We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auberge Le Vincent -- An Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Vincent

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Vincent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Vincent
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   295, rue Saint-Vallier Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3P5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Montreal
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Auberge Le Vincent -- An Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

A very modern, very well thought out design with a great deal of attention to detail. The room we had (#4) was spacious and comfortable. The shower is luxurious, the towels nice and thick (though bath sheets would be nicer) and the bathrobes were a nice plus. The bedding was top-notch. Some folks have complained about the noise in the past, but Claude has solved this problem by very aesthetically doubling the windows. The lighting in the room is romantic, but a bit low if you want to read a lot. Having a refrigerator in the room is a real advantage for a bottle of wine, cold drinks etc. There are only two drawers in the room so if you are traveling for a long time, you will have to live out of your suitcase, except for what you can hang in the closet.

Claude is a wealth of information about restaurants or anything else you might want to know about the area. The parking is convenient and reasonably priced for the area. The breakfast is excellent with a wide choice and lots of fresh fruits.

Make sure you look at the artwork in the auberge, all of which was commissioned by Claude from a local group of artisans.

The auberge is located in St-Roch, which is an area that is starting to become a very popular neighborhood. St-Joseph street, nearby, has several nice boutiques and a great toy store. More will surely arrive in the near future. There are also a number of restaurants (not touristy) on St-Joseph and nearby streets. Claude can recommend a number of others. It's a bit of a walk to the old town, but definitely doable for most people. Otherwise, you can take your car or the bus.

We definitely enjoyed our stay in this auberge even though we have always stayed in the old city before. I'm sure we will return for future visits.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    64
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
357
19
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We stayed at this hotel based on reviews at Trip Advisor - and were not disappointed. We loved everything about this hotel - the location, the breakfast, the room, the wonderful service -and restaurant recommendations.

For anyone looking to stay just outside of old Quebec -this is the place to stay. It is next door to two wonderful neighbourhoods - Saint Roch and Faubourg St Jean Baptiste - where you can have a "5a7" drink on a terrasse with the locals and have fabulous meal after a day of touring Old Quebec (recommended restaurants by our hosts were amazing!)

The breakfast was fabulous! The room was not huge - but it was clean and chic!

We arrived, parked our car for 3 days and explored - it was really fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Auberge for vacation from Feb. 25 to Mar. 1. We booked based on Trip Advisor reviews and they couldn't have been more correct. We stayed in Room 10 which overlooked a quiet street. Annie at reception was an invaluable resource in making the most of our short time in the city. The restaurant recommendations made by all the staff were right on and everything we did in town was a blast. We went dogsledding and visited the Ice Hotel. This was definitely one of our favorite trips and this hotel only added to the experience. Thanks to Claude and all the staff for making it such a wonderful trip. Claude even booked a couple's massage for us at a nearby spa that was fantastic. Eat at Charbon Steakhouse if you get a chance. Also, the dessert sushi at Yuzu was a real treat. Can't say enough good about our visit, not only to the Auberge, but Quebec City as well.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights on vacation. We highly recommend it. It's a lovely walk into the upper town, and only a few blocks from great restaurants like Le Cafe du Clocher Penche and Yuzu in the St-Roch neighborhood. Our room was large, quiet, and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Merci merci merci to Claude the owner and his excellent staff Annie and Danny.

We booked the Auberge Le Vincent because of the excellent TripAdvisor rating and the previous glowing reviews and were not disappointed. We booked Room 4 (the corner room on the second floor), with the day bed/sofa and I think we got the pick of the rooms (Claude showed us around the other rooms). He designed the place himself and he clearly put a lot of thought into the layout and the decor.

Breakfast was a choice of French Toast, Crepes, Omelets, Bagels etc etc. We took the recommendations from Claude and Danny for places to eat and drink and all were good. In particular the Piazzetta up on the Rue St Jean with the Duck Confit Pizza was superb.

The Auberge Le Vincent is definitely for someone who wants to experience some real Quebec hospitality. It is not in the old town but if you're happy walking through some wonderful quirky streets you can get there in 15-20 mins, although this could easily be lengthened with a stop in at the Pub St-Alexander if you like supping great beer by the fire :-)

  • Liked — friendliness of the staff and boutique feel
  • Disliked — no bath
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

My partner and I spent a perfect week at Auberge Le Vincent for Christmas '08.

I have nothing but good things to say. Claude, the proprietor, was extremely helpful and friendly. He was always available to answer any questions we had, and was right on point with restaurant recommendations and other helpful tips. The same goes for the rest of the staff. Danny, Annie 1 and Annie 2 were all extremely helpful and charming.

The breakfasts each morning (included in your price) were fantastic and cooked to order. Absolutely delicious.

The hotel itself is beautiful. The lobby is tranquil and cozy. The rooms are spotless, gorgeously decorated, with generous lighting options, high quality bedding, and the most amazing shower I've ever had the pleasure of stepping into.

Quebec City is a beautiful, friendly city and like something out of a fairytale. It was perfect for a Christmas vacation.

Would love to go back to Quebec City in the summertime and without a doubt would book again at Auberge Le Vincent.

Thanks again for a great week and an incredible holiday!

  • Liked — Service and Accommodation
  • Disliked — I wish we could have stayed longer!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We decided at the last minute to drive to Quebec for Christmas. We contacted Claude Langevin, the owner, on the 23rd and when we arrived later that day he had arranged reservations for dinner at outstanding restaurants for both Christmas Eve and Christmas.
Our room was very nice and the staff was very helpful. Claude went out his way to make us feel welcome including getting us the newspaper two mornings (not a service offered) after we mentioned we enjoyed reading the paper at breakfast.
It was our anniversary and one of my children called and spoke to Claude and he went out and got fresh flowers and wine that were tastfully arranged in our room when we returned.
The small staff was attentive and helpful.
I would highly recommend L'Auberge de Vincent.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vincent

Address: 295, rue Saint-Vallier Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Vincent 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Le Vincent urban inn is a 4 Star Hotel where historic style and contemporary design are in perfect harmony. Located in the center town of Quebec City’s, Auberge Le Vincent is your gateway to the Old Capital. Here you will find easy access to all attractions and services. Old Quebec, museums, Parliament, train station, bus, are all just steps away from the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Vincent Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Le Vincent Quebec City
Hotel Le Vincent Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Vincent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.