We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas vacations 2011-2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Historique James Thompson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maison Historique James Thompson to your Saves list
Maison Historique James Thompson
47 rue Ste.Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec g1r 4e4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 124 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Christmas vacations 2011-2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Our hostess, Guitta, went above and beyond all expectation to make our stay unforgettable. The location is as central to all sights as possible. Breakfast was a feast, with a great selection of delectable food. The house is very authentic yet provides all the amenities one could require. Very family friendly, accommodating and welcoming. Parking is tight, but so is everything in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    27
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
68
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Despite the name of the place, the tenant, Greg, is English-speaker, but I believe his wife speaks French. He made us visit the house, which is all in wood, old style, I felt like privileged to have access to such a beautiful place. We had a very big room with a comfortable bed, shared bathroom but it wasn't an issue.
The breakfast was kind of à la carte, we could order whatever we wanted (plus everything that was already on the table).
We could leave the car in their parking the whole day and got a guided tour by Greg along the Plaines d'Abraham about history, current life, wildlife and flora.
Also, it is very well located at the entrance of the old town, still easily accessible.
We recommend and would return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My girlfriend and I decided last minute to come up to QC for Thanksgiving weekend (3 nights) and decided upon a B&B. We chose Maison Historique James Thompson because the price was very reasonable and they were centrally located within Old Quebec City walls. As we had to drive up from the States, we ended up arriving late...very late (3am). No problem!
We stayed in the only room on the ground floor. Waking up late wasn't even a problem. Breakfast was served upon request (made when ordered) much later in the morning than most other B&B would serve. The eggs were perfectly cooked.

Guitta (the hostess) was very personable and friendly. She was genuinely very attentive and made sure every need was met. The house is very quaint and cute. She is an artist and you can see her art work throughout, perfectly blended with the historical artifacts/portraits of the house. The house is very quite at night too! You'll sleep well.
The house is perfectly located with walking distance to everything in Old Quebec. You can also walk out of the Old Quebec walls within 3 minutes of the B&B!

I wholeheartedly recommend this place! Guitta will not disappoint you!

Room Tip: Be sure to get up very early or very late if you enjoy really hot showers. The shower in the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Spent a night here in November and we can't say enough about the wonderful ambiance, great breakfast and charming hosts of the Maison Historique James Thompson. Won't ever consider staying anywhere else when we're in QC in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private ensuites, others don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My family and I had the pleasure of enjoying a 2-night stay at the James Thompson. It's perfectly situated in historic Quebec, easy walking distance to all the sites. The breakfast was sumptuous and Guita, the owner and charming hostess, made us all feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011 via mobile

My mom and I stayed at the James Thompson for 3 nights and we were very pleased with a numbe of things. Don't pay attention to the map on TripAdvisor, someone must have entered the postal code incorrectly or something. The b&b is located in the old city, crossing with two major shoppin and dining streets - Saint Louis and Saint Jean. It is also about 2 mins from the parliament buildings just outside the old city, if you ever feel like venturing out. Our room was called "The High Priestess" and it was very large, with a nice bathroom in which we enjoyed a few good soaks in the tub. Guitta was very nice and welcoming and made our breakfast each morning. Greg had lots of knowledge about the city and went above and beyond by walking us to our restaurant one night and giving us a little tour. We walked absolutely everywhere, except to and from the airport and the rental car we had for one day. Thank you Guitta and Greg for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights while on a romantic getaway in Quebec. So close to everything, it was a great home base. Walking distances to all the great shops and restaurants.

Breakfasts were great, we were surprised to see so many other guests, as the house was so quiet we thought it was a much smaller B & B.

We stayed on the 3rd floor. My only critiques are that the washroom on the third floor is shared between 2 rooms. The other room had 3 people staying in it so 5 of us were sharing 1 washroom. Not so great for a vacation. I wanted to get away from that! The washroom was also very dated.

Only other critique is that the mirrors and lighting in the room was dim and antique. Not great for makeup or getting dressed.

Innkeepers are lovely. We got lots of great restaurant tips.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has a lot of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Historique James Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Historique James Thompson

Address: 47 rue Ste.Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec g1r 4e4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home was built in 1793 and it situated within the fortified walls of famous Vieux Quebec. It is classified as an Historic Monument by the Government of Quebec and has a 4 "sun" rating. Our tastefully decorated guest rooms have Queen-sized beds for your comfort. We offer two rooms, each with one Queen-sized bed, and the third room has two Queen-sized beds. Our entire home is protected by a well maintained fire detection system that is monitored all the time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maison Historique James Thompson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Historique James Thompson Hotel Quebec City
Maison Historique James Thompson Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Historique James Thompson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.