We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our favourite date night spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bobby's Place

Bobby's Place
63b High St. E, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
(306) 692-3058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Moose Jaw
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Scottish, Bar, Pub, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Moose Jaw, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“our favourite date night spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We love coming here when we are out for a night without the kids. Food is awesome, and huge portions. I love the fish and chips - don't be fooled into thinking 1 piece isn't enough, it is huge! and always cooked to perfection. The mushrooms are great too, a massive amount (we once ordered them as a starter before my fish and chips and husband's burger, and had to have over half the meal boxed up. and we have hearty appetites). Not a great place if you are on a diet (although they do have salads that sound really yummy on the menu - but i have no will power when it comes to that place!)
The atmosphere is great and the staff are super.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Not quite what is advertised, and overpriced for what's offered.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

My husband is a Scot, so we were curious about what Moose Jaw offered as an Olde Style Pub...the inspiration behind the pub was an old (now deceased) Scotsman, whose kids wanted to fulfill his dream of having a Scottish pub. Much of the decor (however interesting) is Irish, and there was not a Saltire to be seen anywhere. Additionally, the overpriced menu invites patrons to enjoy true Scottish poutine...huh? We opted for decently priced but below average tasting chicken wings.

The main reason for this review, however, is because of the beer. Firstly, the photo of the "Guiness" on their Facebook page tells the tale; Guiness makers would protest the use of their glasses for any ale other than theirs, and if what's in the glasses is meant to be the real thing, it's the most see-through stuff we've seen this side of the pond. The "smooth and creamy" Kilkennys we ordered were watered-down, horrible-tasting pish. Beer served like that in a real old world pub would be promptly sent back.

$6/pint is a "special" price, but we gathered that is on par for Moose Jaw.

Service? Ace. Really great server, but we did wish the "product" she had to work with hadn't made us feel like we'd been duped. And the atmosphere, for not being Scottish after all, was actually kind of cool.

If you aren't fussy over your liquids and think $16 is reasonable for a piece of fish and chips, you just may have a nice time here...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've had many of the items on their menu. Excellent items: burger, Greek salad, salt & pepper chicken wings and of course their selection of Irish beers on tap. Food is very good - lots of flavour and fresh. Great service too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“OMG - So Much Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I had dinner at this restaurant last night. We had the mushrooms as an appetizer and then the fish and chips with one extra piece of fish and then we shared everything. There was enough food to bring home for another meal. The food was awesome, the service excellent and all in a very unique setting. There was also appropriate background music. Not a fancy place but if you want good food, this is an excellent choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Maybe it was an off day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We made a point of going here, based on the reviews from this site.

First, there was the small matter of which door to use. The door on the street actually seems to lead to an office area and the kitchen. The side door is what leads to the pub. It wasn't clearly marked & more than a bit confusing.

The waitress was a bit standoffish, and uninvolved. She didn't really explain just how big a piece the fish was, so when we ordered the fish & chips, with an extra piece of fish... we ended up buying way more than we thought.

Above all, the fish was bland. Nothing special. Kind of a let-down.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby's Place also viewed

Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Bobby's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bobby's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.