We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just can't get better than this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Vincent

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Vincent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Vincent
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   295, rue Saint-Vallier Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3P5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just can't get better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at this lovely hotel in a most interesting part of Quebec City filled with great restaurants and interesting people.
The hotel accommodation, staff and delicious breakfast was unbeatable and much better than we have had at a 5 star hotel in the old town.
The location is superb for those who like a little walk to explore the city.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your great comments!

St-Roch is indeed a very nice district, newly revitalized, with a large choice of good tables and boutiques. All at 5 minutes of walk from Le Vincent! Exploring this lovely neighborhood gives your Quebec city's experience a bonus point. And for all the walking between the low and high town... Well, it "allows" you to try all the pubs, cafés, microbreweries and bakeries on your way, including the Chocolate Museum... As simple as that!

We hope to see you soon,

Justine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    64
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
357
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at Auberge Le Vincent in August for 2 nights. It was our first visit to Quebec city and experience was great:
1. Great location - easy walk to the old city for our 6 years old son, a lot of nice restaurants and shopping in close proximity to the hotel
2. Easy check in, very friendly staff, a very nice room, great breakfast
3. We used the underground parking service offered by the hotel - were very happy to leave the car and explore the city, went for a river cruise and did 3 times in a row the city double decker bus tour (turned out the route was slightly different and was a perfect way to get a guided tour of Quebec within a day)
4. When we left and drove back home, it turned out we forgot some clothes in the room - many thanks to the manager who called us and arranged for our items to be sent to our home address.
Overall we loved our stay, the city and the hotel and will definitely be returning and recommending the Auberge to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your good comments!

For a lot of particular situations or in the case that you forgot something, we always try to do our best. So don't hesitate, and ask one of us!

At 15$ a day, our indoor parking is the best solution for our guests who arrive by car, especially with the incoming winter since it is heated, and 100% safe. Just accross the Hotel's backdoor on Arago Street, the parking is accessible with a remote control. Included in the set price, we offer you the valet service to park and get your car, and to carry your luggages.

We hope to see you soon,

Justine
Frontdesk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The staff was very helpful with recommending restaurants, calling a cab, etc. Our room was nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed and nice linens. We made full use of the free DVD selection, watching a movie in our room each nice.There is no elevator, but the staff will help you with your bags to either the 2nd floor or 3rd floor rooms. The room was very quiet, we slept very well.

The breakfast was delicious with wonderful hot chocolate as one of the drink choices. It's a long walk to the old town area. We're both very fit, but not used to all the hills, so we took cabs back and forth - $10 cab rides to the old city area. Though on the last day, we did discover a north route to the old city over a flat area. Worth checking that out if you don't want to walk up and down the hills to the old city.

A wonderful B&B in a quiet neighborhood, with gracious staff and nice service. Just be prepared to take cabs or walk to the old city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your good comments!

Québec is a pretty hilly city, and that makes the beauty of it. Following Saint-Vallier East and Saint-Paul streets to get to the old town is a really good idea, and then discovering the Petit Champlain district, and finally taking the stairs to go up uptown, bellow the Chateau Frontenac. If walking the hills are not an option for you, here at the Hotel, we can surely call you a cab, but we can also guide you to the closest bus station that will take you, for 3$/person, at the gates of the old town, or at Sainte Foy to go visit the Aquarium and to get to the three shopping malls. For the fancy ones, a horse carriage is a quite romantic option to spare your legs...

We hope to see you soon at Le Vincent,

Justine
Frontdesk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay. The morning breakfast that was included was very good and exceeded expectations. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They suggested great restaurants and made our dinner reservations. Our room was uniquely and nicely decorated with fine amenities, including a refrigerator. It appeared there was a new rubber mat placed on the stairs leading to the rooms which had that rubber smell which will eventually dissipate. Two big benefits to staying in this neighborhood was seeing another part of Quebec and also the two outstanding restaurants we ate in that were recommended by the hotel. The one downside is it is a hike to the old town. Up 95 stairs and then about 4 blocks at a 30% grade before heading on flat to downhill toward the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for the good comments! We are glad that you enjoyed our room, service and breakfasts. The first days of our new rubber mat were indeed smelly. It's never too early to prepare for the winter! And I assure you that the rubber smell was gone later that same week. So sorry for the inconvenience.

Le Vincent is indeed located in Saint-Roch district, in the lower town. We feel lucky to be here since so many excellent restaurants are around the corner or even on the same street. It really gives our guests the "Saint-Roch experience", which is the newly revitalized district of Québec city - for not saying the "in" neighborhood. Also, when staying at Le Vincent, you are on the same height as the Farmer's market, the port (and the ferry that crosses the St-Lawrence river), the bus and train central station (Gare du Palais), and St-Joseph street, known for its numerous shopping boutiques.

