We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're driving in Quebec, this is the one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec to your Saves list
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 rue Marais, Quebec City, Quebec G1M3R1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you're driving in Quebec, this is the one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is not located in downtown but if you're driving it's not a problem at all. And it's totally worth it.

We stayed a night, booked a room for three and paid CAD$103 in total. Great value. Staff was extremely nice and friendly. The hotel room was spotless and looked really modern, clean and pretty linens, clean towels (they gave us extra) and shower. The room even had a desktop computer although we didn't try to use it. We stayed on the top floor (fourth floor) facing away from the highway. WIFI connection was strong.

The breakfast area was a huge and comfy dining area (kinda like a restaurant/cafe), with a pretty wide spread of food, including eggs and fruits. Free parking right outside the lobby too.

All in all, this hotel is amazing and I have no complains. Pay a cheap hostel fee and you get to stay in a good hotel. This place wins hands down in every aspect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We are verry happy that you took time to give us your comments and suggestions. In order to offer the best possible service to our guest we enjoy getting feedback from you. It is our goal to provide our guests with the same pleasant and friendly service which you have come to expect at our hotel over the years. This is why we would like to thank you for taking a minute of your time to write a review and to give us your comments regarding our staff, the good hotel value and the healthy breakfast we offer.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    120
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
187
127
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Periana, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stopped here in October for a couple of nights on a driving trip.

I was expecting the worse due to its location, sandwiched between the highway, three gas stations and a busy road, but the rooms are so well soundproofed it was not a problem, quite the contrary the place had easy access to all parts of Quebec.

The reception staff where great and switched from French to English as soon as they heard our accents. We had asked for and were given a room on the opposite side from the highway. The room itself was very smart with a wood laminate floor, large flat screen TV and even though you had free wifi there was a computer in the room for your use.

Bathroom was fine although I perhaps would have liked a bit more light in it. The floor had underfloor heating which was lovely in bear feet! All very clean.

The breakfast was taken in the small but smart dinning area just in front of reception. Plenty of choice but the place was very busy so we found somewhere to sit before going and selecting our breakfast. We met another couple at breakfast who had stopped there several time before so I think that says a lot.

The hotel has a small free of charge laundry which as we were on a 3 week trip was very welcome. Wish more hotels would offer laundry facilities and to be complimentary was a bonus.

The hotel is having an indoor pool constructed whilst we were there so even more reason to stay here once its completed.

We took a trip in to Old Quebec and the receptionist gave us details of where to park etc, its literally only 10 mins from the old town.

On the other side of the highway is a large shopping area with loads of places to eat and shop.

I most certainly would recommend using Le Dauphin if your visiting Quebec and have a car.

Room Tip: We asked for and received a room on the opposite side from the Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We want to thank you for taking your time to add your great comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed the bathroom heated floor, the breakfast buffet and the free laundry facilities.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again!

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here for almost a week. My room was modern (nice updated bathroom; wood floors and no carpet). The bed was very comfortable and even though the hotel is located on a busy street, the sound proofing is pretty good if you have the window closed. The staff is professional and they seem hard-working (breakfast attendants were constantly cleaning and stocking food). The hotel is currently undergoing construction, so sometimes you could hear the sound of a drill, etc, but it wasn't too disruptive and it was only during the day. The work-out room is small but did the job. I enjoyed the fact the the hotel was really quiet. The parking lot was packed with cars, but you never seemed to hear anyone. A lot of people are raving about breakfast. I wouldn't call it a good breakfast, but it was not bad, and I can't complain too much given it's included in the price. They could do without the bad canned fruit and really cheap pastries. Even though there is decent variety, I feel like the hotel goes out of its way to not have to cook/prep anything, but instead open a can or box. I wouldn't even be surprised if they bought the hard-boiled eggs already made and peeled like some restaurants. I don't expect home-made food, but just to say that there seems be a conscious decision not to have to use a knife or turn on an element, if you know what I mean. In sum, the g

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our customer service, the updated rooms and that the sound proofing meet your expectations. We are constantly upgrading our breakfast with new items so your comments are reallly important to us. We hope that we will be your place to stay in Quebec City!

Caroline Viens
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was our first visit to Quebec city and we very enjoyed our stay at Dauphin hotel. The room was very clean with a huge comfy bed, the second night was half price, value for money. I would recommend this hotel, parking is available any time of the day, friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We are verry happy that you took time to give us your comments and suggestions. In order to offer the best possible service to our guest we enjoy getting feedback from you. It is our goal to provide our guests with the same pleasant and friendly service which you have come to expect at our hotel over the years. This is why we would like to thank you for taking a minute of your time to write a review and to give us your great comments regarding our friendly staff, our confortable beds and the smart deals we are offering.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very nice hotel.. clean & fresh room with nice wooden flooring. Amazing breakfast & free coffee, juice in the lobby. They also have free WiFi with a computer in the room. Enjoyed our stay.. Thank You!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

We are verry happy that you took time to give us your comments and suggestions. In order to offer the best possible service to our guest we enjoy getting feedback from you. It is our goal to provide our guests with the same pleasant and friendly service which you have come to expect at our hotel over the years. This is why we would like to thank you for taking a minute of your time to write a review and to give us your great comments regarding our healthy breakfast buffet and the cleanliness of the room. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the computer in the room as well.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went to Quebec City with our dog and decided to stay at the Dauphin. It was an excellent choice! Whoever designed the dog-friendly suites must be a dog owner themselves. The suites are on the ground floor, with easy access to a side door (for those late night pee outings), come with a dog bed, bowls, treats, bags, etc. What more could you ask for?

As an extra, they offer gluten free bread and lactose free milk for breakfast. That was a great hit with us as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

We are verry happy that you took time to give us your comments and suggestions. In order to offer the best possible service to our guest we enjoy getting feedback from you. It is our goal to provide our guests with the same pleasant and friendly service which you have come to expect at our hotel over the years. This is why we would like to thank you for taking a minute of your time to write a review and to give us your great comments regarding our pet friendly accomodation and our renovated suites.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

In real estate they say the key to a property is location location location. Well this hotel's location is by far its weakest point. Around it are a plethora of freeways, car dealers, strip malls, office parks, shopping centers, gas stations, warehouses, fast food joints and mediocre franchise restaurants.

That being said the hotel is a short car trip away from historic Quebec where you will pay about $20 to park your car.

The hotel itself is a different story. It is a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious and have both a DVD player and a computer. The bed is comfortable and the shower is great. And for those of us who like to read in bed and are frustrated by dim lighting - you will be happy with the great reading light.

Others have complained about the noise. My room did not face the freeway and it was very quiet, My only complaint about the room is those awful venetian blinds - something that should not be a part of any hotel.

Breakfast was decent although the waffles and pancakes were of the frozen variety. And unlike many hotels, you get real plates and cutlery. 24 hours a day you can get juices and coffee in the lobby.

The entire front desk staff was very helpful and personable. I single out Bernard for special praise.

Room Tip: street side rather than freeway side. None of the rooms has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We want to thank you to add your comment on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec

Address: 400 rue Marais, Quebec City, Quebec G1M3R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated hotel is well located, 10 minutes from Old Quebec, from The Relais ski resort and 5 minutes from the Galerie de la Capitale shopping center, with many restaurants nearby... Our friendly staff is waiting for you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel Le Dauphin
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.