We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the must sees.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aux Anciens Canadiens

Aux Anciens Canadiens
34, rue Saint - Louis., Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P3, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418-692-1627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,171 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $59
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“One of the must sees.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant by accident. We were walking around and starting to think about lunch. I mentioned how quaint the building was and my husband decided to look at the menu out of curiosity. It was then that he noticed the designation of being included in the book of 1000 Places to See Before You Die. So, of course, we had to check it out. We had a minimal wait time to be seated. The dining room is charming and cozy and our lunch was fantastic. The wait staff was very pleasant and friendly. We took the advice of the book and ordered the maple syrup pie for dessert. They are absolutely correct. You must have this before you die. They will even give you a copy of the recipe!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    393
    133
    63
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The experience of dining in this ancient building in this ancient city alone is worth it but the service and food are wonderful, too.
We ate lunch here on a raw October day. We were seated with very little wait at a lovely table for two by the fireplace. The server was very helpful and tolerant of our very minimal (and poor) French, switching without comment and seamlessly to excellent English for us.
We shared the Quebecois platter for two and started with a great pea soup (very different from the split pea we're used to) and had maple syrup pie for dessert. The pie was very much like the pecan pie I'm used to but without, of course, the pecans. The platter was quite interesting and very filling and quite meaty. Not for vegetarians!
All in all a delightful experience in Quebec City!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A wonderful taste of traditional Québécois cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a special dining experience. The warming fire in the ancient dining room, with stone walls, timber beams & hand-carved bas reliefs of traditional scenes, welcomed us from the winter cold outside. The waitress was robust, friendly, highly proficient, and seemed to be enjoying sharing old Quebec with us. The meal included venison & boar pate, traditional pea soup with rosemary, meat pie, country sausage, and maple pie - all with an excellent, good-value Pinot Noir from Niagara, Ontario.

The house, we learned on our walking tour, is the oldest in the city. We thoroughly enjoyed this special place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ambience, Friendly service and great winter fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The service here was so welcoming with staff happy to put up with us trying our best restaurant french despite them being fluent in English as well. They had such patience with all us demanding tourists although, it didn't have an excessively 'touristy' feel.
The venue is warm and welcoming. A low roof in the main dining room and excellent lighting together with a fireplace at one end make it cosy and intimate.
The food was traditional Canadian fare (just like their name suggests) which includes meatballs, meat pies, pea soup, and many traditional game meat dishes. There are a couple of delicious salads as well for those looking for lighter meals. The creme brulee is to die for and the wine list is extensive.
For the price conscious they do a few different set menus but these include plenty of choice and flexibility starting from $29 (pre 15% tax) for entree, main and dessert.
We loved it so much that we went twice in a 5 day stay.
Thank you, Aux Anciens Canadiens!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Hearty food, great wine and a lovely fire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This place lives up to its billing in tour guides. Traditional Québécois food served in an old house in the middle of Haute Ville. The French onion soup was impeccable; the game pie was filling; and the service extraordinary. Go between 12 and 5p to avoid crowds and sample their prix fixe menu. I spent a bit more for better wine (life is too short for bad wine) I highly recommend the maple syrup pie - similar to chess pie. I had it with Calvados and that was dreamy good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Anciens Canadiens also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Aux Anciens Canadiens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aux Anciens Canadiens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.