We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knotted Thistle Pub

Knotted Thistle Pub
4177 Albert Street, Regina, Saskatchewan S4S 3R6, Canada
306-584-6340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 462 Restaurants in Regina
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Scottish, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Not only does the Knotted Thistle offer a uniquely Celtic atmosphere, we also proudly serve a variety of local and imported beer, wine and scotch along with some traditional Celtic dishes.Whether it’s a Scotch egg, Irish Nachos, or our very own Thistlehead Ale -we have something to tempt every palette. So feast yer eyes upon one of our menus and see what mouth-watering surprises await you.
1 review
“Nice comfortable atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Really enjoy this place.Love the nachos. Service has always been above average.The food is average but on even par with other Regina eateries. In the top five in Regina.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Kenneth, thanks for sharing your thoughts about us here at the Knotted Thistle!

I’m glad you made mention of our service onsite as this is one aspect of our establishment that we focus on intently. Hope you’ll be by to enjoy some Irish Nachos again soon – we’d be happy to have you!

Bernhard Prahauser
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We ate in and had take out from here as well. The food was tasty and served piping hot. The menu has something for everyone, from fish and burgers to chicken and steak. The breakfast menu is varied and accommodates children. They brew Starbucks which is a favourite!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
I am thrilled that you had the opportunity to visit us during your stay at the hotel and want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience.

We certainly enjoyed serving you and hope to see you again!

Bernhard Prahauser
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the hype was about.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We arrived, seated ourselves, there were a minimum of 5 waitresses on, and in a period of at least 1 1/2 hours, not one of them smiled even once. They all looked like they had been on shift all day and were waiting to go home. The food was mediocre at best. I ordered a Canadian Pizza, the sauce was none existant and not very flavourful. The bacon was very over cooked and crumbled and was like chewing on pebbles. The crust was fairly good. My husband order the Guinness Burger, he said it was good, but very dry, needed some sauce or mayo, but the time the waitress came by again, he was almost done, so there was no point in asking for any. For the amount of food you get, it is fairly pricey. There were some drinks on special, they were reasonable. I ordered a Caesar, it was good! There was a convention or something in the hotel, and everyone else seemed to be there for that reason, otherwise it would have been empty. A couple people order the "Yard" of Ale, which is $20.....if you really like beer. Boneless wings were on special, we had them for an appy, and they were pretty tasty, but over cooked. Overall, it was ok, wouldn't make a special trip to go back.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank you for your review of our pub. I appreciate the level of detail which you have provided when recollecting your visit.

I am sorry to hear that the meals did not meet your expectations. Typically items such as our pizza’s and Guinness Burger are what our patrons rave about so it’s unfortunate that they were not to your liking. Please rest assured I will bring some of the points you noted in your review to the attention of our Kitchen staff for further discussion.

I am glad you enjoyed your Caesar and had an opportunity to check out the Yards of Ale. You’re right – these certainly are best suited for individuals whom are big beer fans and if that’s not your thing, there’s no shortage of other options available.

We love the mix of Regina locals and hotel guests that frequent the pub here and hope that you might consider giving us another try next time you’re here in the south end.

Bernhard Prahauser
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Knotted thistle- good pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

The bar is very friendly- a tad expensive. The decor is good, furniture great, friendly bar staff, great food. HOWEVER went to the bar to check out the World Series- all five TV's on football- Sask vs Cgy. I know Sask supports the Riders but they wouldn't give one TV to baseball. I went to my room, watched TV. Disappointed with reception- won' t go back to this bar while here.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Mark, I appreciate you sharing your comments about your visit to the Knotted Thistle Pub.
As someone who isn’t an avid Football fan either, I can understand your disappointment when all of the TV’s in the pub were playing the CFL game this past Friday. Being that we are not a sports bar, I am certain that the staff wouldn’t have had a problem changing one of the TV’s to the World Series had you asked.

I am sorry that this didn’t leave you with the friendly, welcoming impression we strive for and do hope that you’ll come by and give us another chance to serve you while you’re in Regina.

Bernhard Prahauser
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice surprise for weary travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We had booked a room at the hotel attached to the Knotted Thistle several times and finally decided to stop in. Were tired from travel and surprised at our visit to the Knotted Thistle. Upon entry, the first vision you have is of the lottery game room............kind of disappointing, but then you find a pub with fantastic framed kilts and Scottish memoriabilia. We were seated very quickly and our server was spot on. The food was out quickly as we would have expected for a pub. The beer selection was larger and more extensive than I was expecting. We will certainly stop in again when in Regina.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Douglas, glad you stopped by the Knotted Thistle during your last stay in Regina!

I love that you noticed some of the little details we’ve focused on here in the pub such as the kilts and mementos from some of our local Celtic organizations here in the city. It’s been great to highlight and draw attention to some of their history and the things they’re doing in the community today.

We look forward to having you stop by again soon. Sláinte!

Bernhard Prahauser
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knotted Thistle Pub also viewed

 

Been to Knotted Thistle Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knotted Thistle Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.