We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot - housekeeping leaves something to be desired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Good Spirit Lake Golf & Family Resort

Good Spirit Lake Golf & Family Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saskatchewan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Good Spirit Lake Golf & Family Resort
Save
You added Good Spirit Lake Golf & Family Resort to your Saves list
Highway 229 | Springside, Saskatchewan S0A 0L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 198 Hotels in Saskatchewan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice spot - housekeeping leaves something to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

On arrival, our room was not clean - i requested some cleaning supplies - i don't mind fixing - and was greeted at my door by a very grumpy cleaner. The cleaner didn't believe that it was dirty - good thing i took pictures before starting to clean up - which I showed them. The next day my toilet overflowed (on sewer system) and had to call an emergency # that is listed on a keybox at the registration office. Cell phones don't work here by the way and there are no phones in the rooms.... (i have fido from Alberta). Had to find a person with service to make the call.....I used all my towels to clean up... the owners husband came and unplugged the toilet and I had to clean and sanitize the whole place alone... no one even came by to see if we were okay or to offer new towels- even the next day. There was what looked like a pee stain on the sheets on the bed in one of the rooms - even if it wasn't fresh should the cleaners put that stained sheet on the bed - gross. There was holes in the screens covering the windows and doors - these were fixed immediately when I let them know the problem. The lady at the front desk who checked us in was so awesome. There are three bar-b-ques which worked great! A community area with a park and a volley ball net. The rec centre has pingpong - we brought our own paddles/balls. The owner did offer a free breakfast to my family (which cost $35) for our inconvenience after a involved debate between us on our last day. The homemade cinnamon buns in the restaurant (open thursday to sunday only) were 10/10 good. The barmaid/ waitress is a bit gruff

The golf course is completely separate to the resort but the staff there and the course is above average. It was easy to get and change our tee times (we had hail)

Room Tip: We had 3 br cabin two room have doors. The 3 room is a loft open to below so not quiet but two beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

There are two separate entities here to rate. One is the golf course, the other being the resort with the villas.

Good Spirit Lake Golf Course - 4 Stars - Totally underrated 18 hole golf course cut into very lush forest. Always makes for a challenging round and the greens are usually very consistent. Not a bush league small town course. Well orchestrated and executed. Very good to excellent in almost every way.

Good Spirit Lake Villas (Resort) - 2 Stars....barely. I remember when they built these villas. They were fancy, and expensive. It was a real treat to stay there, and if someone you knew was staying there, you wanted to go visit because of the hot tub, and the games room and all the amenities. But that was 30 years ago, and not much of anything has been done as far as upkeep. Not all the units have A/C (when it gets to almost 40 degrees celcius in the summer, you will realize why this is a big deal). After numerous ownership changes, these once proud villas have languished in the hot, humid landscape of Good Spirit Provincial Park. It's like an old Cadillac. It was once a great status symbol, but now, not everything works properly, it's showing it's age, and seems a little run down.

Overall:

Come for the golf, stay for the golf. Are there a hundred other places for a lot less money that are better than this resort? Of course there are, but they are a long ways from the golf course. Maybe one day the Villas will return to their once proud glory, but until then, flower pattern bed sheets and loose railings are here to stay. On the bright side, Dennis makes an amazing burger at the Gitko Lake Store, and the golf course is worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel was clean and our room had a nice view of the golf course. The place was quiet and the service was friendly. One should know a couple of things, however, there is no phone in the room, rooms are NOT cleaned daily, the water is ROCK HARD, the towels are a little better that rags and the guest soap was ancient. Also, the hot tub was the size of two rubber maid containers...and wasn't working.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our family vacationed at this resort. There were 12 of us and we rented the chalet that sleeps 8 plus an RV site. The RV site is pretty bare-bones. There isn't a washroom facility for campers after 9pm or before 9 am. Too bad for our tenters that shared the RV site. Their site was a three minute walk to the chalet area. Our chalet was PERFECT. Log construction with vaulted ceilings, very chalet-inspired. It was hot as there isn't air conditioning, but there were ceiling fans in all the rooms, plus there was a portable fan. Recommend taking an additional fan or two if the weather is going to be hot. Kitchen was excellent. Bedroom #1 had a double bed with room for a playpen. Bedroom #2 had two single beds. The open loft had a double and single bed. Beds, pillows and bedding were very decent. Fireplace, satellite TV, full size fridge, small microwave, 4 burner stove (no oven), full cookware, dishes, utensils, coffee pot, salt & pepper. Missing were tongs and a jug for juice. Each cabin has a large front deck with seating and table. There are several cabins and they share 3 communal gas bbqs. The bbqs are new, stainless steel and big. Also there is a great playground for the kids that's viewable by all the cabins. Wonderful expanse of lawn that was great for bare feet, and perfect for bocce ball, ladder ball, frisbee, catch, etc. Those that went golfing said the course was very good. Good Spirit lake is very shallow with unique sand dunes. The water was clean and warm and great for kids. Boating was good too. The lake is quite a hike from the Golf Resort so in most cases you're better off driving to it. The Tempo gas station is within walking distance of the resort featuring ice cream, groceries and liquor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The resort is conveniently located on the golf course, with a beach nearby. Upon arrival at 5:30 p.m. on a Friday night, we spent half an hour searching for someone to check us in. We finally located a young gentleman sweeping the golf shop in the lower portion. All other doors were locked. He directed us upstairs, where there was a box beside the door - this is where the room and chalet keys were kept in envelopes, as there was only a manager there until 5:00 p.m. at night. I have never seen this particular type of arrangement before.
We found our chalet and room keys for our party, and were able to locate our cabin and room for our party. The chalet was quite nice, apart from the loose staircase and the railing on the deck that was falling apart. The motel room was adequate, although there were few amenities (no phone, hairdryer, etc.). The blinds were in terrible shape, bent and marked. There is maid service every 3 days only.
There is a rec centre, but the hot tub was dirty, there were no paddles or balls for the ping pong table, and none of the electronic games worked. The pool table worked....However, there is a small park there for little ones, with a spray fountain for them.
In short, it would be a good place to stay if you were there to golf, but otherwise? No. Of course, I would imagine that's why most people would stay - we were there as there was a family event close by.
The restaurant was fine, and the service and food were good - I would eat there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Good Spirit Lake Golf & Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Spirit Lake Golf & Family Resort

Address: Highway 229 | Springside, Saskatchewan S0A 0L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 198 Hotels in Saskatchewan
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Good Spirit Lake Golf & Family Hotel Saskatchewan
Good Spirit Lake Golf And Family Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Spirit Lake Golf & Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.