We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cavour

Le Cavour
44 St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418-694-0417
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #503 of 1,202 Restaurants in Quebec City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We happened across this place while in search for pâté and/or carpaccio. It was around 4 pm so we were well before the dinner crowd. The servers and host were very friendly and the place had the rustic charm of a French countryside inn. We promptly ordered drinks (comparably priced) and appetizers. The drinks were well prepared (Manhattan) and the pâté and carpaccio delicious.

We had intended to stop at this point to save room for another restaurant, but the ambiance was nice, food good, so we ordered what I will call pork Wellington. In a word, fantastic! Another round of drinks and it was time to consider dessert (so much for going somewhere else). We ordered crepe Suzette, which is basically a crepe flambé with triple sec, orange juice, crepes, and fresh fruit prepared table-side, also phenomenal!

I'm sure there are cheaper places, but we found the quality of the food and the friendly service to be well worth the price ( for those interested the appetizers we ordered were 10-13, the main dish mid 20s, and dessert for 2, low 20s)

We would happily return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    20
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

it was a very good meal for the price. We wondered the streets, checking the menus in different restaurants before stopping here - it was great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“You can do better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stopped in for a casual lunch after a busy morning of sightseeing. Food not terrible, just adequate and overpriced. I sat upstairs and though the room was half- empty I was directed to a tiny table and my request for another location was met with a shrug and a "non." Onion soup, one soft drink, and a Caesar salad were $30. Location must keep this place going.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent meal at reasonable price in an expensive area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My food was good, I had the coq au vin. Others I dined with had checken breast but found it dry. Caesar salad was regular shredded lettuce with store based caesar dressing. The parsean fondue was a cube breaded in a bland coating, deep friend. At first the waiter was confused and bit annoyed we hadn't decided right away. But he became friendlier as time went on and he and his co-waiter gave good service. Given this street has a number of expensive places, this was a good option at a more reasonable price.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great food, good atmosphere, tight seating though. Decor is funky, no bare spots on walls anywhere. Accordian music takes you back to Italy

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cavour also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cavour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.