We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely in our top 3” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Champlain Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely in our top 3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a surprise to get this quality in a hotel that cheap!
The hotel is well located, and the service (free hot chocolate <3, free internet, and staff really friendly) is just excellent.

We didn't care about the view from the room, and with the price we paid, the room had all the confort and the cleanliness we wanted.

Anyone staying in Quebec has to consider going in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your nice review.

We strive to give quality, comfort, cleanliness and services. It is sure that during the low seasons (as end of March and April) we are able to do some promotion. For us, even if someone has a room at a low price, we still give the same quality and cleanliness. But don’t forget that during the summer the prices are higher.

We wants that our guests have a great stay with us and for that reason we provide a lot of services; as the free WI-FI, free local calls, free breakfast, free coffee bar and free access to a computer in the lobby. We have also a parking on site, but it is in extra charge and you must reserve it in advance.

Our staffs are always pleased to welcome guests in our establishment. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Thank you and best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    440
    233
    62
    13
    8
See reviews for
135
429
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights over New Year's as a "minimoon" getaway. We were very pleased with our choice. We stayed in the junior suite, which features a jacuzzi, fireplace, and a cozy bed. Le Champlain Hotel is right in the heart of the old city, just a walk away from the sites and restaurants. There were a variety of hot and cold items for breakfast and we particularly loved the the 24-hour cappuccino machine in the lobby. It was great to have a hot chocolate and jacuzzi after skiing for the day. We also appreciated the parking on site, which is rare in the old part of the city. We will definitely be back the next time we visit Quebec city!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your really nice comments.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our junior suite room. This room has a perfect size for a couple who wants to have a romantic escape in the old town. The king bed, the Jacuzzi, the sitting area and the fireplace are the best accommodations to have a wonderful stay.

As you mentioned, the Champlain hotel is in the heart of Old Quebec City, near of the attractions. You can walk everywhere without problem.

We want to offer to our guests a great experience. For that reason we provide a continental breakfast in a buffet way, free local calls free WI-FI, free coffee bar (which is very popular) and free computer access in the lobby. As you saw, we have a parking on site, but it is important to remember that it is in extra charge and you must reserve it in advance.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night in February 2013 with my husband - we splurged on a junior suite and were not disappointed. The spacious suite has a jacuzzi tub fit for two, a fireplace, a huge comfy bed, lovely views of Rue Sainte Anne, and even a mini fridge to keep snacks and wine cold! We loved this hotel - it reminded us very much of our travels in Europe and had a quaint feel. The staff were marvelous and friendly, and we enjoyed the cappuccino machine in the lobby! The included breakfast the next morning was lovely - coffee, juice, fruit, crepes with sauce and preserves, various toast, and hard boiled eggs - a great start to our day. The hotel was in perfect walking distance to everything in Old Quebec, and was in a safe neighborhood to walk around even in the evening. Would definitely stay here again when in Quebec City!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your very nice comments.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Junior Suite room. This room is very perfect if you want a romantic escape in the old town. Jacuzzi, fireplace, sitting area and the king bed are good elements to have a wonderful stay.

Our staffs are always pleased to welcome guests and assist them. We strive to give a great experience in our hotel and in our city. I am also glad that you enjoyed our cappuccino machine. A great cup of coffee in the morning is the best way to start the day! The free breakfast is also another way to have a great day. We want to give variety and we try to change the menu every day.

I want to thank you again for your nice review; we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is the third time I come back to this hotel in Quebec City. The value/price is hard to beat!
It is a small hotel with a very small lobby, but friends met us there and we had free coffee and sat in the lobby and chatted before leaving for supper. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The room decor is pretty with exposed brick walls and ceramic tile floors with accent rug and the washrooms have these nice black sinks with koi fish motifs. Breakfast is included with the price of your room and it is a nice simple buffet with bread, bagels or waffles with a nice selection of jams and sirop, You can get regular coffee or go to the cappuccino/hot chocolate machine in the lobby and get your favorite morning drink there. There is also orange juice, cheddar cheese, cereals and meat spread (croton) available. It is very clean and the room is bright and well appointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your review.

