We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Champlain Hotel to your Saves list
Le Champlain Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save CAD20 on select meals
Ranked #14 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a smaller hotel with charm, simply but tastefully decorated, and clean. I enjoyed the black, koi fish decorated sink in the bathroom. The bed is firm and comfortable. Breakfast is included. A nice touch is the cappuccino/ hot chocolate/ tea making machine down in the lobby available to all guests. Free Wi-Fi. If you bring your car, book early since there are only 19 spaces available for parking. Location is excellent, right in the heart of old Quebec city. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great and charming review.

I am very glad that you enjoyed our establishment. At the hotel Champlain we strive to offer quality, comfort, cleanliness and service. We offer the free breakfast to make sure that you will start your day well. Our coffee bar 24/7 is also another way to enjoy your stay after a good night or after a long day of walk in the old town. As you mentioned, we have a little parking lot. We recommend strongly to reserve the parking in advance and it is important to know that it is not included in the price. Our staff team is always pleased to welcome guest and assist you.

Thank you again for your nice comments; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    258
    70
    12
    9
See reviews for
149
471
39
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hotel is in a quiet street within Old Quebec. Room was very comfortable, clean, nicely decorated, and had a nice firm bed. Modern designed bathroom faucet and basin but sort of clashed with the standard toilet and bathtub. Hotel has it's own parking lot (not many in Old Quebec do). Free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was so-so, but it's free. Rate was very reasonable (week before the Winter Carnival). Restaurants are a short walk away. Staff was helpful and friendly. It lacks a gym but I knew that when I booked it. It's a 3-star hotel but I think it should be 3.5 stars. Seldom do I rate hotels as Excellent in all respective aspects. I've stayed at other hotels within Old Quebec and this is a hotel I would definitely return to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review.

As you mentioned, Sainte-Anne Street is a really quiet street located in the heart of the Old Quebec. When you stay in our hotel, you are able to visit all the attractions by walk and sleep without any noise during the night. We strive to offer comfort, quality, cleanliness and service; I am glad that you were comfortable with us and you enjoyed your stay in our establishment.

As you wrote, we have a parking on site. It is important to remember that you have to reserve the parking in advance and there is an extra charge for it. You mentioned that you did not like too much the breakfast. For sure a continental breakfast is different than an American breakfast. We want to improve our service and you can feel free to contact us to suggest what we can change to be better. We are really open to constructive comments.

I want to thank you again for your nice comments and it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in our establishment.

Best regards,
Alexander.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very cozy hotel. The room was very spacious and even had an electronic fireplace. Even though we were on the second floor, we still could see the roof of the Chateau Frontenac from our window.

I chose this hotel because of the location and because breakfast was included. The breakfast buffet was simple and delicious- just what I wanted. Choices included: bagels, toast, hard-boiled eggs, fruit salad, yogurt, cereal, waffles (on one morning), juice, tea and coffee.

It is located in the centre of old Quebec and is just a short walk to all you will want to see.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

At the hotel Champlain we strive to offer cleanliness, comfort, quality and service. In general, our rooms are bigger than some in the Old Town, we offer free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, some rooms have fire place (Deluxe, Suite and Junior Suite) and free access to a coffee bar 24/7.

It was a pleasure for me to read that you enjoyed the breakfast. We are working hard to make it good to everyone. The important for us, is that our guests can have a memorable stay.

Again, I want to thank you for your great comments; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony mountain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

2nd time at this hotel. It is right in the middle of old Quebec. Front desk people are great. Rooms are very nice, not your chain hotel type. Quiet rooms with a nice breakfast. Easy to walk around Old Quebec from here. I will stay there again if we return to Quebec City.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great comments.

I am glad to see that it was your second time in our hotel and I hope that it won’t be the last. We are always pleased to welcome back guest in our establishment and we are always there to assist you. We strive to make sure that you have a memorable stay with us. As you mentioned, we are well located: in the heart of the old town in a quiet street.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and thank you again for your great review.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicoutimi, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

At first i didnt know what to expect from the champlain hotel but,let me tell you that we had such a positive experience.we booked the junior suite (room 11) including a 2 places jacuzzi .entering the room i was so happy to see how everithing was disposed and eye attractive and finally so clean.we enjoyed our room so much that i cant wait to come back to this hotel.
the service was really good also and the employees very helpful so i highly recommend it if you want to have peace of mind and nice room .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your great review.

I am really glad to see how much you liked your experience with us. We strive to offer the best experience for our guest. The Junior Suite rooms are really perfect to relax completely. King bed, sitting area, fireplace and the Jacuzzi are all the perfect elements to be comfortable. Our staff team is always pleased to welcome guests and assist them.

I want to thank you again for your great comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great breakfast which varied from day to day. Front desk staff were very helpful. Stayed in 2 different rooms - both in great condition and very clean. Convenient location to visit old Quebec as well as the "real city" outside the walls.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your great review.

At the hotel Champlain we strive to offer quality, comfort, cleanliness and service; I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment. We want that our guest can be comfortable and after a great night of sleeping, a good breakfast is a perfect match. We decided to offer the breakfast in a buffet way and also we have one or two hot meals that we change every day to give variety.

Our staff team is always ready to welcome guests and assist them. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for a next trip.

Thank you again for your great comments.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for two nights in January, rooms are very cozy, staff was friendly and informative, breakfast was included and it was not bad, free WiFi which is apparently not always free in some hotels in Canada so that was a plus as well, and of course great location. Hotel located right in the Old Quebec, you don't have to take your car you can just explore on foot the Old City. Parking is not free, but considerable cheep compared to other hotels in Canada $18 a day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

At the hotel Champlain, we want to offer comfort, quality, cleanliness and service. Our staff team is always pleased to welcome guests and they can assist you at any moment. For your comfort, we offer free Wi-Fi, free continental breakfast in a buffet way, free local calls and parking on site. As you mentioned, the parking is in extra charge ($16,52 + taxes) and we recommend strongly reserving in advance because there are limited places.

Again I want to thank you for your good comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our establishment.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Champlain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.