ate here early last night right after work as we had a hockey game to go to. As we were early I guess they were pretty quite. I had eaten lunch here a year or two ago and thought it was pretty good at the time.

On the menu they still have that list you used to see quite often about how they cook their steaks. They list medium rare as seared on the outside, red and warm in the middle. I ordered a steak sandwich knowing that a smaller steak is harder to cook exactly. I ordered sweet potato fries which cost an extra $2.00 I think, no problem.

When our meals quickly arrive, I have a piece of steak on bread, the fries and a little cup of dipping sauce I doubt a tablespoon. The plate looked quite funny, no veggie or garnish. When I cut into my steak it is cooked completely through and dry as a bone. Not being one to send food back I just ate it. When my little bit of dip for the fries ran out I asked for more and was told "I have to charge extra for that." Really? I thought my extra charge might cover that. I would say the amount of dip they give is about 1/3 the amount most other restaurants give.

My steak other than being so over cooked was OK and the fries were very good. Our waitress also was very good and friendly. You could tell she felt bad that she is made to charge extra for dipping sauce. Our server is the one thing that brought this review up to a three, without her I would have given two.

Looking at the atmosphere it looks like they want to compete with say a BPs, this night I wish we would have gone to BPs.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Seated quickly, served quickly, food tasted great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I went there for breakfast since I was staying in the connected Best Western. Ordered one of the basic breakfast menu items and the food was great. Service was great (even though I was anti-social because it was a working breakfast). The server "read the play" and only communicated when needed.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina,Sask.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“busy place, good food, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We went to Ricky's for lunch. It is quite a busy place at noon, yet service was very good. The waitress explained the daily special; provided refills of our drinks; also asked how the meals were and if we needed anything else. We ordered the special of the day which was stew on a bed of mashed potatoes. It was tasty but could have used more ingredients (meat, veggies) and less gravy. The individual loaves of garlic bread were excellent, quite garlicy and a good size. I have dined at Ricky's several times and have always had a good meal and good service There are plenty of choices on the menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wawota, SK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Awesome Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We enjoyed our meal and service. Very accomading for a group of 7,

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ricky's Grill also viewed

Regina, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Ricky's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ricky's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.