We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“versailles in Quebec city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chateau du Faubourg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Chateau du Faubourg
Save
You added Le Chateau du Faubourg to your Saves list
Rue St-Jean, 429, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 124 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“versailles in Quebec city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The rooms are all done in period decor-18th century,in fact the entire house is as well. You really feel you are Louis xiv or Marie Antoinette. Try to get the two room suite with the view on the St. Babtist church. Close to downtown. Very quiet and we appreciated the cleanly ness and great breakfast.Great value.

Room Tip: the one that faces the church-2nd floor. It's a suite-boudoir with fireplace and cyrtal chandele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    8
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
32
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Just a short walk to Old Quebec and Citadel, yet it is in a very quaint neighborhood....more locals than tourists, unlike Old Quebec where there are much much more tourists than locals. Architecture, furnishings, decorations, and landscape of the premise are amazing...puts you in the home of Louis XIV time. Breakfast choices that would fill you til dinner, if not exercise control....great coffee and lots of it. We stayed 3 nights...just enough time to explore Old Quebec and get away from all tourists off the cruise ships. Highly recommend this auberg. Diep and John, Seattle

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Le Chateau du Faubourg is a real "Manor" with antique carpet, furnitures and family pictures hanging all over tha walls.
Located just out of the wall is at 5 minutes walk from the "walled area and Citadel": rue St. Jean is full of restaurants and shops.
We stayed in a beautiful suite on 1st floor with sleeping area and living area.
Homemade cooked breakfast every morning.
We really recommend it: very good ratio between price and quality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Two friends and I stayed a night at this B and B in Quebec City. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The place ha s much formal French furniture including ceilings with paintings of French kings. Francois Premier! There are casual restaurants nearby, and breakfast was delicious. Very good value

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My friend from New Zealand and I stayed here in July. All we could do was say Wow when we entered. Our rooms on the top floor were huge with our own private sitting room as well as a shared sitting room and reading room Excellent accommodations and very convenient to walk to Old Quebec City. Phillipe was the most gracious host, looking after our bags when we arrived early, wonderful breakfasts and arranging taxi's for us. Phillipe even left a breakfast for us as we were departing very early in the morning. Had a fantastic meal at a restaurant just down the street from the B&B called Le Moine Echanson.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at this B&B at the beginning of July and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. We stayed in the Master Suite and it was very comfortable and spacious....we loved it. It makes you feel like you are staying in a castle! The breakfasts are continental with eggs or french toast. Umbrellas are available for use. Philippe is a great host and was always willing to assist with suggestions. The B&B is located about a 10 minute walk from the gates to the Old City but in an area where locals live and work....a very safe area for walking at any time. If/when we return to Quebec City, this will be our first choice of a place to stay.

Room Tip: Master Suite is very spacious and definitely makes you feel like you are living in a castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in February this year, and we we're VERY pleased that we had. I had read a lot of reviews on this B&B before attending, and the reviews are mostly dead on. This place is absolutely stunning, and well worth it. We had payed only $140 a night to stay in there largest room, which was the Master Suite. I felt like a princess in a disney movie, it was unreal. The location was also excellent, it was at the top of the street where all the little shops begin, so each day we would walk down a little further, and we didn't miss seeing anything. Philippe, who was our host, was very kind, and very helpful to us during our stay as well. He knows mostly all of the tourist attractions, and doesn't mind answering questions or helping out. We mentioned out loud that we were thinking of visiting the Ice Hotel, but didn't know theyre hours, and Philippe went to call them for us.

Breakfast was also delicious. Each morning, we had coffee, tea, and orange juice to drink. He had layed out an assortment of jams, large croissants, yogurts, and fruit to eat. Then he would come in and ask us how we would like our eggs and he made them to order. He hadn't sat down to eat with us, but one other couple that was staying in the hotel had. It made for nice conversation.

I would highly recommend this lovely B&B to anyone. It was a real treat to be able to stay here, and I would deffinitely return. If you have any further questions, feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Suite, which was the largest room. It was perfect. I may say that the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Chateau du Faubourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau du Faubourg

Address: Rue St-Jean, 429, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A French style private Château in the hart of Québec City. A beautiful decor in a great location. The best value in historical Québec City ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Du Faubourg Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chateau du Faubourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.