We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food at a Snail's Pace” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Tyrolienne

La Tyrolienne
2846 Jules Dalaire, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 2J8, Canada
418-651-6905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #250 of 1,140 restaurants in Quebec City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food at a Snail's Pace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The ambiance is great. It's very authentic, just like a real German restaurant. They even had a roving accordion player to serenade the guests. The food was good too. It seems to be a very popular place for Fondue. However, the onion soup was cold and had to be sent back. I am lactose intolerant and have to watch out for dairy. The waitress made on comments when I asked which dishes would be suitable. To say that the service was incredibly slow would be an understatement. I could have given birth to twins between courses. It was awful. And NO, the place was not full either. Less than half full. Seems to me that the kitchen staff was probably short because the waitress was fully in 4th gear. She seemed tense and off her game. Not friendly. Not sure if it was just a bad day for her or something else going on? The food was OK -- I can cook just as well. I would not need to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    7
    8
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just 15 minutes from centre town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We first went to this restaurant on our honeymoon, 40 years ago. Every time we go back to Quebec we have our first meal there. This place is overlooked because it is in Ste. Foy (15 minutes from downtown). You will have fondues here that you cannot find elsewhere, and for a reasonable price. we chose their prix fixe, which included for two: a choice of 5 appetizers (we had smoked salmon stuffed with crab); a soup (vegetable cream); a Chinese fondue (two platters each of thin beef cooked in a broth) served with either rice. baked potatoe or fries; a good coffee (and we are second cup folks); a choice of 5 desserts (the maple crepe was wonderful). it also include a bottle of wine, which you could upgrade if you paid the difference over $30.00. All of this for 95.00 for two, with excellent service and a roaming musician (accordion) to boot. A trip to Quebec is not complete without a visit to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, but cheese fondue was really bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The ambiance is fantastic and so is the service. I went there with my husband and we each ordered a different cheese fondue. Both were so bad that we could not eat them. It was like a mix of cheese and flour. Like a bechamel that turned bad. When the waitress asked us whether it was good, we had to be honest and tell her that we couldn't eat them. She quickly offered us something else to eat, which we kindly declined. We were not charged the fondues, which we really appreciated. Maybe we went there a wrong day, but I have to say that any cheese fondue bought at a supermarket would definitely be a lot better than what we had. We love cheese fondue and we frequently go to one of their competitors in the city center. We were not convinced to change our habits, although the appetizers and the wine were good.

Plus, I was surprised to see that they only had 2 or 3 types of cheese fondue.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dialectgirl
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best fondue place in Quebec! (with other, equally good meal options!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

There are few places in Quebec that offer fondue, and this one is by far the best. It really has the Tyrolean atmosphere it promises, usually with live music, and other german-style meal options as well, which are also equally good. Go hungry and take the table d'hote. Chocolate or maple fondue for dessert - mmm! I recommend to make a reservation. Good for couples or groups! (May want to ask for a quiet table if you mind the noise of larger companies - but do not let this deter you!)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A cute slice of Switzerland in the Canadian suburbs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Fondue, fondue, fondue... That's what this place is all about. They served up a pretty authentic version, in a rustic Swiss chalet-styled building complete with cowbells and other mountain gear adorning the walls.

My colleagues said their steaks were very good. One wine chosen from the list (a Primitivo) was very good indeed. After a huge bowl of melted cheese, my error was to then have a crepe for dessert... It came smothered in caramelised condensed milk. Got it down though. There are however plenty of meat and seafood choices if anyone in your party does not want a massive dairy explosion in their face.

It was kind of expensive. But where else are you going to get to dip loaves of bread into pots of emmental and gruyere?

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tyrolienne also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to La Tyrolienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tyrolienne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.