We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with very good bus connection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Save Saved
You added Auberge Aux Deux Lions to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R2A9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Québec
1 review
“Great location with very good bus connection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location with very good bus connection to up and downtown Quebec. Very niche townhouse and good bed. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    58
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
107
275
31
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This nicely located inn provided a feel for the city w/o the "hassle". Easy walk to good, well-recommended restaurants & stores and near two bus lines for a short ride into historic Quebec City. Jean Francois is an amazing and enthusiastic host who greeted us warmly each time we encountered him. We brought bicycles for our "touring" and he provided safe and easy access to them. Our kitchen was adequate for our needs with nearby grocery stores for stocking.

Room Tip: Room with a well-equipped kitchenette provide flexibility on meals & snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first visit to Quebec City and we stayed for 5 nights. We have been to France several times and had heard that Quebec was "Paris of North America". Quebec is very French but it is not Paris, it is its own wonderful city. Staying at the Alberge Aux Deux Lions was the perfect way to visit. The Alberge is in the neighborhood of Montcalm on the busy street of Rene Levesque. The facility are wonderful. Our room was large, comfortable and quiet. Jean-François and his staff are excellent. They recommended several eating-places in the neighborhood that were excellent. We felt like guests in a friend's home and saw a very non-tourist side of Quebec. In addition, because of the location, it was an easy walk to the Plains of Abraham and to city Centre. We enjoyed three dinners out at restaurants recommended by Jean-Francois and twice we brought excellent cheeses and treats back to the hotel and ate on the small terrace over the entrance watching the Quebecois end their workday and transition into evening. Our hosts and all we met were helpful, fun and tolerated of our poor attempts at speaking French. Non-French speakers will not have a language problem in the friendly city.
The bottom line: If you want a very nice, small hotel that is warm and inviting with a great location and staff, Alberge Aux Deux Lions is your place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were traveling with our 1.5 YO and we try to book suites when possible because we don't want to have to be silent after she goes to bed at 8 PM! This room wasn't exactly a suite as in a separate room, but it was the WHOLE top floor of the inn and was huge with a large "wall" of separation between us and the bed. There are two huge dormer windows and we put her pack n play (which they supplied for free) in one of the alcoves on the side with the bed. It was perfect. There was a little kitchenette complete with microwave, fridge and dishwasher which was also perfect for traveling with a child. Jean Francois was wonderful as others have noted. We loved Quebec City and this inn really helped to make it perfect. For people not in the best of shape or traveling with multiple little ones this may not be the best place for you as it is about a 20 minute walk from the walled city but the walk is lovely if you go by way of the Grand Allee or (I believe) Rue Saint Jean. I can't say enough about how awesome this place was.

Room Tip: The Superior Suite is amazing if it is in your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three-night stay at Auberge Aux Deux Lions. We were welcomed warmly upon arrival by Jean Francois. He talked to us about sights to see, places to eat, where to find the nearby supermarket, etc., then showed us around the house. We were in the Royale room downstairs, which is one of the more recently added rooms (last year). It was spacious and comfortable, with the stone walls that are so typical in Quebec. The bathroom is not huge but perfectly functional. The WiFi worked very well, even when I had three devices going at the same time and there is also a guest computer available on the second floor. We paid $14/night extra for a parking space, which was a great convenience.

We loved having a little dining/seating area outside our room and we ate breakfast there each morning with our friends -- stocking the little fridge with cheese, fruit, cream for our coffee, etc. The people in the other two rooms on the lower level where we stayed were very friendly and we chatted with them about what they'd seen so far, where they'd eaten, etc. The first night we were there, we sat out on the terrace on the second floor for a glass of wine and watched people walking by on the street below. If you are looking for a traditional B&B, you might not consider this to be one. Breakfast is available for an extra $8.50/person/day and it's continental breakfast. Jean Francois told us it was available but also let us know about other places in the neighborhood where we could have breakfast.

The neighborhood is fantastic with a grocery store, good restaurants, bakeries, banks, and so on near by. We really enjoyed being in a neighborhood where locals live and not just tourists. It was a very easy walk to Vieux Quebec. One day we walked along the Grand Allee and the other along Rue St-Jean. Both have interesting things to see as well as plenty of restaurants and shops.

I must also mention that Joelle was very helpful to me in the course of making our reservation initially and also gave me good advice as we were leaving to get to the Chute Montmorency (beautiful falls!) and l'Ile d'Orleans -- both very close and well worth the drive.

We would happily return to Auberge Aux Deux Lions on another trip to Quebec City and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level are the newest in the house and have stone walls, tile floors, and minimal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lovely hosts, clean accommodation in a nice area, within walking distance of everything - would stay here again. After a 6 month world trip, we have worked out what makes a good place to stay and this ticks the boxes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Three of us shared the (only) room on the top floor, and found the accomodations were great. The kitchen, three beds, and a small living room area were perfect for us. The proprietors were most helpful in providing suggestions for our four-day visit since this was our first trip to Quebec. We walked everywhere - the location was a lovely neighborhood with boulangerie, restaurants, shops. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City. Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. Aux Deux Lions Inn hotel is 5 to 10 minutes walking from Quebec Museum of Fine Arts, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel include parking, a breakfast room, a shared kitchenette with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Aux Deux Lions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.