We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious cuisine, very friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Sous le Fort

Bistro Sous le Fort
48 Sous-le-Fort, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4G9, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418-694-0852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,227 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious cuisine, very friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We didn't have a reservation when we showed up on a busy weekend evening, but we were keen to try the restaurant based on the TripAdvisor reviews, and they were extremely helpful about finding time to squeeze us in even though they were packed. The menu was an interesting mix of local specialities and classical French food, with a handful of standard North American crowd-pleasers like hamburgers which were clearly a hit at the neighbouring tables. We enjoyed the sampler platter of local specialties very much as a shared appetizer - fantastic duck rillettes and foie gras, and the warmed brie was incredible - and then followed up with the sweetbreads with chanterelles and the venison. Everything was so delicious that even though neither of us are dessert fans, we couldn't resist trying the maple pudding, which was as wonderful as the other reviewers had indicated. We will definitely return on our next visit to Quebec.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    209
    44
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barre, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very cozy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were surprised at how small Bistro Sous le Fort actually is on the inside when we first arrived, but were very please with the food and service! The french onion soup was delicious and the steak was tender and perfectly cooked. A great meal!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really hits the spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

After being unprepared and freezing outside during Winter Carnival, all we wanted was to go somewhere warm for food. A friend suggested this place, so we made the trek. It's a little out of the way from the main things, which is actually good. The service was excellent. Even though it was small and we didn't have a reservation, we were seated quickly. They have a $25 prix fixe all day on weekends, which was perfect. Appetizer, main dish, dessert. After the meal, we were totally reenergized and ready to conquer the rest of the day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Our family of four had a wonderful lunch at this charming restaurant. Location couldn't be better in the Petit Champlain area, just a few steps from the funiculaire. Everything we ate was delicious, particularly the hamburgers and the home made desserts. You have to try the old-fashioned maple pudding. Certainly among the best we've ever had. Service was efficient and very friendly. We felt very welcomed and really had the impression that everyone working there wanted to make sure we enjoyed our experience in their restaurant. Since this is a small restaurant, you might have to wait a little (or more than a little) for a table. Even if there's a wait, this place is definitely worth it. You can always go for a walk and browse the nearby shops while you wait for your table. We totally recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good food, reasonably priced, and served in a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

In the heart of Le Petit Champlain, what can I say about it? Just make a reservation for two and ask for something. Food is great and prices are ok.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Sous le Fort also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Bistro Sous le Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Sous le Fort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.