We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hosts, the building the location.... perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Hubert, B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chez Hubert, B&B to your Saves list
Chez Hubert, B&B
66 St-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 124 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The hosts, the building the location.... perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My mother and I stayed here for 3 nights in May, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Though the street can be noisy till around 9, after that it is perfectly quiet.
The house itself is beautiful, our room was on the third floor. We had our own, newly renovated bathroom with a glass door, glass shower, and skylight. The whole room felt spacious and airy.
Marjorie is wonderful, a Quebec native full of funny stories and advice (in both French and English).
The only thing was that we found the mattresses to be very firm and a little uncomfortable as we are used to plush. A kettle would have been nice, but the common room does provide a fridge and a refrigerator.

Room Tip: Let them know beforehand of any food allergies. There is a cat so something to note if you are aller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    30
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
80
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I were supposed to stay at chez hubert last week, but because of water damage, the owners moved us to chez marie claire, two doors down. It was an upgrade to the family suite. Ellen and her sister Claire from France took care of us. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and the girls were extremely helpful. Location is near the top of ST Ursule which is close to everything. Put on your walking shoes and enjoy this absoluletly beautiful city!!! Be sure to bring cash as they dont accept credit at the bandb! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights with Marjorie in mid-October (pretty much the last three days before Winter struck) and had a wonderful time. It doesn't feel like you've booked a place to stay, but rather a friend has an Aunt that lives in Quebec City, and she'll let you stay in one of her rooms if you throw her some money towards food and electricity. You're not guests, but more a part of her extended family.

We had a room on the third floor with a shared bathroom and it was exactly all that was needed. If you fear sharing a bathroom with the others, I have to say that there wasn't a single time during the 72 hours or so that I went to use the bathroom and someone was using it. It was also incredibly clean! The bedroom had a sink so that was convenient. Space was ample and the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was fantastic! Marjorie mixed it up every morning and there were always staples like fruit, cheese, pastries and spreads. All of the other guests that we met during breakfast mainly spoke French, but Marjorie would go out of her way to make sure we all knew a little about each other.

The location is great in that it is inside the walls, but it is also very close to the walls, so you can venture out without much effort (or climbing). Don't feel like you need to stay within the walls the whole time. We found a fantastic bar just outside the walls that became our go-to place for nighttime entertainment.

Also, note that the second floor has a spacious living room area. I used it one night to watch sports and had some beers in the mini-fridge a few feet away. It seemed abandoned most of the time, but it could be a nice place for a night in.

Parking comes free with your stay so it was nice to just tuck it away and not worry about it. If you plan on getting the car every day (don't do this unless you're actually traveling far), some cars might need to be shuffled, but it's not a huge ordeal.

All in all, this is a FANTASTIC VALUE for Quebec City. We had a great time and will gladly return in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balasore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The family that owns and operates this B&B was wonderful and the building was beautiful in an old Brownstone mansion sort of way. Definitely worth a stay. The breakfast served was very nice. Make sure when staying here you explore all the side streets of the Old City because there are a lot on the main strip that are tourist traps.

Room Tip: There are rooms with communal and private WC, just make sure its what you want first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights at this adorable B&B just inside the walls of Vieux Québec. The location was perfect for [walking] adventures inside or outside the walls, and included an off-street parking spot. The room was comfortable and warm in very cold weather (mid January with temps around -15℃ during the day), and Marjorie and Pascal were extremely accommodating! We shared a bathroom, but with no waiting or inconvenience, and the room included a private sink which was helpful. Breakfast was varied and well done: eggs, crêpes, and French toast, with a variety of fruit, pastries, cereal, and jams/spreads available. Wifi was available and there was a living room with games, videos, and books (looked like it would be great for kids!). There were a couple of sweet cats who lived there too, though only one made its appearance - Mimi. Definitely not bothersome, but once you made her acquaintance, she was very friendly - again, probably great with kids, or certainly with pet-lovers.

Marjorie and Pascal were very caring and went out of their way to make us feel at home (including moving our car inside the garage before bad weather hit, and keeping an eye on expectant weather during our departure day). This delightful space comes highly recommended for an affordable, homey, pleasant stay in Québec City!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a wonderful little B&B. We stayed three nights, 9/29-10/2/13. Really loved the place. We had a room with two beds, bathroom, and a little balcony, very clean and comfortable, with everything we needed. The location is perfect - we walked everywhere. The breakfasts were delicious, with different main course every day and a great selection of fruit, colds cuts, cheese, jams and spreads. The owner Marjorie is a great host, and enjoying her company and her sense of humor every morning at breakfast added a lot to our Quebec experience.

Room Tip: Our room had a bathrooms, but some rooms share a common bathroom, so make inquiries when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in December. A family of 5, three kids from 7-11. We stayed in a room with two double beds and a provided futon on the floor. Big room, big clean bathroom, great shower (no tub) and a common living room was 6 ft across the hall with a couch, a few chairs, a small fridge and a tv / DVD player. Wifi was very good, could even stream Video. Owners were nice and helpful, helpful with luggage. Free parking provided. Outstanding breakfast, breads, fruit; and each day we had something different like eggs and bacon, French toast or crepes. Great location to all things in old QC. Cannot recommend high enough.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Hubert, B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Hubert, B&B

Address: 66 St-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Hubert, B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Hubert Hotel Quebec City
Chez Hubert, Bed And Breakfast
Chez Hubert, B&B Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Hubert, B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.