Wow, you came in our hotel for three times. I am very glad to read that and I hope that it won’t be the last time. We are always pleased to welcome people and we like to see back people that they already stayed with us.

The standard rooms are very great for people who just want to sleep and visit the city. Those rooms are the only kind in our hotel to have a brick wall and ceramics on the floor. The style of the room is retro with a touch of modernism. I am glad that you like it. You have right; the sink with the fish motifs is really cute.

For the breakfast, we want to give variety and we try to change it every day. We strive to give comfort, quality, cleanliness and services; when I read reviews like yours and people are coming back, we feel that we did our job.

Thank you again for your nice comments; we are looking forward to welcoming you back for a fourth stay.

Best regards,
Alexander.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a nice, clean, quiet hotel, perfectly located for easy walking access to everywhere in Old Quebec. The staff is very polite and helpful and responded to my emails promptly when our flight was delayed and wanted to ensure our parking and reservation was honored. The breakfast is from 7 until 11 am and has a nice variety...the maple cream sauce for the crepes is to die for!! The 24 hour coffee/hot chocolate machine is a bonus at breakfast and after shopping and walking. Parking is tight but reasonably priced...it would be difficult to park a bigger SUV in the space available so beware. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Responsable relations clients at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your really nice review. It is truly appreciated.

At the hotel Champlain, we strive to offer quality, cleanliness, comfort and service. Our staff team is always present to welcome guests and assist you when you need it, even if you are not checked in yet. I am proud that they responded promptly to your email. We want to give the best service as we can.

Free breakfast, free coffee bar, free Wi-Fi Internet, free local calls and parking on site (not included in the price) are an example of the services that we offer. As you mentioned, we have a small parking lot. We recommend to reserve a parking place in advance and if you can come with a small car, do not hesitate to bring it. Big SUV and big pick-up truck (as the F-150) are difficult to park in the Old Québec City.

I want to thank you for your charming comments; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a smaller hotel with charm, simply but tastefully decorated, and clean. I enjoyed the black, koi fish decorated sink in the bathroom. The bed is firm and comfortable. Breakfast is included. A nice touch is the cappuccino/ hot chocolate/ tea making machine down in the lobby available to all guests. Free Wi-Fi. If you bring your car, book early since there are only 19 spaces available for parking. Location is excellent, right in the heart of old Quebec city. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great and charming review.

I am very glad that you enjoyed our establishment. At the hotel Champlain we strive to offer quality, comfort, cleanliness and service. We offer the free breakfast to make sure that you will start your day well. Our coffee bar 24/7 is also another way to enjoy your stay after a good night or after a long day of walk in the old town. As you mentioned, we have a little parking lot. We recommend strongly to reserve the parking in advance and it is important to know that it is not included in the price. Our staff team is always pleased to welcome guest and assist you.

Thank you again for your nice comments; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hotel is in a quiet street within Old Quebec. Room was very comfortable, clean, nicely decorated, and had a nice firm bed. Modern designed bathroom faucet and basin but sort of clashed with the standard toilet and bathtub. Hotel has it's own parking lot (not many in Old Quebec do). Free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was so-so, but it's free. Rate was very reasonable (week before the Winter Carnival). Restaurants are a short walk away. Staff was helpful and friendly. It lacks a gym but I knew that when I booked it. It's a 3-star hotel but I think it should be 3.5 stars. Seldom do I rate hotels as Excellent in all respective aspects. I've stayed at other hotels within Old Quebec and this is a hotel I would definitely return to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review.

As you mentioned, Sainte-Anne Street is a really quiet street located in the heart of the Old Quebec. When you stay in our hotel, you are able to visit all the attractions by walk and sleep without any noise during the night. We strive to offer comfort, quality, cleanliness and service; I am glad that you were comfortable with us and you enjoyed your stay in our establishment.

As you wrote, we have a parking on site. It is important to remember that you have to reserve the parking in advance and there is an extra charge for it. You mentioned that you did not like too much the breakfast. For sure a continental breakfast is different than an American breakfast. We want to improve our service and you can feel free to contact us to suggest what we can change to be better. We are really open to constructive comments.

I want to thank you again for your nice comments and it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in our establishment.

Best regards,
Alexander.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Champlain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;