We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hopkins Dining Parlour

Hopkins Dining Parlour
65 Athabasca St, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan S6H 2B6, Canada
(306) 692-5995
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 87 Restaurants in Moose Jaw
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The food and service was good. Nothing WOW about the experience, but the restaurant was good for a meal. The restaurant is in an heritage house, so it is a pleasant environment with lots of character.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    26
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
moose jaw
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Should be better next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Took my family out after my daughters grad exercises for lunch. So did a lot more people than the restaurant had planned for. they were understaffed both out front and in the kitchen according to the waitress ,who was trying her best. The food was ok, love the moose chips but I have to hope the next time we try it there will be enough staff . And I will give them another try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HopkinsDiningParlour, Owner at Hopkins Dining Parlour, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Yes, you are right - we were not expecting the amount of people we had for lunch that day. We had only one reservation and we did not realize that there was 3 high school grads that day. Next year we will watch the grad days and, if a lot of them are on the same day, we will be prepared. We were so happy that people were bringing their "Grads" out for lunch and I am truly sorry for any long waits. And yes, we will do better next time I am sure.
Glady Pierce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome first experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The food was delicious! It is a little bit price tho. The service was awesome and there is a nice selection of food. Not recommended for vegetarians.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HopkinsDiningParlour, Owner at Hopkins Dining Parlour, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for the review. I and my 31 employees are happy you dined with us and hope to see you again. We can do vegetarian dishes - we do have a lot of fresh vegetables and our chefs would be happy to make something for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Does not live up to its image”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Business dinner with a number of my colleagues. Prime rib was not served medium rare as ordered, rather more medium. Not much taste or flavour. Appetizers were pretty good. Was told by other members of the group that their seafood was overcooked and cold to boot. Very limited menu without much imagination.

Service was reasonably efficient but not very professional - too much informal language, reaching across the table to stack plates etc.

Ambience was nice but the food and service were not up to it. Basically an average restaurant that would not survive for long in a larger centre.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medora Manitoba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Field Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We took our Grade 3 - 6 class out for a nice supper while on our annual field trip. The students had lots of fun trying to spot the ghost. It was a unique atmosphere and kept them entertained. The staff was very friendly and courteous and did a great job at serving our large, but young group. It was a nice change from the regular fast food restaurants. We found that food was very good and economical for our students as well. After dinner, they went downstairs and listened to a recording and were told the history of the ghost. Even though they had several other customers, they made time for our large group. This isn't the first time I have taken a school group there. I have done so several times. It was a pleasure to go there and we certainly will be taking future classes back when we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HopkinsDiningParlour, Owner at Hopkins Dining Parlour, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much and look forward to having you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopkins Dining Parlour also viewed

Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Hopkins Dining Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopkins Dining Parlour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.