We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food , good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Italie

La Petite Italie
49 St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418-694-0044
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #310 of 1,202 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average food , good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is not fine dining.
I initially wanted to get a table at de conti but they were booked out. I was tired and cold so I opted to cross the street and have something quick to eat and return to the hotel.
It is very basic food . Nothing you would necessary go back for but edible.
The garlic bread was disappointing. It appeared to be pressed bread rolls cut in half. The spaghetti bolognese was ok. The wine good. The tiramisu did not appear to have been made on the premises. Had a mass production look and taste to it.
The portions are huge and the price is very reasonable for its location. A table by the window allows you to people watch.
The service was very good. The lady that served me was polite and the meal arrived fast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    38
    16
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willimantic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere unless you need a quick meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The pros: the meals came quickly and the waiter was helpful. The cons: the lasagna was very salty and the seafood gratin was badly overpriced for the low quality seafood (teeny scallops, canned teeny shrimp). We were both so hungry that night from so much walking that we ate our entire meals even though the food was not great. For the price the quality should have been better. It was also very war inside but the patio did not have outdoor lighting for evening service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent (Jeremie). Well above par. Food was hot, fresh and make it to our table quickly. Atmosphere was very nice. The meal was a great value and fair priced.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I don't recommend this restaurant in the least. The only bright spot was our server.

Four of us dined the Saturday evening we went. I tried a little of the 4 meals:
Caesar salad drenched in a commercial dressing - BAD
Linguine Alfredo - tasted off and salty
Spaghetti with meat sauce - salty
Chicken pizza - ZERO flavour and kind of gross as it was also under baked
Lasagna - ok, but very noodly and not much meat

For more than $100 I can honestly say "waste of money".

Find a better place for Italian in Quebec City.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poutine and wings were great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great take out food, value and very close to the Chateau for a little "eat in" meal with the kids. Very trendy cozy atmosphere to get out of the cold.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Italie also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to La Petite Italie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Italie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.