We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in old Quebec” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Historique James Thompson

Save Saved
You added Maison Historique James Thompson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Historique James Thompson
47 rue Ste.Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec g1r 4e4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 126 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in old Quebec”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at Maison Historique James Thompson twice (first time in March 2013), and it was great both times. With four kids, we were looking for accommodations which would be comfortable for us and not disturbing for other guests, and so Greg and Guitta put us on the top floor where we had two fairly large bedrooms, a TV room, a bathroom with shower and bath all to ourselves. We really liked the historical atmosphere of the rooms, the wood ceilings, the nice winding staircase. The kids were excited to hear about the "murder hole" at the front door. The location was perfect, in walking distance to everything we wanted to see, and everybody loved the breakfast. To top all that, Guitta made lemon muffins and croissants for the kids to eat on the road! Thank you again for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guittatimtim, Owner at Maison Historique James Thompson, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for writing your review and for your kind thoughts. Your beautiful family is fondly remembered. I hope 2014 continue to be exciting to you all and great successes in school to the young.

Thank you

p.s. I made the mistake of pushing the wrong box above your review. It was meant for your family. Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    26
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We loved this 1793 maison's Red Room with its gorgeous, 18"-deep window sills, fireplace mantel, and footed tub in the private bath. Guitta, the artist-innkeeper, has filled the house with beautiful paintings and interesting furnishings. Breakfast at the inn was delicious and plentiful, what you would hope at an excellent B&B. Each day, we dined with people from around the world. We stepped outside and found the old city surroundings were beautiful, too. Our trip was in 2012, but I feel a review is in order because it is such a lovely place, and I've finally gotten around to signing up at Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here recently and loved the house and our hostess. Gitta could not have been more hospitable and welcoming. She had great tips about what to see and when and getting around the city. The house itself is charming, fun, interesting, and located in the heart of the old city. We parked our car and didn't move it again until we took a day trip to Isle d'Orleans. Her breakfasts are outstanding, not at all the "continental breakfast" we expected. It was pleasant sharing breakfast with other travelers from all over the world. We practiced our English and they, their French. The beds were very comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom (3rd floor) clean and fresh towels awaiting us every morning. We felt as if were at home almost immediately upon arrival. This was not my first trip to Quebec and it will not be my last, but all future visits will be to our Quebec home, Maison Historique.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to Quebec in May 2013 and even though it was raining over greater part of the weekend, we absolutely loved the place. James Thompson added a lot of flavor to out trip. It was cozy and comfortable. The breakfast was great, and the hosts are warm and full of stories and information for tourists. I'm glad we chose to stay here as against staying in a hotel. It was right in the city center (so we did not have to use our car at all once we parked there), and had a personal touch. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent two nights here from the 2nd till the 4th of july 2013.

Our friends had been here before us and had recommended it because of the nice hosts, the good ambiance and the tasty breakfast. I have to say: we were not dissapointed.

There is onsite parking and the house is situated close to the wall in the old city centre, which means that basically everything is within walking distance.

Our sweet host Guitta did her best to make us very comfortable. When we wanted to sleep in, she was completely fine with serving us a late and lovely breakfast. Also she gave us tips for sightseeing.

Also it's fine if you come home in the middle of the night. You get a code to open the front door, so you don't have to worry about waking up anyone when you get in.

If you are looking for a convenient location, good service and a touch of the ambiance of old Quebec; please look no further. This is the place to go to and I'm sure you will look back on this place as fondly as I do.

Room Tip: I can recommend the room downstairs; it has a private bathroom with a lovely shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at this beautiful old home (inside...outside is rather plain) for 4 days in July. Guita is a wonderful hostess and very accommodating. We had a lovely room on the first floor, quite roomy and with private bath. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and you are given a choice each morning as to what you would like, it always started with a nice fruit cup, plenty of coffee, juice and freshly baked croissants and mini muffins. Perfectly located at the top of the hill and right around the corner from busy St. Louis Street and a very short walk to Chateau Frontenac. Have visited Quebec City many times but this was our first stay here and certainly won't be our last. Thanks Guita for making our stay so comfortable and special!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and dropped in to say hi to Gitta when we were in Quebec City this past weekend. We only didn't stay here this time because there were no vacancies. This is a gorgeous B&B within walking distance to everything within the walled city. It's very clean and the breakfast is delicious. This house is steeped in history - built in the 1700s. It retains a lot of the old charm and is warm and comfortable...we were there in cold weather last time. Gitta is phenomenal - very friendly and helpful. The only downside we saw was that we were in a room with a very small shower but despite that, we would recommend this B&B to everyone.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful but at least one of them has a very small shower. Usable but small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison Historique James Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Historique James Thompson

Address: 47 rue Ste.Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec g1r 4e4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home was built in 1793 and it situated within the fortified walls of famous Vieux Quebec. It is classified as an Historic Monument by the Government of Quebec and has a 4 "sun" rating. Our tastefully decorated guest rooms have Queen-sized beds for your comfort. We offer two rooms, each with one Queen-sized bed, and the third room has two Queen-sized beds. Our entire home is protected by a well maintained fire detection system that is monitored all the time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Maison Historique James Thompson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Historique James Thompson Hotel Quebec City
Maison Historique James Thompson Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Historique James Thompson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.