We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food taste and quality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Italie

La Petite Italie
49 St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418-694-0044
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #277 of 1,141 restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“food taste and quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

ordered seafood au gratin - seafood was my opinion the type of frozen that you get at a discount in a grocery store - completely blah. Accompanying fettucine was very unimaginative and when I asked for grated cheese I was told they didn't have it! Grilled vegetables had no flavour whatsoever, no spices, completely bland. Wait staff okay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    13
    35
    16
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this! Good Italian fare-a charming restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Enjoyed the pasta trio, generous portions, freshly prepared for us. Great service and wonderful table by the window- great for people watching! Loved it! Very good value- one of the best and least expensive dinners we had while we stayed in the city.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average food , good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is not fine dining.
I initially wanted to get a table at de conti but they were booked out. I was tired and cold so I opted to cross the street and have something quick to eat and return to the hotel.
It is very basic food . Nothing you would necessary go back for but edible.
The garlic bread was disappointing. It appeared to be pressed bread rolls cut in half. The spaghetti bolognese was ok. The wine good. The tiramisu did not appear to have been made on the premises. Had a mass production look and taste to it.
The portions are huge and the price is very reasonable for its location. A table by the window allows you to people watch.
The service was very good. The lady that served me was polite and the meal arrived fast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willimantic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere unless you need a quick meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The pros: the meals came quickly and the waiter was helpful. The cons: the lasagna was very salty and the seafood gratin was badly overpriced for the low quality seafood (teeny scallops, canned teeny shrimp). We were both so hungry that night from so much walking that we ate our entire meals even though the food was not great. For the price the quality should have been better. It was also very war inside but the patio did not have outdoor lighting for evening service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent (Jeremie). Well above par. Food was hot, fresh and make it to our table quickly. Atmosphere was very nice. The meal was a great value and fair priced.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Italie also viewed

 

Been to La Petite Italie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Italie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.