We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay in a charming old house with very friendly hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   690 Aldersgate Street, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan S6H 6A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Moose Jaw B&B and Inns
Regina, SK, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay in a charming old house with very friendly hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

6 of us stayed here for a girls night out, and we had three suites between us. I stayed in the Terrace Suite on the second floor that consisted of two rooms, (bedroom and sitting room w electric fireplace), and bathroom, with large pocket doors dividing the two rooms. There was a big whirlpool tub in the bedroom and all furnishings were antiques, including the bed. The access to a huge open deck that ran around three sides of the house was in our suite, and provided fabulous views of the surrounding hills and the city.

The hostess and her mother were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, pancakes and sausages prepared by the host. The grounds were huge and beautiful, with a fountain, flowers, a gazebo, and groups of seating arrangements on the lawn. The veranda would be a lovely place to eat, if it was warm enough.

However, be prepared - the road near the B&B is full of potholes and the B&B itself is a heritage building and a work in progress, with a lot of work yet to be done. However, exposed plumbing, creaky floors and unfinished decor are more than made up for by the ambiance and attention to detail. The location is a bit out of the way, but not too difficult to find if you follow directions.

All in all an enjoyable stay in a charming old house with very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isjo, Owner at Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thank you so much for staying with us on Sept. 18. We very much enjoyed your Crown Jewels stories from such a fun bunch of gals. You are all welcome back any time. You will be happy to know that the City has now fixed the pothole problem on 7th Ave. SE next to the B & B. We hope the next time you come, the weather will cooperate a bit better so you will be able to enjoy breakfast on the wrap around veranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
50
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary AB
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Very nice heritage home. Lots of work going on. Plaster and painting work on the go. New plumbing is installed. It has a great breakfast, Micro-wave popcorn, DVD's, view of the valley, history book, flat screen cable TV's, interesting antiques, and more.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isjo, Owner at Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Thank you so much for your review. Yes, we are continually striving to restore this historic b & b so our guests will enjoy it more and more each time they come. We have done many upgrades this past year and we hope your travels bring you back so we may show you some of them. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

This was an overnight get away for a birthday treat and what a treat it was. The rooms are beautiful with attention to authenticity and detail. The beds are not 100 years old like the B&B and are very comfortable. I have never stayed at a B&B before so wasn't sure what to expect. They have popcorn available, which was appreciated, but if you want snacks or pop, bring your own. There is a mini fridge to keep things cold. We didn't use the in room coffee maker, but I appreciated that there was both tea and coffee provided.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious with a beautiful presentation. We really lucked out on the company too. I thought it might be weird eating with strangers, but it was really fun. We were 3 couples who would never have come together otherwise and that was part of what made the experience so wonderful. The owners had coffee with us and we stayed well past check out time--but it felt like family. I would definitely recommend Wakamow Heights for a romantic get away or even if you are just passing through. I wouldn't recommend it if your kids are quite young, but for my teens it would be fine. I plan to make this an annual get away at least. Now if only Moose Jaw had a ski hill....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isjo, Owner at Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Such lovely guests. Thank you, we were delighted to have you stay with us. We hope your journeys lead you back to Moose Jaw again. You will be welcome with open arms.
Your innkeepers - Lois and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We had a girls’ spa weekend and this B&B was a welcome alternative to commercial lodging. The location was near the river and park (we rented kayaks Sat evening – so fun); and only minutes from downtown Moose Jaw. Our room had 2 queen beds, private bath, fireplace and large screen cable tv. Fri evening we sat outside on the second floor deck and listened to a band playing in the nearby park. We didn’t use but there were lounge chairs on the lawn next to a water fountain.

The breakfast was large and served in the Veranda. The owners were very accommodating and so friendly. Infact her mother came over Sunday morning with a friend to help serve breakfast and we enjoyed the social butterflies that they were.

The only reason I didn't give this place 4 stars was because the new owners are still renovating the outside. The home is about 100 years old, but don’t let that stop you from staying here. The innkeepers, breakfast, and the interior were definitely 5 stars.

Smoke free environment with comfy sitting areas indoors and out.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isjo, Owner at Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thank you for your nice review. You Minot girls were a fun group and we can hardly wait for your next visit. You are the kind of people who make us want to keep doing what we are doing. The renovations on the outside continue and we have now added a beautiful gazebo to add to your enjoyment.
Your innkeepers - Lois and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 690 Aldersgate Street, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan S6H 6A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Moose Jaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Moose Jaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have private baths, plasma TVs, WiFi, fireplaces & incredible views at this 1902 historic bed & breakfast located in a quiet park right in Moose Jaw. Morning greets you with a gourmet breakfast beautifully prepared and plated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakamow Heights Bed And Breakfast Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.