We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Capone's Hideaway Theme Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Capone's Hideaway Theme Motel to your Saves list
Capone's Hideaway Theme Motel
#1 Main Street North, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan S6H 0V8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Moose Jaw
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Total Dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

It all started when we got there and realized there were no towels in the bathroom..
If you don't mind no service, stained sheets from the last guest, the local drunk greeting you at your door asking for change , then this is the place for you. We stayed for only one night and probably should have just opted go sleep in the truck . If you have a sleeping bag to throw on the bed, and your own towels , then this is one step up from sleeping at a husky truck stop.
Terrible, terrible , terrible , too bad they fired the last staff that were there the last time I was there, the staff now is just there to collect Money from desperate travellers ..

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    5
    14
See reviews for
6
6
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

I arrived into Moose Jaw, SK to come to visit family during Christmas. The only reason I had stayed here is due to was close to downtown & all the amenities etc. I hope to hell no one has to stay here as it was outright disgusting. I had asked the front desk guy for a alarm clock that works proper, and was told that there is none available as they are all broken & that the only clocks they have are the ones hanging on the walls... So being I was going to be leaving early the next morning I asked if I could arrange a wake up call. Low and behold, no they don't offer that service either...

Many more things happened at this motel, or what you may call it.. Please see the pictures it describes the rest... Save your money & go elsewhere...

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

In October we were in Moose Jaw on a very busy Thanksgiving weekend that apparently featured two large weddings, a convention and a country singer's concert. We were there for a family funeral and so of course had no advance reservation and the small number of hotel rooms in Moose Jaw were already booked. We landed here by default rather than by choice. The theme of the motel consist of the sign and an old car high on a pole at the corner. The location is at the foot of Main Street where it Intersects with a major arterial road across from the railway station. The CPR mainline and yards are across the street and so there are trains passing frequently as well as shunting and banging. Next door to the hotel is a bar that discharges a lot of noisy patrons at closing time about 3am. and so quiet is not a term associated with this establishment. Our room supposedly featured one double and one queen size bed. They were exactly the same double size. There was a window in the door with only a thin, quite sheer curtain covering it. There were two other large windows both of which had views of an alleyway intersection and garbage dumpsters. Said intersection was the meeting spot of choice it seems for nocturnal revelers from the bar. The second night I called the police at 4am and the third night they were already waiting to move folks along at closing, arresting several as they attempted to drive away. There were rusty drains in the bathroom and the hot water tap ran constantly. We informed the management that there was a lot of hot water being wasted but nothing was done even though it would have been a quick fix. There were wall lights above each of the beds but we were warned not to use one of them as it "has a short and sparks ". I have stayed in lovely Vancouver hotels for the same or less than the $98 per night we paid here. This is a place to avoid at all costs. If you are unable to find a room in Moose Jaw I would suggest looking at nearby locales such as Caronport. There was free Wi-Fi advertised buy it was very sporatic.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

The 'theme' ends as you drive past the elevated car at the entrance. The rooms are pretty standard cheap independent motel style - old furniture, a bit tatty, etc. Bed was ok I found. Location is amazing though - smack in the middle of town surrounded by bars, restaurants, etc. Guys on the desk were friendly and helpful. Needs updating or price reduction to be good value.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

First off they did not have our reservation we made in May. The room provided to us was absolutely terrible. The door had no seal with enough space for a mouse to crawl in. The room smelt of dead animal and smoke. Beds were the size and quality of a surf board. The towels were similar to what you would find at a car wash restroom. After less than 5 minutes of soaking all this in we returned to the front desk and asked for a refund. The person, who we later found out was the owner told us it was impossible for a refund as he would get fired. I informed him 5 minutes prior they hadn't had a room for us and now someone was going to get fired? We called MasterCard to cancel any transactions from this location to find out a purchase had already been put through. Instead of staying in this dump we lost our $119.00 and stayed at the Super 8. Very few rooms were available in Moose Jaw as a convention and a Tragically Hip concert were in town the same night. We are waiting to see what else will be put on our credit card from this shady establishment. This is one of the few times we didn't check TripAdvisor prior to booking a Hotel, an expensive mistake.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Room was not clean, could see garbage under the radiator heater, there was a wet, dirty face cloth in the tub and hairs in the tub and sink. Had to ask for towels as there were none. Located next to a dive bar with loud yelling and lots of late night noise. Lady who was at the desk (behind glass) seemed to be 'wasted'. Also told me that's where the cops drop off bums for the night, not a bonus. Bed was not good and after the state of the bathroom I slept in my clothes on the bed. Why did I stay there? Only place with rooms as some 2000 person family reunion was in town, at the time I thought staying would be better than driving to the next city.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The motel is conveniently located downtown, across the street from Tunnels of Moose Jaw. However, it is also located at the intersection of two busy streets, a train track, and a pub. Light sleepers, beware. Our room was basic, but clean. There is not much privacy on the main floor, as a large window next to the bed opens on the parking lot. When the curtains are closed, the room is very dim. This is a safe, clean place to stay, but does not have any extra frills. At $97 a night, I would say it is a little over-priced for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capone's Hideaway Theme Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capone's Hideaway Theme Motel

Address: #1 Main Street North, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan S6H 0V8, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Moose Jaw
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Moose Jaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Capone's Hideaway Theme Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capone`s Hideaway Theme Hotel Moose Jaw
Capones Hideaway Theme Hotel
Capone's Hideaway Theme Motel Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capone's Hideaway Theme Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.