We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Poutine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chic Shack

Le Chic Shack
15 Rue du Fort, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Formerly Restaurant Gambrinus)
418 692-1485
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 1,171 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Fast Food, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Le Chic Shack is a new gourmet burger/milk shake restaurant opened in June 2012. We also serve poutines, fries and salads. For dessert, we offer milk shakes and ice cream sandwiches. The owners of Le Chic Shack are the sister-brother team of Lucy and Evan Price. They are also owners of the renowned Auberge Saint-Antoine and Panache restaurant in Quebec City. Located in a historic building owned by their family for five decades, Le Chic Shack reflects their culinary and interior design expertise. In creating their new restaurant, Lucy and Evan worked closely with their management team of Antoine Martin and Chef Mikael Garneau, both previously of Panache, The Culinary Edge of San Francisco (California) and their local supplier base.Beyond our tasty recipes, these are some features that make Le Chic Shack stand out:* patties from grass-fed beef* brioche buns made by local artisan baker Eric Borderon* sweet potato fries (along with fries from white potatoes)* uniquely built poutines - from side to main course dishes* milk shakes and ice cream sandwiches made with the ice cream of local artisan Clara Langhi* our own fruit sodas and ice tea* draft beer from the local Archibald brewery* draft wine selected by the sommelier of the Panache restaurant* the dynamism and energy of an open kitchen* a relaxed dining environment with tremendous views of the Chateau Frontenac through large French windowsLe Chic Shack is located on the Place d'Armes in the Vieux-Quebec (Old Quebec), facing the Chateau Frontenac and below the Musee du Fort.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Poutine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stumbled upon this casual dining place 1 block from Le Chateau Frontenac next to the Musee du Fort. Shared a regular poutine and a bacon burger. Washed them down with a couple of dark chocolate shakes. The poutine is not your ordinary french fries, but rather big chunks of fried potatoes swimming in their delicious gravy. No shortage of cheese curds on top. The burger was delicious, big and sloppy and we loved every mouthful. The shakes are thick and rich and are served in mason jars. It was another wonderful dining adventure in this beautiful city.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    163
    39
    19
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pictou, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What A Veggie Burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

After reading other reviews on tripadvisor, Le Chic Shack was high on the hit list for dining and boy are we glad we did. I had the veggie burger and small poutine and my wife had a veggie burger and a salad. This was my first poutine in Quebec and its going to be hard to top this one. The salad was fantastic and a great value. The veggie burger was delicious, albeit a bit messy. A great experience. So many restaurants in Quebec but we will be going back for seconds.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great burgers, fries and shakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

For those familiar with NYC's Shake Shack, this is Quebec City's outstanding version. Delicious burgers, fries (sweet potato, regular or regular with truffle salt!), and poutine (at least four different kinds). Everything was a notch or two above a typical burger and fries joint (for instance, the burger buns are made by a legenday local bakery and the poutine uses a kind of smashed, fried potato skin instead of french fries). Homemade sodas that taste of the actual ingredient and not of pure sugar. Save room for wonderful shakes and home made ice cream sandwiches. We almost ordered one of everything on the menu as every itme looked excellent and carefully thought out. Fun, hip decor. Super-quick service so great choice if dining with kids. Also excellent for vegetarians -- homemade, great tasting veggie burger that was hearty and tasted like vegetables not fake meat; the poutine gravy is vegetarian and one of the poutines includes a mushroom ragout.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing Poutine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The poutine is not your average poutine, but don't be scared off. It is amazing. We had the one with Red wine reduction and chicken and it was to die for. Burgers are good. Very casual and a good lunch spot. Would be great for families as well. Nice view of Frontenac from our seats. Fun spot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“poutaine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great food and fun staff, but watch the opening hours as they seem a bit random ! Near the wonderful Chateau frontenac !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanBP, Owner at Le Chic Shack, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Opening hours from November to March (inclusive) are: Sun to Wed - 11:30 am to 3:00 pm / Thur to Sat - 11:30 am to 9:00 pm.

Opening hours from April to October are 11:30 am to 9:00 pm daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chic Shack also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Chic Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chic Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.