We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ribs in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cochon Dingue

Cochon Dingue
46 boul. Champlain, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4H5, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418-692-2013
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 1,202 Restaurants in Quebec City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Manalapan, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best ribs in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We discovered Le Cochon Dingue many years ago on our first trip to Quebec City and have been loyal fans ever since. If we in Quebec for 5 days - 3 dinners would be at Le Cochon Dingue. Not that we need to have ribs every other day, but we want to eat there as much as we can until the next time. And mind you Quebec has a lot of good restaurants, but if you didn't visit this one - consider you didn't visit Quebec. It's casual, kids friendly, great for guys "get together", etc. Reservations are recommended and could be done by calling restaurant directly or through Bookenda.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    181
    62
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I'll Come Back When Pigs Fly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is somewhat of a tourist trap. Trust me, it's not to the level of all the ratings you've read. There are thousands of better, more charming and romantic places in the Old City. The exterior is misleading, as you get a false sense that you'll walk into an old Parisian bistro, not! I felt like I was at an upscale fast food restaurant. There's not much special about this place. Oh, they have blue and white table clothes, wow!! Oh, they have a large varied menu, who cares. Maybe I should have gone for breakfast, but then again, how can you go wrong with breakfast. I must admit the ribs were very good, however the less than fresh so called ceasars salad that accompanied the ribs convinced me never to come back to this place. This wonderful city has so much more to offer. Totally overrated. Call this place average at best. It's in a charming part of the city, walk by the restaurant and keep walking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quebec visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The large menu offered variety - we debated ordering fondue of local cheeses, but decided to try the bouillabaisse - and were we delighted. The rich broth was filled with small tasty scallops, shrimp, fish, mussels, etc. All local, very tender and tasty. The portions were generous. And we had a view of the street. The staff was friendly, spoke English, and took very good care of us.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Coffee is excellent, service is good and love the desserts! French atmosphere at an affordable price.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Friendly ambiance and fabulous desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The sugar pie is amazing, worth visiting the restaurant for. The food was very good too. The egg white omelette meal was great, as was the creton, and apple butter de la maison.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cochon Dingue also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Cochon Dingue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cochon Dingue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.