We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java Express

Java Express
23 Main Street North, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan S6H 0V8, Canada
306-693-5282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 87 Restaurants in Moose Jaw
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Regina, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quaint little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We really enjoyed stopping into this little café for a quick cup of joe. They had some tasty sounding selections of sandwiches and lunch fair (quite a few vegetarian choices) and a few dessert items- nothing fancy. My London fog was awesome, but my sisters Americano was too strong. However, the best part about the place is the relaxed atmosphere, with lots of couches and armchairs. They also have a cute little boutique upstairs (The Wandering Gypsy) that is definitely worth browsing through.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Favourite coffee shop in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place to lounge. Couches and bright colours make this an enjoyable place to have coffee with a friend. Live music on weekends is great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“They give Starbucks some great competition!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm a die hard Starbucks fan, I admit it. But when I was working in Moose Jaw for two weeks in December, Java Express was just steps away for me. This place lives up to its reputation as the best place for coffee in Moose Jaw.
Lovely atmosphere, great staff, customize drinks, and sugar free flavour syrups (which I love!)
The baked goods were lovely and looked like they were made locally and with love.
Free wi-fi is a bonus.
Starbucks is only a few blocks away inside Safeway, but seriously...why bother!
You've got to go!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASKATCHEWAN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“cheap food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The sandwiches taste like the bread from safeway and cosco hard like cement. Coffee very expensive and very loud place. It suppose to be a coffee shop not a disco place. If you want a good sandwich go to Subway it is always fresh.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fresh & Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I like going to Java Express for their fresh food. The sandwiches & salads are very tasty, and not your everyday run-of-the-mill roast beef or egg salad variety. As someone who does generally eat meat, I found the staff very helpful and accommodating in offering different options.

The atmosphere was relaxing. There are big comfy sofas & chairs as well as a few small tables. The Wandering Gypsy Boutique has a small display in the corner which always has some neat items to look at too.

This is one of my favorite places.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Express also viewed

Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Java Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.