We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Champlain Hotel to your Saves list
Le Champlain Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save CAD20 on select meals
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

As many have mentioned, this is great for value of $62 excluding taxes. The hotel may look rather dull compared to others but the room is extremely spacious, even the private bathroom is spacious. It is located at St. Anne road. But St. Anne rd is a rather long road, and the location of this hotel may appear rather obscure on this stretch of St Anne but if you follow along the Anglican cathedral and the big landmark of Clarendron hotel, you should be able to find it. The staff was polite, and spoke good English. In my short visit to QC, the notion that the people here refuse to speak to you in English is simply not sure. Even if they have to struggle hard, they will try to speak to you in English. Breakfast is provided, coffee maker with many types of coffee and tea for free.. It is strategic in the heart of Old QC where you can easily navigate to the fortified walls and the Plain of Abraham and others...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your review.

As you mentioned, our rooms are really spacious. We want that our guests can have a comfortable stay with us.

Ste-Anne street it is an amazing street. It is located in the heart of the old Quebec, but it is really quiet. For that reason, our hotel is really well located.

Our staff likes to welcoming people and they do not have problem to speak in English, as you said in your review. They like to assist people when our guests need help.

Our coffee machine is a really nice advantage that we have and it is really great to take a good cup of coffee during the breakfast.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best regards,
Alexander.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    260
    70
    12
    9
See reviews for
150
473
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A beautiful stay at a charming boutique hotel in old Quebec. Idyllic location close to everything. The staff were wonderful and the room really well kept. Typical breakfast was provided which started off the day well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your review. It is truly appreciated.

The hotel Champlain is, as you were able to see, located in the heart of the old town. Everything is at less than five minutes walk.

For the room and the breakfast we strive to give quality. The most important for us is that people have a great stay with us. Our staff is pleased to welcome people and assist them when they need something.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back in our establishment.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in August 2012.Booked this hotel partly on these reviews. This hotel was only one we could find with onsite parking, and it was perfect.We did not move car all 3 days and walked everywhere Also were pleased to be given an upgraded room. Thank You. Staff was friendly and helpful. The buffet was basic. Our lack of french was not a problem anywhere. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review, it is appreciated.

The hotel Champlain is really well located in the Old Quebec City, you are at less than 5 minutes of the attractions, boutiques and restaurants. We are really lucky to have a parking directly at the hotel for 16,52$+taxes per night. But it is very important to reserve it in advance. It is nice that you were able to use it, even if you did not use it during your stay.

For the upgrade it is a pleasure. When we can do some, we do it without problem. But do not forget that sometimes it is not possible.

Our staff is always pleased to welcome people and for them there is no problem to speak in English. If you need assistance, they are always there for our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was just so so. Location was excellent, walked all over Quebec from this location. We saw it all in two days. The breakfast buffet included was good, however the coffe machine was the best. We saved so much money not having to buy cappuccinos , teas or expressos , hot chocolate, etc and it was excellent...the coffee area could be better if you rearranged the book shelves and added more seating.was too crowded there.
Only complaint was the front desk didn't give us a wake up call and we had a 6 am flight... Not good at all......!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the city, the old Quebec city is a great place to visit. Also It is great that you enjoyed the breakfast and our coffee bar. I understand you when you say that the machine is the best thing, it is true.

I am a bit sad that you did not really like the room. We strive to give comfort and quality. I can understand that is not everyone who likes that kind of decoration. But for us, the important it that you were able to sleep well.

I was really surprised when I read that we forgot your wake up call. In general, our front desk team never forgets to program it. I am very sorry that it happened to you. We made the necessary to make sure that it will not happen again.

Thank you again for the time you took to write your review.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Champlain in October of this year. As mentioned by other reviewers, this hotel is conveniently located. Very friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The free breakfast was fine: crepes, toasts, oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, fresh juice, etc. The free coffee in the lobby was an added bonus! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great comments.

At the hotel Champlain we do all of our best to give quality, comfort and cleanliness. When we read reviews like yours, we feel that we made it well. Our staff is always present to welcome guest and give assistance.

I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and our great coffee machine. We will be pleased to welcome you back in our establishment.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife, college student-daughter and I spent a lovely three nights at the Hotel Champlain while enjoying Quebec City and the surrounding area. Our suite was fairly priced, very clean, and quite comfortable. The Champlain gave us the beauty and charm of the old city without the Frontenac price tag.
The staff was helpful and welcoming. The free breakfast was simple but fresh. Yogurt, fruits, fresh, home made bread, juice, cereal and oats.
The gratis coffee bar was convenient and afforded us delicious expresso, cappucinno, and hot tea.
We will gladly return to the Champlain. It offers stylish comfort, good value and a great location for exploring Vieux Quebec.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with a view for a treat. Quebec is not loud, but instead a tranquil historic city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your nice review.

I am glad to see that your family enjoyed the trip in our hotel and in our city. The hotel Champlain has a great location in a quiet street of the Old Quebec City.

Our staff always likes to welcome guests and they are pleased to assist you during the stay. We want that everyone feels comfortable and for that we offer free breakfast. As you mentioned, the breakfast is simple with everything that you need to start the day.

Again I am very glad that you saw the value of our establishment and we hope to see you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at the Hotel Champlain. We were very happy with our accommodation - the room was large & clean with a pleasant view, comfortable king size bed, nicely furnished, flat-screen TV and air-con. The location was great being well situated in Old Quebec close to restaurants & shops. There is a cosy lounge area near the reception with free tea/coffee/hot chocolate. The hotel has complimentary wi-fi throughout. Breakfast, which is included, consisted of cheese, pate, oatmeal, yoghurt, choice of cereal, toast, pastries and on the days we were there we had waffles one day, fresh crepes the next and bread and butter pudding another day. Car parking was available at a small extra daily charge. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your nice review, we really appreciate it.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the room. As I often say, we strive to give quality, cleanliness and comfort. When we read reviews like yours, we feel that we reach our goal. It is important that our guests feel comfortable and for that reason every room has flat screen TV and air conditioner.

Our hotel is really well located. Everything is near and in a walking distance. We are in the heart of the Old Quebec City.

For the accommodations, as you mentioned, we have free Wi-Fi, free computer, free coffee bar, free breakfast and free local call. All those services are there to give you a great stay in our establishment. We have parking on site to ($), but it is better to reserve it in advance, because there are limited places.

I am glad that you enjoy the breakfast. It is hard to please to everyone, but like to know when people like it.

I want to thank you very much for your nice reviews and we hope to see you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Champlain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.