We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel off the busy Motorway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec to your Saves list
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 rue Marais, Quebec City, Quebec G1M3R1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
“Motel off the busy Motorway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked this because of the other great reviews, we have just arrived and have not been disapointed. The staff are very friendly the Hotel is clean and in the reception you can help yourself all day to Hot and Cold drinks free. We have been traveling for a week now by car and have a bag of washing. The washer and dryer is FREE and although on my way in I bought some detergent that is also free, can you believe it. The room is very big and the bed even bigger. Please don`t be put off by the surroundings you can walk out to eat even though it appears we are on an industrial estate. Great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We want to thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay and that the free washer and dryer was useful to you.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    113
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
168
120
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after driving the beautiful Gaspe Penninsula. We booked a room with a Jacuzzi tub and were very happy with our room. The room was very large, with bedroom and separate living room. TV in both rooms. Bathroom was very big as well. The tub is called 'double' Jacuzzi but I'm sure we could have fit 4 people in it! Big stand up shower and double sinks. Everything we could have asked for and more - microwave, fridge, sink, ironing board and iron, computer with wireless internet, etc. And everything was spotless. Buffett breakfast was adequate (waffles, pancakes, bagels, bread, cereals, boiled eggs, beans, and lots of condiments to choose from) and it was a nice touch to have juice, tea, coffee, etc available at all times in the lobby for free. Staff at the front desk were very helpful and spoke English well so gave us great advice for our day trip into Old Quebec. Would highly recommend this place if you don't need to stay right in the city. It cost us $17 via taxi into Old Quebec. We were very happy to park our car at the hotel upon arrival for free and not have to drive in unknown territory (plus be able to have some drinks at the many pubs in Old Quebec).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your great comments with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked for free 2 weeks parking and cruiseport shuttle. Loved hardwood floors, computer in room, walk in shower, and great breakfast. Very clean and staff very helpful and pleasant. If this is a chain come to the USA!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest

We are verry happy that you took time to give us your comments and suggestions. In order to offer the best possible service to our guest we enjoy getting feedback from you. This is why we would like to thank you for taking a minute of your time to write a review and to give us your great comments regarding our free healthy breakfast buffet and the stay and fly package including free parking for the week.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had two rooms booked and both of them them were of excellent quality - everything was spec and span. Once inside the floor you will not be able to see any difference between a a high quality hotel and Le Dauphin. The staff were very helpful with all our request. The breakfast very good spread. We drove to downtown area during the morning and and evening around 8 times and the average time it took was around 12 minutes. Lots of food choice available around the property for a quick bite. Great for a family stay... One item that was not up to the standard would be WiFi in room 312 and 314... it was augmented by the free computer in the room. The price it was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We want to thank you to post your comment on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our customer service and our updated rooms. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Being next to the highway at first we thought it would be noisy. But we got a room on the other side and passed quite a nice sejour. Also, the free shuttle to downtown was very convenient. Staff of the hotel was really helpful. Very good place to go!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnadeau, Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As it was our fist time in Quebec city, we did not know anything about the city. First we found the location slightly annoying as it in between 2 busy roads.
Once at the reception, we enjoyed the natural and polite attitude of the Canadian : very helpful staff, very professional and always ready to help.
Rooms are just big enough for a family of 4 and are very quiet.
Breakfast is just fine but with limited choice
In their web site, they show a swimming pool : in fact the pool is very small and not too space around to rest.
A nice hotel for families and for a few days but avoid the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Try to have a room on the top : it is certainly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We want to thank you to add your comment on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed three nights on a family holiday. I doubt we could have picked a better spot. It's location a bit out of the downtown area is a good choice for those with a car, as the old town area is only a 15 minute drive, and you saves heaps by staying out of the old town area. That said, aside from three service stations and a Tim Hortons, you'll need to get in a car to get something to eat or get to shops.

The suite itself was immaculately clean, very modern and well appointed. The decor (pictures of Quebec City) also made it feel like a luxury style room. The only thing to note is that while it is a suite, the sitting/lounge/kitchen areas are not divided from the bedroom area, so don't expect to be able to sleep people (eg children) separately if you want to stay up. The windows in our suite also opened up onto the indoor pool area. You'd think they just cover the windows, but we had to check to make sure the blinds were closed. A bit weird, but that's only one suite in the entire hotel. It was however super quiet as a result (after pool shut at 9pm).

The hotel was great for us traveling with an energetic 4 year old, as there was a small playground outside, some large grassed areas for a run, and a pool with a small water playground. The suite was spacious with a reasonable sized lounge area. The fold out sofa bed was comfortable for a child and would probably be fine for an additional adult.

Breakfast was a typical continental. The fruit and pastries were fresh and you could help yourself so it was all very good value as an inclusion. The computer in the room was a nice touch and the wifi was fast enough for Skype.

When it was time to do some laundry, I was initially confused that detergent packs weren't in the vending machines. I was then seriously impressed that it turns out the machines are free, and there's free detergent for you to use. It may not sound like a big thing, but I think the fact they aren't trying to gouge you for money says a lot about the attitude they seem to run the place with.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Le Dauphin Hotel & Suites. It is our goal to provide our guests the same pleasant and friendly service. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec

Address: 400 rue Marais, Quebec City, Quebec G1M3R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated hotel is well located, 10 minutes from Old Quebec, from The Relais ski resort and 5 minutes from the Galerie de la Capitale shopping center, with many restaurants nearby... Our friendly staff is waiting for you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel Le Dauphin
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.