We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Very Clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Save Saved
You added Auberge Aux Deux Lions to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R2A9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, Very Clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

4 night stay, very clean and the location was perfect. You can walk almost anywhere from this location. Jean Francois, Joelle & Sandy were all very nice, helpful and accommodating. We stayed in two different rooms and preferred the room on the back side of the hotel; it was brighter and felt more spacious. Beds were too firm for us. Bathrooms are cramped, not much room for toiletries, etc. Lighting in both rooms could be much better. Breakfast was $8.50 per day and Parking (off street in the Hotel's lot) was $14 per day; this is spelled out on their website. Our experience was very good and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The room with stone walls was charming, but very dark and cave like; the room on the back side was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    60
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
111
277
31
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in August / September 2013 and loved it. We found the room to be comfortable, very clean, very quiet, and nicely appointed. There is a (very clean) kitchen available to guests, so we could keep our food in the fridge and boil water in the mornings, without renting a suite. It's in a terrific location - only a 15 minute walk from the old part of the city, but in its own great neighbourhood, with local restaurants, coffee shops, a patisserie, a grocery store, and other shops. It was great to be near the old city, but to not have to be in the middle of the touristy area. We walked literally 2 minutes and could sit amongst locals on a patisserie patio. It's also a 5 minute walk from the Plains of Abraham, and a 5 minute walk to the best part of Rue Saint Jean.

The staff deserve special mention. Joelle and Sandie, the two front desk staff, were super friendly and happy to give us suggestions for great restaurants, and help us however they could. The owner, Jean-Francois, is so warm and helpful and gave us a lovely welcome!

We strongly recommend this auberge and will stay here when we return to Quebec. (In fact, we returned the following week, and switched our reservation from another hotel to this one.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Firstly this is not a boutique hotel nor is it a true bed and breakfast. We stayed here 3 nights and it is the weirdest B&B we have ever stayed in. There is no evidence of the owner or person in charge; no feeling of being made welcome and no sign of any other guests. Joelle checked us in was was extremely helpful about where to eat and what to see but the property lacked any atmosphere. Perhaps not helped by having to use the back door and negotiate the back steps and corridor on our arrival and each time we returned at night. For some reason the front door was always locked and guests were not given a key. We have stayed in many B&B's and this was the first time we had to access our room though the back entrance every time.
Breakfast is self serve and very basic so perhaps that is why there is no one in the breakfast room. We chose to eat out where there was some atmosphere and life.
When we booked we were told there was only a room with the bathroom just outside "across the corridor" so we accepted this. It turned out to be further away across the main hallway and the hotel was empty so why not offer a room with an ensuite unless you are trying to sell the worst rooms first. Anyway the next morning when we raised this issue with the receptionist she offered to change the room, I mean it was so obvious the place was empty.
Everything else is very basic, clean but basic. Shower so small you can hardly move and water pressure so poor don't try and wash your hair. The whole place has a boarding house feel, as I said before, really weird.
It is within walking distance of the town and lots of local delis, bread shops, bars etc so location is good. Parking $14 a night behind the building which considering the parking lot was empty could have been included in the rate.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back. These are quieter and beds and pillows softer. Bathrooms all very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
optimate, Directeur général at Auberge Aux Deux Lions, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear nix47_10,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Auberge Aux deux Lions. We are regretful that your experience on your recent visit has fallen short of your expectations though we are happy to acknowledge your kind words about our location and the helpfulness of our concierge service.

The hotel was mainly occupied by business people during your stay, which is probably why you haven’t seen much of the other guests, even if the hotel was almost full. As a small hotel with 15 rooms, we set up 3 well-lit independent entrances to the different part of the hotel so it is easier to access rooms, at any time, day and night. Our front desk members may have to leave the desk for several reasons and we are sure your understand we cannot leave the front desk open to every one, considering the cash register, computers, and so on, being accessible to all. At any time, the call button at the entrance door may be pushed to reach the front desk clerk during opening hours of the reception. Also, most of our rooms are located on the 2nd floor but we have 3 rooms and 2 suites that are on the ground-level so you can avoid negotiating steps.

