We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to eat with kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Commensal - CLOSED

Le Commensal
860 rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
418-647-3733
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Lafayette, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat with kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice selection of healthy food that you purchase by weight. Not exceptional but good place to eat with a family that has different options for everyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Families, students & vegetarians welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My partner and I needed a break from the cheese plates, poutine and game meat on most menus in Quebec City. We were both impressed by the selection and freshness at Le Commensal. We filled out plates with salads and some hot dishes--Thai Green Curry, Stirfried Eggplant, Veggie Chili. We paid about $20 after our plates were weighed. The dining area is huge and has a free water station with mineral water. It's bright, lively and seems like a place that would welcome families and students. Lots of options for vegetarians. A quick, convenient and healthy lunch. Would return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Really like the concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Tried this place as we really were looking for something healthy and quick and not too $$$. The food was okay and people there at the checkout were helpful / nice. It's not the best vegatarian dishes I've ever had but fit the need for the moment. There was a dish there that had chicken in it (out of the 10 or so others which were only veggie/soy). They had two different soups which smelled good but we didn't try those. Their desserts were good and I like that I could take just a tiny slice of several different cakes/pies for a taste of several vs. committing to just one :). It's in a good location, easy to find.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good find for vegetarians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's not easy to find restaurants that cater especially to vegetarians, so we were happy to find this buffet style restaurant in Quebec City and Montreal when we toured the area.
They provide a large variety of entréess, vegetables, salads, and desserts. You pay for food by weight which I find an odd way to ascertain value.

Most vegetarians will find something to enjoy here and it was good to see so many imaginative dishes. Most restaurants think that vegetarians will be happy if they sautée some vegetables and put it on your plate. They don't seem to realize that there is such a thing as tofu, soy, protein analogs, that can be prepared in appetizing ways. Overall this a good place for a vegetarian meal. It's a little pricey but hats off to anyone who caters to the needs of vegetarians.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Veggie Anymore- Veg. options contaminated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Recently Le Commensal has introduced meat to it's vegetarian buffet and now call themselves "Flexitarian". The manager Philippe took no action when the vegetarian lasagna serving spoon was placed in the neighbouring meat dish. Strangely, he tried to address it by claiming the meat is prepared separately than the veg. dishes. Yet by taking no action to replace the food or spoon, he is therefore not concerned with meat contaminating the veg. dishes. Meat could be easily hidden in any veg. option. Do not eat here if you are vegetarian! They do not respect vegetarians anymore. They aren't Flexitarian; more like Meatitarian (another made-up word).

First the Quebecois Le Commensal goes meat... Does that mean that next we can expect Cirque du Soleil to bring in the elephants?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Commensal also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Commensal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.