We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Closed in August ?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tadoussac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tadoussac to your Saves list
Hotel Tadoussac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165, rue Bord de l'Eau, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pool Closed in August ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have wanted to stay here for years, it is such a classic. But….they neglected to mention that they close the pool in August because their lifeguards, university students, had to go back to school. Who closes a pool in August at the height of the vacation season? Check first!!

Room Tip: second floor facing south will have access to the veranda!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, Directeur général at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Bonjour,

Please accept our apologies by the fact we obviously did not meet your expectations.
Unfortunately, we had to close the pool for few days at the end of August last year because we were missing lifeguards.
Usually, closing the pool happen on Labor day every year.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.

Sincerely,

Tina Tremblay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    166
    112
    29
    18
See reviews for
107
229
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for only one night. But I think in order to fully appreciate its charm, you need a few nights.

Built in 1942, it is full of charm.

We had a garden view room with 2 queen beds. I decided not to pay the premium to face the bay and was not disappointed. The room was of a generous size, the bathroom just fine. There was a coffee maker in the room.

The lobby is full of chairs/loungers and tables. There was a fireplace going. A table in the middle of the room had a puzzle going, so it was just a matter of sitting down and working on it. With a full row of chairs/couches facing the bay, I think I could have sat here all day and read! The furniture is dated, and the curtains were a little dirty/dusty, but to me it added to the charm. Hopefully the curtains were so dirty j ust because it is the end of the season.

We did not eat at the restaurants. They seemed expensive to me, but perhaps the food offered is worth it. For breakfast we went to the bakery around the corner - fresh pastries, sandwiches and salads. Can't go wrong there.

There was a cooking lesson/demonstration being offered the morning we left. The local bakery, along with a chef, were working with fresh bread, local honey, and local mushrooms. I was told that it would be completely in French, but we were still invited to join it. There was no cost. Wish I could have stayed for it.

After spending a few nights in small boutique hotels in Quebec City, I was ready for the larger hotel.

Was not disappointed - and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I would recommend saving some $ and getting a garden view room. You will be much happier sitting in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We loved this place. True, it is quite old (for North America!) having been built in the 1940s, I believe. But that simply adds to its charm for us visitors from the mother country. Having booked for 3 nights just the evening before, we were lucky to get a room at the front, overlooking the bay. The room and bathroom were a decent size and were clean. The room was not the most modern we have ever stayed in, and the lighting left a bit to be desired, especially if you wanted to read in bed - one side had no table lamp and so it was necessary to leave the main light on and then to get out of bed to switch it off. But that is not the point. The purpose of our visit was firstly to take a whale-watching trip, and secondly to go for a cruise up the Saguenay Fjord. Both could be booked from reception, and a free shuttle bus was available to take us down to the dock, although it was less than 10 minutes walk away. Both cruises were very enjoyable, and yes, we did see whales on both of them.

The hotel boasts a large lounge with comfortable seating and two computers with free access to the internet. There is a separate bar area where we had afternoon tea and coffee. And leading down to the bay is a large lawn with loads of seats where you could just sit and enjoy the view.

I should also mention the dining room where we had breakfast and dinner. The buffet breakfast in particular was excellent, and we couldn't help going back several times for more. Special mention must be made of the décor in the dining room. All the walls were decorated with a wonderful mural depicting the local landscape dotted with little historical scenes. They really made the hotel stand out in my mind, and I hope never to forget it.

At check-out time the receptionist asked whether we had enjoyed our stay. When I said we had, very much, he said he hoped we would visit again. Sadly I had to reply it was unlikely, since it is rather a long way from London. So he said "just tell your friends then", and so the best I can do is to add my review to T/A.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is very appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stunningly beautiful hotel, with amazing views and grounds. Can imagine a wedding here would be unbelievable!

Staff were very friendly, and the girl working in the bar organised some dinner reservations and recommendations for us.

An older crowd, but throughly enjoyable. Rooms were great, and the games room had pool tables, ping pong and darts, which we totally took advantage of.

Reasons why I didn't give a 5?

Some of the staff (1 gentleman in the bar and all the breakfast restaurant staff) were extremely rude and very, very pushy about tips. I found it extremely off-putting. Especially but the breakfast staff. To come to our table with the room chit for us to sign and bring it back to us because you didn't feel we'd tipped enough? Disgraceful. There was a reason we tipped the bare minimum. If you were in Australia, you'd have got nothing, but I'm aware of the cultural mores around tipping. Having said that - good service is still a requirement of a tip, especially as this is Quebec, not the USA.

That really soured the experience for us, but I'm sure it was a one-enough. Front desk staff, and most of the other bar staff were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Bonjour,

Please accept our apologies for the fact that we obviously leave you with a negative experiencein our bar and restaurant. This is not the normal course of business at Hôtel Tadoussac, and our feedback will allow us to improve our service delivery.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

If I can provide any assistance, please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is wonderfully located directly at the bay, there is for sure no nicer spot to stay in Tadoussac. Due to low season we were given an upgrade to a room with sea view which was great. The furnishing is a bit outdated and the bathroom was one of the smallest we had on our whole trip in Canada. Breakfast is with 20 CAD relatively expensive in comparison to what you get - but was still the best hotel breakfast on our trip. Choice could be here and there more healthy (regarding cereals and bread for example). But overall, I would recommend this hotel for a stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is coastline icon and in the perfect place for whale watching. We even watched whales from our bedroom window! However there isn’t much of a choice of luxury hotels in this area and we would investigate a quality b&b if returning.

The rooms are quite small and there didn’t seem to be an option to have a larger room. The rooms also allowed sound to travel and we could here all our neighbours bathroom plumbing.

Loved the ‘wet weather’ jigsaw.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at Hôtel Tadoussac.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in june.Actually, my third stay there in the last ~20 years.Somewhat outdated, rooms (even the so-called superior room with view to the Tadoussac bay) quite small for the money now being asked, general maintenance should be reviewed.I don't think there was aircondition in the room.Windows generally very small, hence limited view, but this is the it was built back then.On the other hand,grand scenery, the feeling of being in a goneby era.Nicest time to go, in my personal opinion, is in september. Less traveled, weather often favorable.Very picturesque hotel, actually used to shoot an american movie in the eighties...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Bonjour,

Your comments are extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.
Please accept our apologies for the fact that we obviously did not leave you with our minimum expectation of a positive experience.

Sorry for the response delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tadoussac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tadoussac

Address: 165, rue Bord de l'Eau, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tadoussac 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tadoussac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tadoussac Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tadoussac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.