We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week of welcome and history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Historique James Thompson

Save Saved
You added Maison Historique James Thompson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Historique James Thompson
47 rue Ste.Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec g1r 4e4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 126 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Rocky Mountains
1 review
“One week of welcome and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had the top floor of this top notch historic home. The accomidatons were excellent. Breakfast at this B&B were great. The owners of this establishment blend professionalism with the personal touch of the hosts of a Bed and Breakfast. If you like authentic cultural experiences when you travel, this is it. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    26
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay if you are exploring Old Quebec City. It's right in the middle of everything....restaurants, shops, galleries, etc. The home is beautiful and quiet. The breakfast is wonderful - plentiful and delicious. We only stayed one night (wish we could have stayed longer) in the blue room with a private bath and a four poster bed. There is a little frig in the closet which is handy. The hostess is a delightful lady. There is parking (included) right beside the house. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the lovely, spacious Blue Room, with private bath, 4-poster bed, and window seats, and highly recommend this B&B. The owners are very welcoming and are happy to offer tips on what to see and where to eat. The day starts with a full breakfast -- your choice of crepes, French toast, eggs, sausage, bacon, etc. -- served in the pretty dining room. The building was built in the 1700s and is right in the heart of the old city, within the city walls. If the beautiful old city is the focus of your visit, there can be no better place to be. Note that, like a lot of B&Bs, this place accepts cash only (Canadian $).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed here April this year on a recent trip to Canada. We were simply overwelmed by the place. Greg the host was so welcoming, friendly and informative without being intrusive. The breakfasts were simply delicious, with almost every cereal available, choice of eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast(eggy bread), pancakes, fresh fruit salad, toast, croissant, brioche and more. I'm afraid we only met Guitta in passing, though Greg advised on restaurants, sights, museums etc and even gave us a tour of the battlefields. We spent two weeks in Ontario and Quebec and although we had many great experiences, our time at Maison Historique was unforgettable. If ever travelling to Quebec, I recommend the 'Maison'; if not - you must make a detour!

Room Tip: Try the Blueberry pancakes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We initially contacted the James Thompson after reading the overall reviews and determining that it was within our budget and had what we were looking for. My first impression was when I called to check availability and talked to the co-owner Guita, she was quite happy to offer us a room with private bathroom for $120 which included both taxes and parking. This seemed quite reasonable so I said I would like to book with her and offered to provide a credit card to hold the room, she politely said that this wasn't required since they worked on the honour system. This truly set the tone for all of our future dealings with the owners!

On our day of arrival we were running a little late and I called and talked to Greg (the other owner) to let him know we would be only arriving at 10pm. He seemed just fine with this and told me to take my time and just arrive safe...amazing! When we did arrive Greg showed us to the "Red Room" which was on the second floor. This room was had two queen beds (with a firm and a soft mattress to choose from!), private clawfoot tub, three bay windows that opened onto the streets below, free nation wide calling, wifi, a mini cooler/heater for food, and wonderfully red themed room. After being settled we again talked to Greg who pulled out a map of the old city and pointed out a few nice places to see at this time of night.

The next morning we were greeted by a large breakfast with a wonderful selection of fruit, juice, crepes, wild mushrooms (picked by Greg), eggs, back bacon, French toast, etc. This was a great bonus since the cost of a meal in Old Quebec can be quite pricey, it allowed us to just have a light (cheaper) lunch and just have to pay for a dinner.

During breakfast Greg offered us the opportunity to join him on his walk. Conveniently Greg is one of the licensed Tour Guides in the area so he was quite knowledgeable of both the history of the city and the uniqueness off the area's environment. He took us out with another set of guests for a 1.5 - 2 hour trail hike that I would have never have found on a tourist map. It was a great start to our first full day and was of course was free.

We stayed with Greg and Guita for three nights and all my dealings with them and the other guests were quite pleasant. I would highly recommend this location for anyone who is looking for an excellent location, good food, and affordable accommodations for what you get. I know we will return one day!

Room Tip: The Red Room -$120/night -two queen beds (one firm, one soft... brilliant!) -2nd Floor -parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, ON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our 10th anniversary in 2009. The location was perfect! We only left the walled city 2x during our 1 week stay, so it was just right for us. Greg was the perfect blend of helpful and friendly without being overbearing or "in your face". We had the room with our own bathroom and were very comfortable. Breakfasts were so filling that we were able to skip lunch every day and spend our money on the many amazing restaurants in the upper and lower village. If I have any criticism it is that there is very limited parking, however, to have a parking space on site at all is a bonus!

Room Tip: There is a room with an ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were there in June 2011 and have travelled a lot since. This place has become our bench mark, and we haven't found any that match it for comfort and historic elegance. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. I have never spent so much time in the morning just relaxing before going for breakfast (we were the last ones down every day). We were provided with a walking tour guide of the old city, given information on where to dine (some of the best food I've eaten is just across the street). But here is what think was the kicker: we decided to go whale watching and mentioned it to Greg. He suggested we pack a lunch for your journey; he supplied us with a cooler, ice packs, wine glasses, etc... We didn't have the greatest weather for whale watching, but having lunch with wine on the boat made us the envy of the cruise. Thanks for the great memories Greg.

Room Tip: Go ready to relax, ask your host for suggestions as to what to see and do, they can help make so awe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison Historique James Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Historique James Thompson

Address: 47 rue Ste.Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec g1r 4e4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home was built in 1793 and it situated within the fortified walls of famous Vieux Quebec. It is classified as an Historic Monument by the Government of Quebec and has a 4 "sun" rating. Our tastefully decorated guest rooms have Queen-sized beds for your comfort. We offer two rooms, each with one Queen-sized bed, and the third room has two Queen-sized beds. Our entire home is protected by a well maintained fire detection system that is monitored all the time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Maison Historique James Thompson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Historique James Thompson Hotel Quebec City
Maison Historique James Thompson Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Historique James Thompson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.