We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Romantic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lapin Saute

Lapin Saute
52 Rue Du Petit-Champlain, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4H4, Canada
+1 418-692-5325
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,171 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Cozy and Romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I along with another couple enjoyed a dinner here at a window table since it was too chilly to eat outside. The indoor and outdoor seating is very cozy and romantic. Since I have had numerous rabbits as pets for my children I was unable to eat any of the rabbit dishes. However I had the best onion soup I have ever had with melted local cheese. Very yummy! Also had a pasta dish that was ok and my friend had the croque Monsieur which was also ok. The service was excellent and friendly. Probably the best dishes there are the rabbit ones which none of us had so that is probably why we were not super impressed with the food. I would recommend that if you don't want rabbit stick to the onion soup! We were glad that we ate here as the place is charming as is the street it is on. Feels very much like a street in Europe. Also there are always very good street musicians right outside the restaurant which are very entertaining if you are seated outside.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    328
    79
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracebridge, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Cozy Little Restaurant, Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went to this restaurant just before lunch. Patio area was very nice looking, but ate inside as the patio was closed because of the rain. Very cozy little restaurant. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. We ordered tea to warm up from the dampness outside and then had the Plank of Charcuteries which consisted of smoked duck breast, rabbit rillettes, duck foie gras, salami, carrots and onions confit and pickles. Delicious tasting food and just the right amount. One of the better restaurants we went to while in Old Quebec. A definite must try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunny day lunch at Lapin Saute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had read reviews of this place on TA, but was still happily surprised to find it as we strolled along the Rue Petit Champlain in the Lower Town. Immediately had my husband make us a reservation for an hour later, and later found ourselves luckily sitting outside - viewing the small park next door, and listening to a charming live musician playing nearby while sipping some local red wine. We shared a charcuterie platter for two, which was absolutely delicious - and included some locally raised rabbit, duck pate, onion jam, carrot jam, pickles, olives - and fabulous warm rolls.

My only caveat would be that there was a pesky wasp that was interested in our wine throughout lunch. We have rarely been stung and don't like spraying, so it was not a problem. However, there was plenty of seating inside for anyone who might be concerned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great fun, lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lots of rabbit dishes on the menu (bit of a clue in the name!). Beautifully cooked and presented. Makes a lovely change from standard tourist fare. Great atmosphere and location.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food, very friendly people, gorgeous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Lapin Saute is in Le Petit Champlain, which must be one of the prettiest streets in Canada. The restaurant is typical French bistro style, very simple but with excellent food and service. It has a lovely outside terrace for the warmer weather.

The food was delicious - Him Indoors went for rabbit with rosemary, which he said was delicious, while I played safe with a traditional pork dish, which was equally yummy. We didn't bother with puds as we were too full. The wine list is very reasonable with a good choice of native and international bottles.

My only very small negative comment is that (because we booked very late in the day and were given the last table), our table was right in the doorway and apparently no-one in Canada knows how to close a door, so we froze for part of the evening (and it was only September, so still relatively warm compared with the winter). So my tip is to make sure you book ahead and don't get the rogue table.

This is a great place to go for a relaxed, casual evening with excellent food at reasonable prices. It would be a fantastic place for an al fresco lunch on a sunny day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lapin Saute also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Lapin Saute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapin Saute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.