We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent fondue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pain Beni

Le Pain Beni
24 Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418 694-9485
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Pain Beni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,201 Restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: rue du Tresor
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent fondue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Delicious fondue made with local Quebec cheeses, which are delightful. Excellent service, lovely decor, close to everything in Old Quebec. Would defintely go back, and recommend to others.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    148
    38
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great food, great acoustics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Pretty restaurant with great service.
You can actually hear your dinner partner or partners voice and have a conversation without screaming.
So many restaurants are loud today, this one is a great choice. As you enter you are greeted by a nice hostess. We were served by two people, the service was flawless and friendly. Water glasses were filled you did not have to catch the servers glance to get service.
Attention to details, I always appreciate this. They had pretty wood containers for the butter and good French bread. The China plates had a nice sound when you touched them with your utensils. The plates were hot and the food was hot.
The salad was a nice mix of greens and the soup was a velvet cream of cauliflower with corn not my favorite, but it was good. For the main course I had Quebec deer medallion it melted in the mouth. It was served on a bed of marinated red cabbage, mix of root vegetables and a nice surprise, a rösti of what I think was potato, squash and cheese lightly fried. It was very tasty. Another in the party had the lamb shoulder very well presented in a deep dish with pureed turnip, couscous and apple chips which she said were delicious. Another in the party had the pan-seared cod and said it was very good. Desserts were a bit of a disappointment. I was hoping to order the special cheesecake that was reviewed in trip advisor, but it was not on the menu. If you book online they give you a 10% discount. Very good restaurant, highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a great dinner last night at Pain Beni. Great food, great ambiance, staff friendly and guess what, the plate was sizzling and the food was hot. If your looking for something special, check it out. Congratulations to the chef and everyone that made for a memorable dinning experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The delicious breakfasts we enjoyed during our 2 day stay were well presented and served by attentive bilingual staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nice place with the old Québec all around, service is excellent readiness and kindness on top. New cuisine, very well presented, we had two diners and very happy with the complete meal. They will make you like things that you would never taste the cook knows how to make a meal appealing. Flavor colors and smell, it's was a succes

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Beni also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Pain Beni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pain Beni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.