We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Champlain Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at the Hotel Champlain. We were very happy with our accommodation - the room was large & clean with a pleasant view, comfortable king size bed, nicely furnished, flat-screen TV and air-con. The location was great being well situated in Old Quebec close to restaurants & shops. There is a cosy lounge area near the reception with free tea/coffee/hot chocolate. The hotel has complimentary wi-fi throughout. Breakfast, which is included, consisted of cheese, pate, oatmeal, yoghurt, choice of cereal, toast, pastries and on the days we were there we had waffles one day, fresh crepes the next and bread and butter pudding another day. Car parking was available at a small extra daily charge. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your nice review, we really appreciate it.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the room. As I often say, we strive to give quality, cleanliness and comfort. When we read reviews like yours, we feel that we reach our goal. It is important that our guests feel comfortable and for that reason every room has flat screen TV and air conditioner.

Our hotel is really well located. Everything is near and in a walking distance. We are in the heart of the Old Quebec City.

For the accommodations, as you mentioned, we have free Wi-Fi, free computer, free coffee bar, free breakfast and free local call. All those services are there to give you a great stay in our establishment. We have parking on site to ($), but it is better to reserve it in advance, because there are limited places.

I am glad that you enjoy the breakfast. It is hard to please to everyone, but like to know when people like it.

I want to thank you very much for your nice reviews and we hope to see you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    449
    243
    69
    15
    8
See reviews for
132
426
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal QC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Walk in rate was great for a late October Saturday night. Great location. Looks dated from outside but the reception, the all day coffee station (free: cappuchino, mocha, hot chic, tea) and free wifi pc was great. Free breaky also lovely (toast , creton, bagel, banana bread, oh & watery oatmeal I think) nice options
Our room #16 is huge, 2 queen beds and a fireplace, tv etc.... Very comfortable. Quite when we were there. Nice polite staff. Couldn't complain. Would return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you very much for your nice review, it is truly appreciated.

Sometimes walk-in rate is good, but in Quebec, you have to be careful with that. Some days all the hotels of the city can be full weeks in advance. You were lucky to have the walk in rate on a Saturday night and it is great.

Our suite rooms are very nice because, as you mentioned, it is very spacious rooms with two queen size beds. They are really comfortable. Also, we strive to give quality, cleanliness and comfort to our guests.

Our staff is always pleased to welcome guest in our establishment and they are always available if you need assistance. Our coffee machine is a great advantage of the hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed it. What is better than a good coffee to start the day? With a good breakfast it is perfect. It is nice that you took the time to take our breakfast and it is great because it is always included in the price with the room.

I want to thank you again for your really nice comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

October 2012. My girlfriend and I were lodging at Hotel Champlain in the Old Quebec Area. The hotel itself is very comfortable and pretty well located. It's the third time we lodged there in 2 years. The hotel's staff is alright. The only drawback we had is with the breakfast. We stayed at this hotel for 6 days (5 nights). Every morning, the breakfast was the exact same : (very) hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, toasts, some kind of white cheeze, bread pudding and a very very sweet apple sauce, room temperature orange juice and coffee. No fruit was ever served, either fresh or in some kind of salad. After 2 nights, we went out to find some variety for breakfast.

The hotel is clean and well located in the Old Quebec area. The price is slightly above average. The beds were good.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep late, ask for a room that isn't toward the elemantary school yard (just bey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Bonjour,

First, I want to thank you for the time you took to write the review.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the room and the service of our staff.

I am really sad to seed that you did not enjoy the breakfast. Normally, we try to change the menu every day. We are doing some research to know why it was not like that during your stay. It is important for us to join our guest's expectations. For that reason we considered some points that you said in your comments. Otherwise, you can feel free to contact us at any moment to let us know your constructive suggestion.

Again I am sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed two nights in October at The Champlain Hotel. We were greeted with a smile on arriving and check in was very fast. Our room was big with a great view of the Chateau Frontinac. The air conditioning was still on so we could cool the room at night. The beds were wonderful and the bathroom very clean. The included breakfast was an appreciated extra--delicious raisin thick-sliced toast one day and waffles the other day along with cereal, etc. We enjoyed the coffee machine in the lobby many times. It made great hot chocolate too. We wished we could have stayed more days as it was very relaxing, and the location was convenient to everything. We were able to walk much in the city. We hope to go back tthere someday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out the back--very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Our staff likes to welcome and meet new people. They give the maximum to offer a great stay to our guests.

