We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lapin Saute

Lapin Saute
52 Rue Du Petit-Champlain, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4H4, Canada
+1 418-692-5325
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,171 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Original Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This cute little restaurant in la bas ville Is amazing in its ability to make every dish original. Whether it is French toast or stew or scrambled eggs it is a cornucopia of new flavours. All dishes are excellent. Great for lunch or brunch especially and if you like to share it is perfect.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    328
    79
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely little romatic restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The fall decorations added a nice touch to this quaint restaurant. As it was a warm autumn evening, we chose to sit outside on this patio. The menu had a good choice of items and rabbit was listed in several dishes. I had the Penne Pasta with arugula, feta goat cheese, cherry tomatoes and Kalamata olives for $18.95. I thought it was a small portion but it was good. I also had a small bottle of sparkling water with my meal which I believe was $2.95 . My husband had the Rabbit French cassoulet for $24.95 and he thought the rabbit was a little dry but still a good choice. You have to ask if you would like bread with your meal and I cannot remember if there was a charge. The bread was very good. We shared a bottle of wine which equaled about three glasses we were told by the server who spoke very good English. I believe the wine was $30.00. The total dinner with tax and tip was around $90.00. I do not remember there being a children's menu but so many of the restaurants in Old Quebec City are not geared toward children. I enjoyed a nice evening with my husband over dinner and to be perfectly honest, children would have ruined the ambience of this lovely little romantic restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Be sure to try the rabbit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I had lunch in the courtyard on a beautiful day. A street performer nearby entertained us amazingly well with traditional music. We shared a bowl of onion soup which was perfect.... Not too salty, with great cheese. We also shared the fois gras with brioche which was very good, and the rabbit with 2 mustard sauce. It was excellent, but we couldn't finish it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Warm & Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lapin Saute was recommended to use by Clement (host @ Auberge J.A. Moisan B&B). So, my wife (Stacy) and I made this our first stop inside the walls of Quebec City. It is was full of tourists (as a cruise ship was in port) but the service was friendly and the food was great (we shared a cheese plate and meat plate with a bottle of wine). The prices were fair as this is in the heart of Quebec City.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Uniquely French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We just wanted a simple lunch, sitting in the sunshine in the historic Petit-Champlain section on the cobblestones, and Lapin provided just that. We did not eat rabbit on this occasion. Nothing was too much trouble and the people-watching was perfect.
Modest price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lapin Saute also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Lapin Saute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapin Saute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.