We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very nice B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Maison Gagne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Auberge Maison Gagne to your Saves list
Auberge Maison Gagne
139 Bateau-Passeur, Tadoussac, Quebec g0t2a0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Tadoussac B&B and Inns
Hanson, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is a very nice B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife & I (we are from just south of Boston) just returned from a trip to Eastern Quebec and had booked two nights here at the Auberge Maison Gagne. From start to finish, our stay here was nothing but delightful.

The room was clean and decorated nicely, the bathroom was spotless and up to date. The common areas and dining room were very welcoming, and the breakfast, which is different each day, was quite nice.

I have seen some comments about road noise. To be honest, we had a room on the backside but did sleep with the windows open and didn't have any issues.

Finally, Claire and her staff were very welcoming & hospitable. You can tell that they take allot of pride in how this establishment is run. As far as we're concerned, this was a real gem.

Rob Mac
Hanson, MA

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    24
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, Claire and her staff were very kind and careful with us. The room is lovely and clean, the breakfast really good and served at the table in a nice surrounding. You should book excursions for the whale wahtching with them (10% discount), all around prices are the same and no other discounts can be found. You can reach everything on foot in few minutes, including the port; the hotel is located 500 meters from the ferry to St. Catherine's Bay so very easy to find. A pearl that will definitely come back next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

My partner and I stayed here just one night on our way down the Saguenay Fjord from Chicoutimi to Montreal. Tadoussac is a very quiet town in early November and we were the only guests. The house and property is perfectly kept and our host Claire was just one of the most delightful people I have ever met. She has been building her business with the help of her family for over 15 years and you can tell she has put her heart and soul into it. We had a guest room at the back of the house which I understand is preferable. We had a great sleep and the house was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. The bed covers are duvets with removeable covers which I really like because everything felt so fresh and clean. The rooms are very cheerfully decorated with a small fridge, coffee maker, good sized bath with a big shower. Breakfast in the morning in the sunny breakfast room was outstanding to say the least and carried this big guy well into the afternoon. All in all I am so glad we found this precious little inn because we now have a place that wee will definitely return to, to stay by the sea, when we have a chance to get out of town, that we know will be consistantly good every time. I look forward to having the chance to return to this special place and see our host again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We spent two dreadful nights without any sleep! This hotel is on a steep hill next to a very busy main road used 24 hours a day by large trucks, going to and from the harbour at the bottom of the hill. The constant noise generated by these trucks throughout the night was simply appalling!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We spent a night at Auberge Gagne visiting Tadoussac, Quebec.
The entire experience was delightful from booking to departure.
Taking room #10 on the lower level to mitigate the hwy truck traffic noise we found the noise level acceptable but that the back room on this level may have been better.
Our room was spotless and comfortable.
The entire B&B showed a high level of care.
The breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night at Maison Gagne Labour Day weekend in 2009. It was extremely packed with tourists, so we had to book different B&Bs each night. We didn't mind because the town of Tadoussac was very small, so it wasn't a huge inconvenience at all.

We stayed at Maison Gagne our first night. The B&B was literally meters from the ferry! We were late in booking, so the only room they had available was a room in the basement. At first, I was very wary about this because I was picturing a sort of cold, damp, dark dungeon, but I was pleasantly surprised when we walked into our room. It was bright, clean and modern. The beds were comfortable and the best part was, we had the whole "basement" to ourselves. It was very quiet, and we didn't hear any noise from up above.

The service was excellent and staff were very helpful in answering questions and giving advice on cruises/places to eat/things to do. The property was beautiful, we took a look out the back of the B&B and found that it backed onto a small body of water, which was gorgeous.

The breakfast (included) the next morning was delicious, and served in their bright, sunny dining room at the front of the B&B. The servers were friendly and the food was great.

I would definitely recommend this place. Since we were staying in the basement, we didn't hear a thing - some people mentioned they could hear trucks going by, but maybe that was because of the location of their rooms. If you want a quiet stay, ask for the basement!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

It's ture that large trucks do pass the property to and from the ferry but in our experience the sound-proofing was great. We occupied one room in the house and one annexe. Both were well furnished to a high standard and the owner and staff were lovely. the breakfasts were innovative and varied and this really is a great base for Tadoussac, to see the whales or the fjord.

  • Liked — The breakfast!
  • Disliked — It is on a main road, but this isn't really a big issue.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Maison Gagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Maison Gagne

Address: 139 Bateau-Passeur, Tadoussac, Quebec g0t2a0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Tadoussac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A TRUE GEMM Room breakfast inclus , private bathroom, situate neer the lake and the mountain, tichets for whales watching cruise and Fjord. Parking, bike and kayak free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge Maison Gagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Maison Gagne Tadoussac, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Maison Gagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.