Now, the walled old city is uptown. Next to our hotel, you have either the Faubourg elevator or stairs (98 of them to be precise!) that brings you on Saint-Réal street, and then you have six residential streets to walk in Saint-Jean-Baptiste district, on the brand new Saint-Claire street. Then you hit St-Jean street that will lead you to the old town. From Le Vincent to St-Jean Street, it is exactly 450 meters, excluding the stairs or the elevator ride. The facts are that Québec is a hilly city... Which makes its beauty - an amazing view from the Chateau Frontenac and the Terrasse Dufferin - and its History - the Battle Fields. A whole touristic circuit is even built on all the city's stairways (the oldest, the youngest, the longest, the shortest, the prettiest...), as well as some city stair contests.

We like to tell our guests that walking that hill will "allow" them to taste all of the fantastic restaurants, cafés, bars, pastries, bakeries and bistros that Québec city is known for! Let's not forget that Québec has an excellent bus network and for 3$ per person, a bus passing in front of the hotel will drop you directly in the old town and further, in Sainte-Foy (to get to the Aquarium and three shopping malls).

Thank you for staying at Le Vincent, and we hope to see you soon!

Justine
Frontdesk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I cannot even begin to express the complete joy we had staying at Le Vincent! Our main floor room with personal direct access to the street, was a creatively furnished blend of old world and new; complete comfort and AMAZING shower.
Breakfast was such a delight to wake up to, such wonderful choices and the fresh orange juice was so pretty with the strawberry on the side of the glass. |we tried almost everything on the menu between the three of us and were delighted and full each time. We had no need of more than a small snack before dinner!
Staff are simply extraordinary! Merci in particular to Janine (she should get a raise!) who made us espresso whenever we requested it, contacted restaurants for us and personalized our maps for the places we wanted to see. Each and every staff make you feel like family, not something you would find many places.
We had already reserved to stay at Loews Concorde for the convention we were attending, but would have gladly remained at Le Vincent if we had known how incredibly wonderful our experience there would be.
Ambience, excellent room rates, fabulous food and a feeling of being one of the family simply cannot be beat!

Room Tip: Ground floor room with two queen beds and street access was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you, thank you! It has been a real pleasure having you three around. We really wished you had stay with us all week... Next time you have a convention in Québec city, please do! The distance to go to the Concorde will stay be walkable in the morning (1200 meters uphill, count about 15 minutes), especially with a good breakfast in the stomach! Our room #1 was surely the best for you, with two queen beds, private water room and its private outside door directly on Saint-Vallier's street. Recommanding restaurants, taking care of reservations, drawing details on maps... It really is the least we can do... And we enjoy it!

We hope to see you soon,

Justine-Janine !
Frontdesk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I mean it really doesn't get better than this for a family run hotel.

The bedrooms are so creatively furnished, extremely clean, very comfortable, quiet, warm colors....I can go on and on...

No it doesn't offer breakfast in bed, but trust me when I say the breakfast they offer is so delicious and simple (just like home made) that it makes it worth it to get out of your room! We stayed there for 6 nights and tried almost everything on the menu, not one breakfast was disappointing.

The staff is just incredibly friendly that you almost feel like you're staying at very close relative's residence! I mean really I don't see that much elsewhere these days! Let's just say they surprised me with their kindness (although not so much since I already read the reviews about them :p).

Let me it this way, Auberge Le Vincent is one of the main reasons we loved our trip to Quebec, point finale (enough said).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for those amazing comments!

Choosing Québec city as a newly wed destination is already a win-win situation... Québec city... The romantic Québec city! Just imagine yourself on horse cart on the macadam streets, contemplating the view of the illuminated Chateau Frontenac at night from the Québec-Lévis ferry, walking in the snowy and decorated streets of the Petit Champlain district, eating a perfect butter croissant and a huge bowl of latté at some french bakery on Saint-Jean street...

And at Le Vincent, we especially love having honey moon couples. They are so easy to spoil! Starting with a big and delicious breakfast made of fresh products by one of our cooks, our guests surely have enough energy to go discover the old city!

... What about coming next year for your first year anniversary?!

Justine
Frontdesk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a real gem of a hotel with well furnished rooms and as most contributors have noted, service over and above the call of duty.

Ideally located near to the old town and easy walk to train station and bus depot.

A 3 night stay......just perfect

Room Tip: The rooms that are on the corner (flat iron shaped building) give most light and seem a lot larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour vos bons mots!

Nous sommes en effet situés à quelques minutes de marche de la station centrale de bus et de train de Québec, la Gare du Palais... Quoi de mieux pour nos visiteurs arrivant sur un des quotidiens trains Montréal-Québec?

. . .

We are indeed located few minutes of walking away from the train and bus Québec's central station, the Gare du Palais... Nothing better for our guests arriving on one of the daily Montréal-Québec train!

Au plaisir de vous revoir au Le Vincent lors de votre prochain séjour à Québec,

Justine
Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vincent

Address: 295, rue Saint-Vallier Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Vincent 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Le Vincent urban inn is a 4 Star Hotel where historic style and contemporary design are in perfect harmony. Located in the center town of Quebec City’s, Auberge Le Vincent is your gateway to the Old Capital. Here you will find easy access to all attractions and services. Old Quebec, museums, Parliament, train station, bus, are all just steps away from the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Vincent Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Le Vincent Quebec City
Hotel Le Vincent Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Vincent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.