We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our finest dining experiences ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Hall Dining Room & Lounge

Grant Hall Dining Room & Lounge
401 Main Street North, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan S6H 0W5, Canada
306-691-2111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 87 Restaurants in Moose Jaw
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Moose Jaw, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“One of our finest dining experiences ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This establishment is on a beautifully renovated main floor of what used to be the Grant Hall Inn. When I say beautiful, I mean spectacular; tile/hotel grade carpet, restored antique furniture, huge chandeliers and original art. There’s even quiet orchestra music in the background. There is a main dining room, a lounge, and two smaller rooms for intimate dining for small groups. We were greeted by Jennisa, our excellent server, and given a choice of where to sit. It was not real busy, but there were several groups dining. This is the second dining establishment to embrace Corkage, and we brought our own wine. I ordered the 8oz tenderloin, and partner had the roasted duck. While the duck was marginally overcooked, the steak was perfect, and both were near perfect presentations (see photos). We spent over 2 hours there, and it did not seem like a long time. I just can’t say enough to praise this place. We will be back, and it will be soon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great evening of fine dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was our first time at the Grant Hall Dining Room & Lounge. Wonderful experience!!! The restoration of this building was done to a T, the food was delicious and we were well taken care of by the staff. The manager went beyond the call of duty when we found out that we couldn't get a cab early enough to get us to a concert on time - he drove us himself in his vehicle and wanted nothing in return. Now that is service!!! We will definitely be returning and telling our friends about our experience!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Old World Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This 1912 -Hotel -Restraunt has been tastefully restored to its original elegance. Has excellent food and service and is an excellent place to go for special night out

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lower your expectations!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

After reading the good reviews, my husband and I thought we would give Grant Hall a try. We were excited that Moose Jaw finally has a fine dining restaraunt. Nice decor. The food was lack-luster, really nothing special. Our steaks were good and cooked as we had requested, my husband ate half of his steak before it became quite chewy and didn't finish it as a result. The dessert menu is lacking, and we didn't see anything worth ordering. Our server was not attentive, and we waited for drinks, and water. We wanted champagne, no selection at all. We will not return. We will say this positive, prices were reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, SK, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wow!!! If I owned a restaurant in Moose Jaw I would be very afraid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is an old old hotel completely renovated with much love and money by people with truly good taste. Went to the dining room for pre-Valentines Day dinner with another couple. Superb service, very attentive but not pushy. Decent wine list. Food very creative, one of us had duck, one trout, but some unusual items on menu.
Highlight is the decor. You think you are a millionaire during the 1920s when dining there. Quiet nicely lit and flat out beautiful
Also quite good value for money, compared to the newer "cool" restaurants in town. Definitely coming back

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Hall Dining Room & Lounge also viewed

Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Grant Hall Dining Room & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Hall Dining Room & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.