We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 rue Marais, Quebec City, Quebec G1M3R1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was our first visit to Quebec city and we very enjoyed our stay at Dauphin hotel. The room was very clean with a huge comfy bed, the second night was half price, value for money. I would recommend this hotel, parking is available any time of the day, friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We are verry happy that you took time to give us your comments and suggestions. In order to offer the best possible service to our guest we enjoy getting feedback from you. It is our goal to provide our guests with the same pleasant and friendly service which you have come to expect at our hotel over the years. This is why we would like to thank you for taking a minute of your time to write a review and to give us your great comments regarding our friendly staff, our confortable beds and the smart deals we are offering.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    93
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
134
97
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very nice hotel.. clean & fresh room with nice wooden flooring. Amazing breakfast & free coffee, juice in the lobby. They also have free WiFi with a computer in the room. Enjoyed our stay.. Thank You!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

We are verry happy that you took time to give us your comments and suggestions. In order to offer the best possible service to our guest we enjoy getting feedback from you. It is our goal to provide our guests with the same pleasant and friendly service which you have come to expect at our hotel over the years. This is why we would like to thank you for taking a minute of your time to write a review and to give us your great comments regarding our healthy breakfast buffet and the cleanliness of the room. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the computer in the room as well.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went to Quebec City with our dog and decided to stay at the Dauphin. It was an excellent choice! Whoever designed the dog-friendly suites must be a dog owner themselves. The suites are on the ground floor, with easy access to a side door (for those late night pee outings), come with a dog bed, bowls, treats, bags, etc. What more could you ask for?

As an extra, they offer gluten free bread and lactose free milk for breakfast. That was a great hit with us as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

We are verry happy that you took time to give us your comments and suggestions. In order to offer the best possible service to our guest we enjoy getting feedback from you. It is our goal to provide our guests with the same pleasant and friendly service which you have come to expect at our hotel over the years. This is why we would like to thank you for taking a minute of your time to write a review and to give us your great comments regarding our pet friendly accomodation and our renovated suites.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

In real estate they say the key to a property is location location location. Well this hotel's location is by far its weakest point. Around it are a plethora of freeways, car dealers, strip malls, office parks, shopping centers, gas stations, warehouses, fast food joints and mediocre franchise restaurants.

That being said the hotel is a short car trip away from historic Quebec where you will pay about $20 to park your car.

The hotel itself is a different story. It is a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious and have both a DVD player and a computer. The bed is comfortable and the shower is great. And for those of us who like to read in bed and are frustrated by dim lighting - you will be happy with the great reading light.

Others have complained about the noise. My room did not face the freeway and it was very quiet, My only complaint about the room is those awful venetian blinds - something that should not be a part of any hotel.

Breakfast was decent although the waffles and pancakes were of the frozen variety. And unlike many hotels, you get real plates and cutlery. 24 hours a day you can get juices and coffee in the lobby.

The entire front desk staff was very helpful and personable. I single out Bernard for special praise.

Room Tip: street side rather than freeway side. None of the rooms has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We want to thank you to add your comment on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It was my wife's and I's first time in Quebec City. We did our research and chose Le Hotel Dauphin. This hotel has everything literally 5 mins away. Major mall, walmart, gas station & Tim Horton's (across the street) restaurants, etc. Old Quebec is a short 10mins away. Don't let this small hotel fool you. The hotel room was clean and spacious. Free WiFi with a computer in your room. I was very impressed with the free coffe and juice in the lobby. Free breakfast. We stayed 4 days and plan on coming here again next year just in time for the opening of they're pool.

Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We want to thank you to add your comment on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean hotel with very cool bathrooms. Decent breakfast (complimentary), helpful staff. A bit of a drive to the old city. Half of the rooms face a noisy expressway so bring your earplugs (or use the plugs supplied by the hotel).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We want to thank you to post your comment on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our customer service, our room and shower. For the noise, maybe next time you can ask for a room on the Marais street side instead of the highway side. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights, really liked it. Easy to get to Old Québec, close to shopping and restaurants, right by the highway, really liked it. Will stay there again.
Price was affordable but so many taxes to pay when you stay in a hotel in Québec.
Very friendly staff :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cviens, General Manager at Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We want to thank you to post your comment on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our customer service and our location. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Caroline Viens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec

Address: 400 rue Marais, Quebec City, Quebec G1M3R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated hotel is well located, 10 minutes from Old Quebec, from The Relais ski resort and 5 minutes from the Galerie de la Capitale shopping center, with many restaurants nearby... Our friendly staff is waiting for you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel Le Dauphin
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.