We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Portofino Bistro

Restaurant Portofino Bistro
54 Rue Couillard, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3T3, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
(418) 692-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 1,171 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Pfafftown, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant was just steps from our hotel, and came highly recommended. It's a very busy place, with attentive staff. Both my wife and I were pleased with our pasta, and wanted to go back for their pizza because it looked so good, but just couldn't fit it into our trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    130
    72
    37
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little Italian bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I know most people wouldn't go to Quebec City for an Italian meal, but thus restaurant came highly recommended by a tour guide. I speak French, but my mother doesn't, and is didn't seem to bother the wait staff at all. The table d'hôte menu can't be beat and the service is fast and friendly. Anything you needed was brought straight over. It's in a great location with an Irish pub next door for entertainment afterward. Definitely recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lively crowded lovely place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Great mussels,delicious croccantini, selection of wines ad hoc; live music perfomed by an acoustic guitarrist maestro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

On the first night of our stay in Quebec, our hotel recommended us Portofino restaurant and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival we were taken to the bar to wait for an available table because we had no reservation and the place was packed eventhough it was a Thursday, the atmosphere very welcoming, and the guitarist playing romantic music made ​​our dinner more special more. The onion soup very good as well as the creme brulee for dessert and the service quite good considering the place was full.








Undo edits

















Is this translation better than the original?
Yes, submit translation


























































On the first night of our stay in Quebec, our hotel recommended us Portofino restaurant and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival we were taken to the bar to wait for an available table because we had no reservation and the place was packed eventhough it was a Thursday, the atmosphere very welcoming, and the guitarist playing romantic music made ​​our dinner more special more. The onion soup very good as well as the creme brulee for dessert and the service quite good considering the place was full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful meal in a nice atmosphere. After a long day of sightseeing our friends and I had a relaxing evening. The staff was very pleasant and we were able to substitute whatever type of pasta we preferred. Especially loved the cannelloni with spinach and cheese, yum!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Portofino Bistro also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Portofino Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Portofino Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.