We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Champlain Hotel to your Saves list
Le Champlain Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The staff are excellent and very helpful with directions/finding events/attractions, especially Jamie and Rosanne. If you get served by these two then your sure to be happy.

Breakfast was good with a good selection, but the breakfast room can get full quickly so arrive early.

Wi-Fi was good. Some areas in my room (corner top floor) didn't get coverage while other areas did.

Parking will be an issue if you have a big vehicle as the car park gets full as the area to turn/park is small. I ended up having to park in an area over the road as the rental car wasn't going to fit.

Easy walking to many attractions in the area as the hotel is a maxium of 10 minutes walk of basically everything in the old town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    269
    71
    12
    9
See reviews for
156
486
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great hotel in the heart of Vieux Quebec, super convenient, and in walking distance to major attractions and restaurants. The front of the hotel looks, well, kinda ugly - the inside though is great. Nice rooms, super friendly staff, clean. The breakfast buffet was okay, it is a little messy though and gets crowed very quickly (too many people in a super small area). Really good coffee!

Even though the hotel says that "parking is available" you will not have the opportunity to reserve a spot through any 3rd party website (hotels.com etc.). There is public parking available though (for $18 a day, 10 minutes).

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front of the hotel seem to be way bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were 2 couples in a suite with 2 queen beds (with a privacy curtain between) and a sitting area. It also has a fireplace that I'm sure is a nice touch in winter. The location is perfect, you can walk almost everywhere you would want to go, and the hot/cold buffet breakfast is more than adequate to begin your day. My only complaint is inadequate bathroom lighting and a shortage of towel racks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was my third stay at Le Champlain Hotel and it just gets better. Rooms are clean, the common sitting area with a fantastic espresso machine is such a nice touch. The complimentary continental breakfast is very good and changes a little each day. Staff are friendly and helpful. The location is great for seeing both the upper and lower towns. They have onsite parking, but it's very tight and wasn't good for my car. The only negative for me was the very soft bed. I would prefer a much more firm mattress. A microwave is available in the lobby, but it would be nice to have one in the room. This is my go to hotel in Old Quebec. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is inside the wall in Old Quebec but on a side street so it is quieter. A five minute walk to the boardwalk overlooking the river. We were two couples sharing a lovely room and there was lots of space for us all to stretch out. Very comfortable queen sized beds. Lots of hot water. The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful with their advice. One woman helped us debate the merits of public parking vs. valet with the hotel. We went with the valet because it was much more convenient. Breakfast is included and is delicious and different. Cheeses, baked beans, pastries, fresh fruit and much more. One touch we really enjoyed was the cappuccino espresso machine that was available 24hours a day. We stayed two nights and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor which was an easy walk up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights last week. It is a wonderful hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed. It is well maintained and decorated. We had a suite-(an L-shaped room with two queen sized bed that had a curtain to privatize them). We were 4 adults and there was plenty of room for us all. A continental breakfast is included which we found to be more varied than you usually would expect for a continental breakfast and more than enough to keep you til lunchtime.

It is very conveniently located. We parked the car on arrival and never moved it. They do have parking for a fee. Everywhere in the olde part of the city is near enough to walk. It was also very quiet on this street even though not too far all the action.

We also found it was reasonably priced for the area. We paid $289 a night for 4, can't beat that! We would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed in this delightful hotel for one night prior to boarding a cruise ship, and wish I could have stayed longer! Don't let the 60's facade and AstroTurf out front fool you... inside you'll find lovely, spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. The room even had huge real windows that actually opened to catch a breeze and the soft clip-clip sounds of passing horse-drawn carriages. The staff was most helpful in directing us to good local restaurants and keeping our luggage from check-out time until we left to get on our cruise ship in the late afternoon. We would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: The front-facing rooms face a quiet street and the back-facing rooms face an even quieter garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Champlain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.