We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Auberge Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Save Saved
You added Auberge Aux Deux Lions to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R2A9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
Chcago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming Auberge Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent three nights in July at Auberge Aux Deux Lions and could not have been more pleased. The folks were very friendly, provided us with excellent restaurant suggestions in the neighborhood and the accommodations were wonderful. We stayed in one of new newly remodel rooms (with a brick wall) and found it charming and comfortable. The location is in a very nice residential part of Quebec only a 15 minute walk to the Chateau Frontenac yet it is a neighborhood where people actually live and not a tourist area. We were able to leave our car and walk for three days to every sight we wanted to see - including the pier where Circque du Soleil was performing at night.

While not a B &B (this is an Auberge) they do have a reduce price arrangement at a very nice breakfast place three doors down. Let's you eat at your leisure and more choices than a B & B.

When we come back to Quebec we are staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    65
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
124
291
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Auberge for five nights in August 2013 and were very happy here--it felt like home. Everything the other reviewers say about Jean-Francoise, Joelle, and Sandie is spot on. We were welcomed as friends and given great advice--Jean-Francoise steered us to Chez Victor's for hamburger dinner (which my kids were craving) and even told us about the special seating area for families at the Cirque du Soleil show (we would not have known about otherwise!).

Of course, a large part of the success of our stay was directly related to our room--we had room "201," the Vieux-Quebec suite, a converted attic that was essentially a small apartment: one big room with a queen bed and two singles. This was perfect for our family of four, and it included a kitchenette with microwave and small refrigerator, as well as a dining table and living area with sofa and TV. After a day walking around the city the comfort and ability to relax in our suite was very much appreciated.

Other positives: clean, and a good, neighborhood location. The Auberge is just a block away from a grocery store; we stocked up on breakfast and lunch/sandwich supplies to save some $$ (we found food expensive all over Quebec province) and also it added to our relaxation experience--to just be able to have some bread and fruit and cheese in our room after a day of sightseeing.

Things to know: no toaster (either in our room kitchenette or the communal kitchen)--I'm thinking that's either a law or just a cultural thing, but my son really wanted a toasted bagel. Also, although the Auberge is definitely walking distance from the old town, it is a small hike. We didn't mind on the way TO the historic area, but after a long day of sightseeing (we were routinely clocking in 7-9 miles per day) our feet weren't looking forward to the walk back. Buses for a family of four turned out to be rather expensive, but taxis weren't, so eventually we just took cabs a few times, especially the two nights that we were in the old town late into the evening. Also, make sure to walk to and from the historic area on side streets, and not Rue Rene-Levesque--much more scenic and interesting to take the other routes.

In addition, there is an Enterprise car rental not far, in the Delta hotel down the street (and they'll pick you up), and one day we rented a car to drive out to the countryside to see Montmorency Falls and the shrine at St. Anne de Beaupre, as well as some other sights. There is a city bus that can take you out there too, but we liked having a car to drive so we could set our own route and agenda. I was pleased that the Auberge was located so close to Enterpirse; this worked out for us.

In sum, a fine stay and we very much liked the Auberge. I know my husband wants to come back and I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat, as well as recommend it to friends (on TripAdvisor and elsewhere!). Finally, did I mention the hospitality? Don't underestimate the value of an innkeeper with a smile on his face and a warm welcome, as well as a clear desire to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Merci Jean-Francois, Joelle, and Sandie!

Room Tip: The Vieux-Quebec suite was pricey, but for our family, worth it in terms of comfort and overall expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We had room 201 which is a self contained flat at the top of the building with a double and 2 single beds and a kitchen and bathroom. The location is great with lots of good places to eat 2 blocks west on Avenue Cartier, and a 15 - 20 minute walk into Vieux Quebec. The staff were all really friendly and full of great advice. Only slight wrinkle was Turning the air con on but we got there in the end.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staff was very friendly and provided excellent recommendations on restaurants and things to do. Nice location between old town, Rue Cartier, and Rue Saint- Jean so can easily visit the more touristy areas as well as local neighborhoods. Plains of Abraham park is nearby and provides nice walking area. Chez Victor has fabulous hamburgers - don't miss this restaurant! Arrangement that Deux Lions has with Graffiti is a very good deal - food was also fabulous. Rooms are typical of a European-style hotel - a little on the small side but very clean and nicely furnished. We were glad to find a room to accommodate three people (double and twin beds). We would definitely stay here on another trip to Quebec.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Jean François and Joelle were very welcome and the auberge is lovely. Nice room, communal microwave, fridge and small hallway with cd and radio and Plates and coffee for guests to use. Neighborhood is nice, very close to charming Av. Cartier and bus stop to Old City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Sandie, Joelle and Jean Francois made the stay at the Deux Lions very worthwhile. Couldn't have been more helpful. They have an arrangement with a nearby restaurant which is a very good deal and all their recommendations were spot on. E.g. Chez Victor, also nearby. Upper Jean Street. Cirque de Soleil - which was performing while we were there - free! (sic)

The room we were in was fine (see note). Comfortable bed, no noise problem. Bathroom is small and sink quite small and on an angle but a minor inconvenience.

There is an area near the kitchen where one can get out of one's room and sit and also a balcony for everyone that opens onto the avenue.

It is a solid 20-minute walk to the Old City - we did that a few times to hook up with friends who were staying in a very tiny room on Rue Arteuil. The Deux Lion is near the Plains of Abraham which are good to walk and sit in, overlooking the seaway.

All in all a very worthwhile stay and the staff is unsurpassed in helpfulness and friendliness.

Room Tip: We had the Quebec room which has a small extra area with a table and also a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My friends and I enjoyed are first trip to Quebec City. The hotel was located within walking distance to old Montreal and other great spots. The rooms were clean but small and the staff was very friendly. I would stay again next time I am in Quebec City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City. Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. Aux Deux Lions Inn hotel is 5 to 10 minutes walking from Quebec Museum of Fine Arts, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel include parking, a breakfast room, a shared kitchenette with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Aux Deux Lions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.