We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Aux Deux Lions to your Saves list
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R2A9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Another nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here and I really like it. The neighborhood is really quite nice and there is a great commercial strip a block away with lots of restaurants and small shops.

I've seen reviews for this hotel that complain about the distance to the old city, but really, it's less than 2km. If a 2km walk is a hardship then you probably don't want to visit the Old City anyway because you will have to walk everywhere when you get there; on cobble stones; uphill.

Anyway, I really like this hotel, and the owner is very friendly. There's a great breakfast spot next door that opens early.

One word of warning: if you drive a full size car or SUV you're going to hate the parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    71
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
126
308
33
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The welcome at the front desk makes one feel good about the place immediately. Check-in includes a brief guide to the area and the local restaurants, with recommendations - and to find, the next day, the check-in gentleman eating in one of the places he had recommended certainly gave it a touch of authenticity. We had reserved a parking space, very necessary if you have a car, though we did find it a bit of a struggle getting our bags to the room - narrow stairs and old age!
Once we got there, though, the room was fine - not over-generous on space but adequate and there is a communal kitchen where you can get coffee, put wine/beer in the fridge etc. We didn't use the in-house breakfast, which is extra, but instead used the discount voucher provided in one place and another day at Le Cochon Dingue, just down the street - wonderful breakfast. Be prepared to queue a litle at weekends.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the old town of Quebec, normally that would be no problem but it decided to rain on us twice while we were doing it - worth working out how the buses work!
The wi=fi is free and it works.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My colleague and I stayed at Auberge Aux Deux Lions for seven nights while attending a conference in Quebec City in October. We had a lovely room on the top floor with sloping ceilings, dormers, living room, kitchen. Clean. No elevator. Very warm and accommodating staff. Continental breakfast available at $8 per. Good location only a few blocks from Convention Centre and gates to Old City. Recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The top floor (attic) room sleeps 4 i believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

One of the best things about this hotel is the location. Close enough to walk comfortably to the Old Town but not in a touristy area so giving a good choice of restaurants at non touristy prices.
Our host was very friendly and gave us great information about the area and where we might go.
Our room was at street level but was still quiet enough for a good nights sleep. Everywhere was clean and although the bathroom was a little on the small side it was fine for us. The room had a stone wall and it felt quite romantic. I would suggest that if you stay in one of these rooms you consider that the floor was tiled and was very cold to walk on in bare or stockinged feet! This may not be the same throughout the hotel...I can't say.
Breakfast is available at the hotel but we chose to make our own arrangements. With hindsight I wish we had shopped at the local supermarket and made our own breakfast, taking advantage of the shared kitchenette, as some of our fellow guests did.
If I went back to Quebec City I would definitely book here again, but maybe bring my slippers!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

When our taxi arrived in front of Aux Deux Lions, Jean-Francois and his assistant in training (it was his first day) ran to our taxi with my registration info in hand, making sure I was Mary Kathleen. With a warm greeting they grabbed our suitcases, many, many suitcases since we were going on a cruise, and we felt totally welcomed to Quebec City. Jean-Francois did tease me about the amount of luggage and figured the one green carry-on was all that belonged to my husband. We were then very impress when he helped us plan out our visit, recommending restaurants, walking path to Old Town, shopping areas, and special deals, and even help us plan our trip to the Montmorency Falls for the price of a bus pass on the 800 bus. The room with a brick wall was charming and comfortable, with a balcony in the back, small eating area, refrigerator, the cleanest bathroom, and great free Internet access. The resturants he recommended were all amazing, neighborhood places, not tourist places. We spent two wonderful nights here before our cruise and I really wasn't really to leave. "Mary Kathleen and her Slave as Jean-Francois called us, found a little gem in this already charming city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Auberge Aux Deux Lions. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. The hotel is a short walk to the old town. The fact that you are outside the old town is brilliant as you are closer to good, less touristy restaurants, the fine art museum and the park. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A very comfortable hotel in a quiet spot, and an easy 15 minute walk to Old Quebec City. Jean-Francois and his team were friendly and helpful - we can definitely recommend a stay here. Facilities include a shared kitchenette, living areas and internet facilities, very handy for longer stays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City. Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. Aux Deux Lions Inn hotel is 5 to 10 minutes walking from Quebec Museum of Fine Arts, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel include parking, a breakfast room, a shared kitchenette with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Aux Deux Lions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.