We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem Outside the Medieval Walls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Vincent

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Vincent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Vincent
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   295, rue Saint-Vallier Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3P5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Gem Outside the Medieval Walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Previously I stayed at a landmark Quebec City hotel but experienced numerous disappointments. The second time around I opted for this boutique Auberge Hotel and reveled in the charm and genuine hospitality; clean, quiet, and includes a wondrous breakfast. The staff (Kathleen and Diego) were more than accommodating, offering suggestions of "things to do" that were not to be found in a typical tourist guidebook. The Old Town is in walking distance but I found the location of this hotel offered a "local" flavor that avoided the touristy trappings. No question, I loved my stay and will return again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    65
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
365
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Az, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We arrived at the hotel around midnight. The desk person was awaiting our arrival, and actually went out and helped us get our luggage out of the cab. Checkin was speedy, and information was given about the fabulous famous included breakfast. We loved the hotel, as it was charming, clean, and comfortable. We booked a room on the 3rd floor, and that was our only regret. We had to walk up three flights of steep stairs when we were so tired we could hardly stand, after flying all day on a long (two stopovers) flight from Phoenix. This was the only problem we encountered. If we stayed again, we would never stay on the top floor. The stairs were very steep, and it was just too much every time we went in and out of the hotel. The breakfast is the best we have had anywhere. Amazing service, and Perfectly divine menu. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is, however, out of the way of the city, with about a 30 minute walk. Some people say 15 minutes, but it is really much longer, unless you want to climb a couple hills. The visit to Quebec was beyond our expectations. The hotel was very nice.

Room Tip: We would never stay on the third floor again, as there is no elevator, and the stairs are extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeLeVincent, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We would like to thank you and express, once more, how important your comments are to us; they help us improve our standards and remain as one of the best hotels in Québec! Nevertheless, we would like to make some remarks about some of your comments which may be a little misleading. Indeed, the stairs are steep, but we would like to point out that we carry all your luggage upstairs (or downstairs) for you if you need it or ask for it. We don’t really offer a great view, as we are at downtown Québec City, but we find that all the other perks about our location make the balance break even. We are, for example, within less than a 10-minute walk from more than 15 different restaurants;just to cite some of them; the small, but highly appreciate, French bistrot ‘Le Clocher Penché’ is 5 minutes away, as it is the trendy ‘Le Cercle’ with its international cuisine. Mediterranean cuisine, from ‘Largo Resto-Club’, or different Asian cuisines are also 5 to 10 minutes away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The "auberge" is a small but cosy, clean and welcoming, quiet and comfortable hotel.
The number of room is limited and there is no true restaurant, but they serve a nice home-made breakfast and there are a good number of good restaurants at walking distance

The hotel is not on the top of Quebec hill, but also at a walking distance.
The staff is kind and caring.
We had a very pleasant stay.
I may go back there if I return to Quebec !

Room Tip: do not hesitate to take the upper class rooms, if you can, they are really nice. I had the opportun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we made a last minute decision to get away to Quebec City for a couple of nights; he planned to ski at Mont Ste Anne as I had been sidelined by an injury and was In a leg brace, we needed a spot that was close to all of the sites and could accommodate my limited mobility. We chose the auberge based upon other Tripadvisor reviews and we were very happy with our decision. The terrific service starred from our first contact with the hotel. when I called to book, I explained that I could walk but was using a cane; the attendant at the front desk (Diego) suggested room 5 on the second floor (it is ground floor out the back door of the hotel) and suggested that if I found the flight of stairs from the lobby level too challenging, he would change us to room 1 on the lobby level when we arrived.

We found ourselves running late after driving though a bad storm enroute to Quebec City; when we called, Diego assured us that he would wait for us to arrive as we would not make the 10pm late arrival time when the lobby would close. Diego greeted us at the door at 10:15 i the rain, showed us to the parking and helped us with our bags. We were able to enter our room from the back entrance with only 2 steps. The room was quite large, had 2 big windows, a nice king size bed and a lovely washroom with a v large shower with a the choice of a rain shower wad or a hand held shower head, which once again worked well for me.

I had been fearful of the stairs as reported by other reviews, they were indeed a bit steep, but carpeted and there was a railing on each side so I felt quite comfortable.

Breakfast in the lobby (included in the price of our room) was a great treat each morning; the first morning we had the eggs and on our second day we had the omelette. Each dish was accompanied by delicious home fries, homemade preserves and a lovely fruit plate. We also enjoyed the freshly brewed espresso/cappuccinos. The staff helped us cheerfully and efficiently with numerous requests including ice for my therapeutic ice packs,calls for taxis, and they helped with my luggage on the last day.

The room was indeed warm and sound proof as other reviewers have mentioned; there was a family with an infant staying on the same level as us but we never heard them. We noticed and appreciated the bed side reading lights and the v good wifi signal in our room.

A note regarding the location of the hotel: we thought that the hotel would be closer to old Quebec; it was indeed only a few minutes' walk to the elevator up to old city but due to my mobility issues I found that I relied on cabs. we would certainly recommend this charming auberge to others.

Room Tip: We chose to call the front desk for help choosing a room; the rooms are well-represented on the webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Felt compelled to write a review of Le Vincent.

It's a really cool property with a relaxed but upscale vibe. The room was great, the location was perfect, and the staff were excellent.

I'd highly recommend this little spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We liked this hotel very much: nice rooms, very nice windows (good for insulation in the winter), amazing coffee machine in the bedrooms (coffee was very tasty) and very generous and harty breakfast.
The hotel is slightly off centered geographically as it is at the bottom of a hill. But the city installed an elevator.

the staff is VERY friendly and helpful<

I would go there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The service was incredible. They helped us with other luggage, gave us great restaurant recommendations, arranged taxi transportion for us, even made us a special early morning breakfast before our flight home. We will highly recommend to our friends and we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vincent

Address: 295, rue Saint-Vallier Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Vincent 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Le Vincent urban inn is a 4 Star Hotel where historic style and contemporary design are in perfect harmony. Located in the center town of Quebec City’s, Auberge Le Vincent is your gateway to the Old Capital. Here you will find easy access to all attractions and services. Old Quebec, museums, Parliament, train station, bus, are all just steps away from the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Vincent Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Le Vincent Quebec City
Hotel Le Vincent Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Vincent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.