We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice early meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lapin Saute

Lapin Saute
52 Rue Du Petit-Champlain, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4H4, Canada
+1 418-692-5325
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,171 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Very nice early meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Following TripAdvisor's rating, we chose the Lapin Saute and were not disappointed. They were able to seat us outside (it was only 6pm) and it was a very pleasant outdoor setting. We got a seat in the row furthest from the street.

Good food, pleasant wait staff, what else does one need?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    328
    79
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Hop on Over for a Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First, this is a busy place in the lower town. You might want to make a reservation to avoid any line as sometimes develops. Second, it is a nice facility with dining in and outside (which is by a small park that often has entertainment). My wife and I had rabbit with 3 different mustard sauces and a rabbit cassoulet with a nice rose. Both very tasty. The inside can get warm as it is pretty crowded because of its popularity. Convenient location on a very popular pedestrian walkway, not far from the funicular if you are coming from the upper town. Service was prompt and friendly. Prices were reasonable. Would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilford, ct
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The service was wonderful, it was clean and the food was tasty. It is in the middle of lower Quebec and very scenic. I would go again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“first and the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the first restaurant we ate at in Quebec City - along quartier petit champlain. Amazing staff/server, delicious french food, very nice ambience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Family Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This is our first stop every time we come to Quebec City. We love the menu, atmosphere, and service. My husband, two children, and I were there for dinner in July, and had dinner outside on the patio. As always, service was excellent. Our server was great with the kids, very friendly, and had good suggestions. Also worth noting that they were very careful and accommodating dealing with my husband's dairy allergy. I do have to say that the food was not as good as it has been when we've eaten there in the past. The rabbit was dry and chewy in two of our dishes. Desserts were amazing, though. And this is the perfect place to enjoy the old city atmosphere, and just relax.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lapin Saute also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Lapin Saute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapin Saute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.