We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great compromise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Champlain Hotel to your Saves list
Le Champlain Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great compromise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Great central location means small, usually old and costly. The Hotel Champlain mixes these very well to come up with great locale, not ancient - but in need of upgrades - and modest cost, which is low for the locale. Friendly young staff. Has some parking on site, a luxury. We needed an unusual service, and staff responded well. Breakfast is spartan, no views at all, but it was clean and quiet and the bed was great. All in all, an excellent compromise.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    269
    71
    12
    9
See reviews for
156
488
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Such a pretty little hotel in Quebec City. I stayed in room 216. The hotel is new and modern. I stayed in the Wedgwood room as I called it. It was beautifully decorated in Wedgwood blue with white trim. The room was full of beautiful antiques and artwork. The bathroom was all new and modern which was nice as well. The best part of this hotel was the free breakfast. The breakfast consisted of hardboiled eggs, baked beans, fresh fruit, pancakes/waffles, cheese, pork pate, and toast with assorted jams and jellies. I found the breakfast both nutritious and hearty. I hate packaged croissant breakfasts that you see at other hotels. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, updated hotel in the heart of Old Quebec, still has the old world charm. Great breakfast served every morning. The staff was very helpful and polite. Will return again to this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
313 hotel reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
413 helpful votes 413 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location is very good, but when all was said and done for $230.00 a day I would have expected some luxury. But what we got was a smallish room with a large A/C in the middle of the window with a tiny bathroom. So many good reviews maybe they paid less.

Location-central in upper town
Reception- Friendly. Maybe why they get better reviews than they deserve for the quality of the rooms and breakfast.
Breakfast- Continental. Lots of cheap breads, some cheap pate and cheese, flavored yogurt in a big bowl, boiled eggs, cereal, the only fruit was watermelon. Very unappetizing, even though they changed a couple of elements every day it was just not very good. I would offer less stuff and better quality.
Rooms – On the small size. Well decorated but not luxurious, fairly comfortable bed and terrible pillows.
There is too much light in the morning in spite of thick curtains, since they are not well placed. The light gets in from the top and the side of the window. There are no clear curtains so it is dark, or you have no shield from the outside and people can see into your room from the street. I see that this point had been made before, management answers complaints, but things are not fixed.
Wi-Fi- On and off, mostly it worked well.
TV-Nice modern large
Room for bags. A bit crowded for 2 large bags. The room was a bit small.
Tea Kettle or coffee maker-No, but they have a great coffee machine in the lobby that makes good coffee.
Bathroom-On the small size and very basic. I don’t know what is supposed to be superior about this room..
Shower pressure was good.
Cloths line-no
Safety bar in bathroom-no
Towels-Nice and clean
Amenities –basic and all in bottles attached to the wall. No bar of soap in the sink only a water down liquid soap.
Hair dryer-wall but with good power
Parking-Yes, extra charge
Laundry-No
Iron and ironing board-Not in the room, maybe is you ask?

Room Tip: I would stay at a modern hotel even if it was farther. Quebec is small and there is good transportat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have become a huge fan of the Auberge Place d'Armes and its sister, Le Champlain Hotel. Please don't ask me to choose a favorite; it depends on the type of trip. Recently I was traveling with my husband and a visiting friend from Germany; we were fortunate to be able to book a suite here in high season for our stay of alas, only one night. The location allowed us to make the most of our short time and the suite provided a way to treat our friend and have some privacy without breaking the bank. (Although the 2 beds in the room are opposite each other, a golden curtain between them can be drawn to create private space). Both sides keep their "own" window with a fantastic city view. The fifth floor offered great insulation from street noise. All three of us found the beds uber-comfortable, the bathroom excellent and the whole space well-furnished for comfort and convenience with style and artful Quebecois touches. All staff members that we encountered, at the front desk and in the lovely breakfast room, were warm and helpful. Given our limited time, we especially appreciated the convenience of on-site parking--a rarity in Quebec City within the walls. My husband and I feel that we gave our friend a fine whirlwind tour of the City (including great walking, dining and a night of Cirque de Soleil's free outdoor performance of Les Chemins Invisibles and the Image Mill architectural projetion show) and that we could not have had a better home base than Le Champlain Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pleasant and helpful staff - good breakfast.
We speak no French but with the help of a map and the staff at the front desk was able to enjoy the sites and restaurants in Quebec City. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Elevator slow - pick a lower floor then you can use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights in July, and it was a good stay!

If you are looking for some place close to all the main attractions with nice room to stay in but to not overpay for service you wont use - i'd say it's ideal.
I was coming to Quebec by train, so just 10 min walk from train station was great. Room is big, bed is comfy, the room was looking at the side alley with nearby building real close but since i was there pretty much to sleep and blinds are real good, i didnt care. But if the view matters for you - check where your windows will face.
Reception stuff was great. housekeeping guys are great too - we werent disturbed even once but always had clean room when we needed it. :)
Breakfast room is a bit smallish, but we still had our chance to eat
The staff there was great too!

And i was able to keep my luggage at reception for several hours after checkout before the train, so i could enjoy couple more hours of roaming around Quebec :)

So if you are not after pools, gyms and stuff - nice place for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Champlain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.