We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Welcoming and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Auberge Aux Deux Lions to your Saves list
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R2A9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Truly Welcoming and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Joelle and Jean-Francois were a tribute to Canadian hospitality. They excelled at helping and making our stay enjoyable. Their English made up for my out of practice French.
Location great, room was beautifully presented and the kitchen facilities and computer a boon for travellers.
We walked to all the sites nearby, esp the old city. Close to restaurants, public transport, and all the places travellers go to the Auberge was a great place. Thanks for looking after us Aussies and being so welcoming. Wad and Katrin.

Room Tip: Call and talk to them they will help you choose....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    66
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
124
292
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in August while visiting a friend. I'm a terrible clean freak, so I was very happy with the level of cleanliness. Also, everyone was super friendly and helpful. The prices are a bit steep, but I went during peak tourist season, so I imagine the rates are more acceptable throughout the rest of the year. It's a bit of a walk from the Vieux Quebec, but if it's a nice day, the walk is worth it! (If not, you have many buses that pass on René-Levesque.) Les Plaines d'Abraham are two minutes away and there are many fun little restaurants and shops you can try! I had a very large back room, so it was very quiet. It's very cozy and intimate--perfect for couples or solo travellers. Air conditioning unit was very very awesome during the heat wave. Breakfast was not included, but there's a Tutti Frutti breakfast place right next to the auberge. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay, and I'd definitely go again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Since we live in Florida, we decided to take a winter trip to see snow, Quebec in winter! Read all the great reviews and the Auberge did not disappoint. Jean Francois gave great recommendations and was very welcoming. We had a downstairs room that had its own private entrance with shared kitchen. The room was recently remodeled, very well insulated and quiet with comfortable modern furniture. The neighborhood is close to a nice shopping area and the Grand Allee. It is about a 20 minute walk to old Quebec City, so be prepared to walk or take a cab. We did find that buses went about halfway there. Overall, it was nice to come out of the tourist zone to the real world.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Within walking distance of the old city and well located for local restaurants and shops. Day trips to the ski hills Mt Sainte Anne and Le Massif worked well from here. Rooms are clean and well kept. Staff is friendly, helpful and the place has a friendly feel. Many good restaurants to choose from within close walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Lovely place with great service. Joelle had a lot of great recommendations of what to do and where to go in the city that were really good to know. A little further out from the old town than we had expected, but the 15 minute walk wasn't bad. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We truly enjoyed our staff. As other reviews have mentioned, the Jean Francois and Victoria (?) were excellent hosts. Our rooms were very clean, quiet, and roomy. The decor, fresh. We didn't have breakfast there, but we did stop in the breakfast room, and it was plentiful and fresh - it won't disappoint! My one "complaint" was that there was no gathering area....there was a landing that led out to the car park, but we were there in 15 degree weather, and would have loved a cozy fire and some deep sofas... Otherwise, just great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night as we closed out a cruise. Our travel agent said the hotel had good reviews, and she was so right! We loved the place!! It was close enough to old town that you could walk. Jean Francois was a gracious host and knew the area so well. Every restaurant he recommended was perfect! And all was within walking distance! The room was large, comfortable, and well appointed. Should we ever return to Quebec City, we would not consider staying anywhere else! It was a fantastic end to our vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City. Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. Aux Deux Lions Inn hotel is 5 to 10 minutes walking from Quebec Museum of Fine Arts, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel include parking, a breakfast room, a shared kitchenette with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Aux Deux Lions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.