We strive to offer comfort, quality and cleanliness. It is important for us that people can feel comfortable in the rooms. For the breakfast, we want to give some variety and change the menu everydays. Like this people who stay more than one night, can eat something different.

What is better than a great cup of coffee to start the day? Our coffee machine is one of the best advantage that we have and it is free 24/7!

The Old Quebec is a charming city and we do everything to give you a great experience in our town.

We are looking foreward to welcoming you back in our hotel. Thank you very much for your comments.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our honeymoon in Quebec City at Chateau Frontinac was so special that we have been drawn to this city many times since 2005. Our last 2 visits were to The Champlain Hotel where we have found a beautiful room to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday and valentines day. We have again booked our favorite room overlooking the Chateau for next year. It is very spacious and cozy and a great location. Can hardly wait to be in our special room at The Champlain Hotel again!!!

Room Tip: Our favorite is a suite that overlooks Chateau Frontenac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your nice review. It is trully appreciate.

I am glad to see that it is not your first visit in our establishment. We really like to see back people that we met.

The suite room is a perfect room when you want to have a lot of space. Also, as you mentioned, you have a beautiful view of the Frontenac Castle. Our hotel is in the heart of the Old Quebec, everything is near.

I want to thank you again for your nice comments. We are looking foreward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

After a hard days tourism in hilly Quebec what could be better than a Jacuzzi bath in your room? Hotel otherwise is a bit quirky. The single lift is very slow and can only handle one command at a time. Having breakfast, continental of course, requires a reasonable amount of dexterity to avoid everybody else trying to do the same thing in a confined area.
Our room on the 5th floor was spacious. The view was more industrial than historical.
The lack of a hotel restaurant is not a problem given the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your comments.

I agree with you about the whirlpool. This is the greatest thing after a big day.

I am sad to see that you did not like our hotel. I understand that the decoration is particular, it is retro with a touch of modern. As an Quebec's expression : every taste are natural. As you mentioned, the Junior Suite room is really spacious and it is perfect to be comfortable.

As you said, we have only one elevator and this one is really slow. But, compare to the other one that you can have in other hotels, this one does not make noise.

I want to thank you again for the time you took to write your review.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I just got back from Quebec City and stayed at the Hotel Champlain Sept. 30-Oct 3 set within the walls of Old Quebec and perfect walking distance to everything in Old Quebec and surrounding area. We just LOVED LOVED LOVED this boutique style hotel. Did not feel like your generic hotel as it had personal touches and felt like our own personal cozy home away from home. Loved the in room fireplace as our first night in Old Quebec was cold and rainy and this made us feel toasty and warm in our room. We stayed in the Jr. Suite (room #41), king size bed with corner jacuzzi tub, facing front onto Ste. Anne Street. If you opened your window you could hear the clip clop of the horse and buggies go by during the day. Just loved that!!!
When we first arrived we were greeted by the VERY friendly bilingual staff. They were also very helpful with any of our questions and help set up a day tour to lle d'Orleans.
Just off the lobby was a room, with a fireplace, that had comfy sofas and chairs to enjoy the free coffee from their coffee machine and to read a book from the bookshelves available. Next to that is the free morning breakfast room, very roomy and bright with a fireplace.
We had read some of the reviews before we left so a person sometimes wonders what you might find when you get there as there were some bad reviews. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about this quaint hotel and it exceeded our expectations!!!! I think sometimes some people just look for negative things and are never happy. If anyone asks us where to stay while in the walled city of Old Quebec, we will say "Hotel Champlain" without a doubt!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your really nice review; it is truly appreciated. Old Quebec City is a fantastic and wonderful place to visit. Our hotel, as you mentioned, is a great choice if you want to be located in heart of the attractions, without any noise.

I am glad that you liked our hotel! We really want that our guests feels as at home and we are pleased to welcome people in our establishment. Our goal is to give quality, cleanliness and comfort; we try to keep the room upgraded as possible. When we read comments like yours, we feel that we made our job. The Junior Suite room is a perfect choice if you want a big room with a nice view of the city.

What is better than a good coffee to start the day? Our espresso machine is perfect for that and it is free for our guests! The lobby is a bit small, but there are a lot of pamphlets, books and magazines for our guests; they are always available.

It is sure that we cannot please to everybody, but we do the best to make everyone happy. When we have the occasion to read good review, we feel very good and proud of what we do.

I want to thank you again for the time you took to share your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Champlain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.