We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Continental

Le Continental
26 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Y9, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
(418) 694-9995
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Continental is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,202 Restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Des Jardins
Description: Total EnjoymentIn the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.
High Bridge, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The food was so so tasty wonderful presentation. Great service GREAT restaurant. 5 star restaurant all the way around. Well worth it.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    86
    44
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in QC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Overall it was a great experience. The food is outstanding although a lttle bit expensive; the service - is a superior and one of the best in North America.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great with a capital G”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a class act. #1 for service followed through by the finest food. No more to say, impeccable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good overcome the so so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our first visit to Quebec at the restaurant to celebrate my birthday and we were so very blessed. The entree flambe lobster and sirlion ranks amongst the best we have tasted anywhere....even in Paris.

The lobster bisque and escargo starter were so so...but Alberto who serve us and prepared our flambe more than compensated for the weak start.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner... A must while in Quebec City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had taken a carriage ride in the early evening, and so we arrived via carriage which set the mood for a wonderful evening at Le Continental.

The wait staff is all male, dressed in white jackets and ties, and the place is a buzz of activity. You feel like you are in Paris, at a fine french restaurant.

The menu is impressive to say the least, specializing in flambe' dishes created table side. Although we did not partake in any flambé style dishes (tempting though), our dinner was wonderful. Its not everyday that a waiter creates the salad dressing from scratch table side. Our meals were outstanding, quite possibly the best quail I've ever had, likewise my wife had crab legs that were unbelievable.

This is a must visit for a nice evening, and culinary experience while in Quebec City. We can't wait to go back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Continental also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.