We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Restaurant in a Unique City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chic Shack

Le Chic Shack
15 Rue du Fort, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Formerly Restaurant Gambrinus)
418 692-1485
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,140 restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Fast Food, Ice Cream, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Le Chic Shack is a new gourmet burger/milk shake restaurant opened in June 2012. We also serve poutines, fries and salads. For dessert, we offer milk shakes and ice cream sandwiches. The owners of Le Chic Shack are the sister-brother team of Lucy and Evan Price. They are also owners of the renowned Auberge Saint-Antoine and Panache restaurant in Quebec City. Located in a historic building owned by their family for five decades, Le Chic Shack reflects their culinary and interior design expertise. In creating their new restaurant, Lucy and Evan worked closely with their management team of Antoine Martin and Chef Mikael Garneau, both previously of Panache, The Culinary Edge of San Francisco (California) and their local supplier base.Beyond our tasty recipes, these are some features that make Le Chic Shack stand out:* patties from grass-fed beef* brioche buns made by local artisan baker Eric Borderon* sweet potato fries (along with fries from white potatoes)* uniquely built poutines - from side to main course dishes* milk shakes and ice cream sandwiches made with the ice cream of local artisan Clara Langhi* our own fruit sodas and ice tea* draft beer from the local Archibald brewery* draft wine selected by the sommelier of the Panache restaurant* the dynamism and energy of an open kitchen* a relaxed dining environment with tremendous views of the Chateau Frontenac through large French windowsLe Chic Shack is located on the Place d'Armes in the Vieux-Quebec (Old Quebec), facing the Chateau Frontenac and below the Musee du Fort.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Unique Restaurant in a Unique City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Le Chic Shack is a great value in a great location. Located in the center of the city in an older building, it is located perfectly for stopping in for lunch.

We were seated and they brought menus to us. To order, you simply walk up to the counter, tell them your table number and place your order (European pub style). Water was self-serve at a beer style tap on the side (crushed ice was readily available). The burger was smaller than normal but tasted great. The poutine was as expected and their homemade soda (raspberry) was excellent. Will stop in again if I am in Quebec City.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    150
    98
    24
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just a great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The poutine was excellant, made more with potatoe chunks than french fries. My son loved the soup, complemented the chef, the chef gave him the recipe. The burgers are very tasty and have great toppings, we will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was in Quebec only 5 days but I couldn't resist to go there twice.
Burgers are fantastic and the customer service is great. A bit expensive but highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A new twist on Poutine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stopped at this restaurant during our walking food tour and came back again for lunch. The Poutines here are to die for! We had La Classique and La Forestiere (wild mushroom ragout, Parmesan cheese curds, shallots and fresh herbs). Leave your calorie counter at the door and just enjoy this quintessential local dish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our burgers and shakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice restaurant right by the Chateau Frontenac. We ate there by the window table people watching while eating our gourmet burgers. Tasty and good value overall.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chic Shack also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Chic Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chic Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.