Regarding breakfast, it true that our continental breakfast is very simple and it’s why we offer other options, often adopted by our customers, especially on weekends where brunch formulas are available in nearby restaurants. On the other side, many people are pleased by our breakfast which includes tea, coffee, orange juice, hot chocolate, white bread, wheat bread, bagels, croissants, muffins, 4 different types of cereal, fresh fruit and yogurt and served with enthusiasm and cheerfulness. We are sorry you did not like the choice and variety of our breakfast.

The standard room Cartier is the only one that has the private bathroom outside of the room. Since the distance between the bathroom and the room has been an issue in the past for other guests, we added pictures of the room on our website showing how close the bathroom is. It’s part of our booking procedure to invite the guests to have a look at those pictures to make sure it’s satisfying for them so we can propose other options upon reservation in case it’s not. We are sorry this was not respected when you booked and rest assured we will remind all our team members.

Regarding the water pressure, all our bathroom equipment’s are eco-friendly and respect the environmental norms to reduce water waste.

As for parking, we are located in an area where parking space is very limited and we feel very lucky to have some. The service we offer is a safe and exclusive parking spot in a very crowded downtown area at a competitive price. You may pay up to $30 and sometimes even more in larger hotels downtown Quebec City.

Our main goal is to make every guest feel valued and welcome. We sincerely hope to welcome you again so you may experience the charming B&B you were looking for.

Best Regards,

Jean-François Dulac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed four nights during August. We liked the fact that the location is a 15 minute walk from the old town - easy enough to get there but good to stay in a quieter, less touristy local neighbourhood. Good range of shops and restaurants also within 5 minutes walk, including Picardie bakers and deli for wonderful breakfast pastries. We tended to spend the day sightseeing and then relax in the evening at the auberge. Be aware that kitchen cooking facilities are limited to a kettle and microwave due to regulations.
Sandie and Joelle are very knowledgeable and gave useful tips on where to go and what to avoid. The hospitality and commitment to customer service from them and Jean Francois was very much appreciated. Try Casse Crepe for wonderful crepes (but be prepared to queue!) and cafe aux bonnets d'ane for reasonably priced meals.
We hope to be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville tn.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the beginning of August. The property is not a full service hotel, but it more than a Bread and Breakfast. The room was clean, and fairly large although the bathroom was really small. The bed was great; about what you would expect from a 3 star property. The owner and lady at the desk were all we could ask for. Helpful in making dinner reservations, and also telling us what to do to make the best use of our time. It is a 10 to 15 minuet walk to Old Town, but the area the hotel is in is near some good restaurants. For the price it was all we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Aux Deux Lions and could not have been more pleased! The room was charming and very clean. But what made it even better was the way Jean-Francois and Sandie treat their guests, with respect and they go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Quebec City. Merci J-F et Sandie de votre accueil chaleureux! A la prochaine!
Joel et Julie

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Maine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We understood this property to be next to the Old City. It is not. It is a long walking distance to the Old City and not at all convenient for getting there. We cancelled our stay and incurred a cancellation charge.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
optimate, Directeur général at Auberge Aux Deux Lions, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi,

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, even if you have not stayed with us. Cancelling your booking in the evening of your arrival date has not given us any opportunity to rebook your room. Our cancellation policy is published on our website, but also, when you make an online reservation, you have to confirm that you have read the cancellation policy to be able to complete your booking. From the moment you have booked with us, we had an obligation to guarantee your room and that is what we did. This room was not available to others because it was reserved for you. The fact of advising us less than half an hour before the front desk close made us unable to book the room for another party.

Regarding the reason to cancel the reservation due to our location being outside of Old Quebec's fortifications, we unfortunately can not accept to cancel a reservation under this pretext. It is very easy for a customer to locate the hotel in relation to the Old City with tools such as Google Maps, Map Quest, etc.. L'Auberge Aux deux Lions is located in the famous Montcalm area, in Quebec City upper town, only 10 minutes walk from the walls of Old Quebec. Our location allows tourists to enjoy the real life of the neighborhood, and be just a few steps from Old Quebec. We are very sorry not to have had the pleasure to welcome you to our little Inn.

Regards,

Jean-François Dulac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City. Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. Aux Deux Lions Inn hotel is 5 to 10 minutes walking from Quebec Museum of Fine Arts, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel include parking, a breakfast room, a shared kitchenette with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Aux Deux Lions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.