We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary to remember!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Continental

Le Continental
26 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Y9, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
(418) 694-9995
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Continental is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,139 restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Des Jardins
Description: Total EnjoymentIn the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a friend and WOW! She did not steer us wrong. It was the best steak I have ever had. We went for our 25th anniversary and when I made the reservation, I asked for a good table. We had a small table for 2 at the very back, with a beautiful view of the courtyard. It was nice not having people behind us. Our flambé chef, Pierre, was delightful. He prepared an incredible meal, caesar salad, flambé steak, and crepe suzette, followed by brazilian coffee. My whole meal was on fire, but what a show! Pierre brought out a chocolate dessert with a candle as his gift to celebrate our special occasion. The evening was perfect from start to finish. Can you eat somewhere else cheaper? yes. But was it worth every penny? Absolutely!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    328
    68
    39
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant, and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I went to Le Continental for lunch. Although a little pricey, I think the lunch special is a pretty good deal. It includes a full 3 course meal. The food was excellent, the service was very good, and the location of this restaurant was right in the middle of Quebec City. The restaurant itself is very fancy and neat. I personally LOVED the desserts here. The desserts were the highlight of my meal . Overall, a very nice restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meat dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is a bit aged in terms of design and service but the food is excellent. They serve a great filet mignon which is prepared in a special slow cooking manner. Not the cheapest place in Quebec but certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional French cuisine specializing in Flambé”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A traditional French restaurant with an emphasis on flambé dishes. Fires all around us!We decided on the table d'hote menu and were not disappointed. Well prepared food and great service. Comprehensive wine list; well laid out. Located in the centre of Old Quebec.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed dinner here which staying in Quebec. The food, the service and the atmosphere were all very nice. We were staying at Le Chateau Frontenac and this restaurant was very convenient from the hotel. I would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Continental also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.